We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome & a great breakfast!”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #24 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome & a great breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A very warm welcome from our hosts, ideal for family, every effort was made to make us feel very welcome and enjoyed chatting to our hosts, with very bright fresh rooms and a very nice full English breakfast! I would definitely stay again. 5*****

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    26
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
144
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for one night early in August - what a lucky find! Comfortable, tastefully decorated, free parking and wifi, delicious breakfast from a great range of options, lovely artworks (we bought a beautiful Ian Mitchell print). If we'd stayed longer we would have enjoyed relaxing in the stylish lounge with a thoughtfully equipped bar and even a piano. Andy and Mica are friendly, helpful hosts and recommended Tuscany Too Italian restaurant nearby where we had a really good meal. Similar to another reviewer we would have found the room bright but had our own eye masks and Andy & Mica were planning to introduce them. We're sadly unlikely to return to Scarborough, but would recommend No.17 to anyone looking for somewhere to stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask Andy and Mica - they will give advice and accommodate your wishes as far as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandn1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing boutique b&b with fantastic service, this is just what Scarborough has been missing for years. Beautifully decorated rooms, lovely location with brilliant staff. A must stay if visiting the area, we will be back!! Thanks Andy

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank randibarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the gorgeous hotel the night before we got married and for 2 days after. The lovely manager Andy and his partner Mica, acted as our witnesses too and made our wedding and our stay perfect.
An outstanding couple and outstanding hotel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenandadamwarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I are recently back from a one night stay at the no17 West Street. We found the hotel a good location with free parking a bonus. Nicely decorated bed and breakfast with lovely touches. Very welcoming hosts and a tasty breakfast made this an enjoyable stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we booked this last minute, and got the last room. The place is lovely and clean and perfectly situated for enjoying scarborough. Andy and Mica are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. their recommendations are spot on. The cooked breakfast is all fresh ingredients and cooked to order. Rooms are modern and well appointed. We have booked to go back early next year, would recommend to all our friends but don't want it to get too popular else we might not get in when we want.

Room Tip: The twin room is right at the top so doesn't have much of a view. Reviews recommend the 1st floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I stayed last November together with another couple. The rooms were warm, spacious, comfortable and clean.

Andy and Misha made us very welcome when we arrived. The lounge area was perfect for having a relaxing afternoon drink and they had a selection of wines available which were very reasonably priced.

Andy arranged a taxi for us to go out in the evening and even recommended a couple of places to have a drink before we went to Lanterna where were eating that night.

As it was a birthday celebration and we had brought some champagne with us, Andy kindly left 4 glasses and an ice bucket filled with ice in the lounge area for when we returned later that evening.

Breakfast was excellent - good quality food, freshly cooked.

Nothing was too much trouble for this couple and we would have no hesitation in staying here again and soon.

Just sorry it's taken us so long to write this review!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing