We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for, and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for, and more!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our party of 7 (4 adults and 3 children aged 8-13) enjoyed a sun holiday from 21st april at this park. Ive been wanting to visit Scarborough for some time and although this wasnt my first choice was happy with what we were given. We upgraded to silver plus caravan and so glad we did. Radiators in every room, we actually ended up throwing our blankets off in the middle of the night it was so warm!!. Lovely van fully equipped, full sized fridge! few niggles with the caravan, first no instruction booklets so guessing how to work stuff was a bit of a pain. We were also without hot water for the first few days, although it took us a couple of days to report (we were showering in the swimming area anyway and boiling kettle for washing up) it did take 2 attempts at reporting the issue for it to be sorted! We had also paid extra for bedding but realised when we got in at 11:30pm on the first night there was only bedding for the main beds and not the pull out bed (which as there were 7 people we needed to use) luckily I had a couple of throws in the car and it was so warm in the caravan anyway it was fine. Lastly the caravan was carpeted throughout but there was no hoover, and as there was no path to our caravan we were treading in grass. When we asked we were told we could request a cleaner to hoover if it got too bad but would be easier for us to get on and do it ourselves. However these are very small things and didnt ruin our stay at all! My kids loved the swimming pool, and it seemed clean and large enough to me. Yes its shallow but for me that made it safer for my 8 year old so was pleased. Only issue was opening times of the waterslide, only open certain days at certain times, possibly due to time of year (my children still off school but local children had gone back). The entertainment was ok, kelly (?) Has an amazing voice and funstars are great at what they do, but the same every night, would have liked a bit of variety but again possibly due to time of year!! Great base for travelling into Scarborough and filey. Restaurant good for a cheap breakfast (didnt have a dinner there so couldnt comment)but wouldnt bother with the takeout food, not that good for the price. Overall I loved my trip here. Yes there were a few niggles but for such a cheap holiday I expected a lot more, and although im trying to write an honest account, the issues I've described didnt ruin our trip at all. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujulovemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent holiday at Cayton Bay. It was pleasing to read that the caravan was lovely and warm and the kids loved the swimming pool. We take all comments on board and share the feedback with the various departments on park as a thank you when we get it right and as a training tool when we occasionally get it wrong.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    478
    306
    160
    194
See reviews for
1,154
206
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night break at this resort. The staff are all fantastic, and I mean all. From the entertainment team to cleaners and grounds people. All said hello and had a smile on their face. I work as a senior manager for a hospitality company and know this is a very big achievement.

The caravan we had was a bronze and although I have stayed in one before I didn't expect much, but the one we had was clean, tidy, well maintained and had no funny wet pet smells.. The beds were very comfortable, in fact had no issues sleeping, which again is normally a problem in a bronze caravan.

The site itself is clean and well presented with plenty for the young ones to do and being well situated from both the moors, Scarborough and Filey with all 3 not to far away. I would personally recommend getting the 120 bus into Scarborough, as it you buy a day rover ticket it also gets you free travel on the open top bus along the sea front in town as well.

The only thing that let's the site down is the lack of wi if In the caravans. In this day and age being able to stay in touch is important and wi if is a basic need. Granted there is wi fi in the bar that is free, but just felt this a little inconvenient at times.

Would I stay again? Yes without doubt, but sorting the wi if would make it a perfect place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. It was really pleasing to read how great and friendly all the team were, all saying hello with a smile on their face and to read that the caravan exceeded your expectations. With regards to the wi fi on park, we are hoping to have it across the whole park during 2014. They are currently installing the routers, however this will be chargeable and only free in the main complex.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The swimming pool was cold, and the changing cubicles on the pool side were filthy and mud on the floor. Not enough cubicles. The pool was really shallow and small. The toilets in the arcade which are for the bar aswell were unclean and smelly and made the arcade smell , soft play had no ventilation AGAIN making it smelly!! Caravan was a gold star and was the complete opposite to the facilities, really clean and everything you could need was there. Location is good, i would recommend as a base only and not for use of the on site facilities as they are poor.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonniecylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It was really pleasing to read that the caravan was clean and had everything you could need and that the location was ideal. It was however disheartening to read that you were disappointed with the complex facilities and swimming pool. I have passed on your feedback to the relevant teams. During busy times like Easter, it can be very difficult with the volume of people using the facilities to keep them spotless however, we do have a regular cleaning schedule in place to endeavour to keep them as clean as possible and should any particular issues be reported we can address these at the time. I’m sure if you were to visit us again you would experience our usual very high standards. We really do appreciate the feedback as it helps us continually improve our offering. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to this park have been to other parks in the area and this is our favorite. Stayed in a silver plus caravan which was clean and well kept. All the staff really friendly and helpful especially Tamworth and Kirsty . Kids loved the entertainment and really enjoyed breakfast with Sparky which we though was good value for money.Park in good location not too far from Scarborough and lots of things to do in the surrounding area. Kids counting down the days til we return in 5 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. It was really pleasing to read that Cayton Bay is your favourite park in the area, that the caravan was clean and well kept and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We share all reviews with the team and it is great for them to get such good feedback, it makes their hard work worth while. We look forward to welcoming you back again in a few weeks

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Second visit in April after a perfect break the year before.
Gas ran out the first day. Caravan not clean,bedding was oversized so hanging on the floor.
Requested a luxury caravan and this fell far short of being such - Kestrel 9.
Bar prices extortionate and heating in caravan inadequate.
Biggest problem lack of response to negative feedback.
J Hall

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It was disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. It was extremely helpful that you mentioned the caravan pitch number so that we are able to look into the feedback provided. Please accept my apologies that you did not experience our usual high standards and I hope that you will give us the chance, in the near future, to restore your faith and trust in us by returning again. I feel confident that had you made us aware of any issues during your stay, we would have been able to resolve them. Without reviews like yours we would not be able to continue to evaluate, learn and improve, so thank you again for the feedback.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Park and facilities excellent for the kids, pool brilliant although cold and not enough changing rooms! Bar and restaurant staff very slow and only a couple on at easter weekend which was a bit daft but thats cutbacks for you! All i can say about a bronze caravan on this site is - do NOT book one in early season it was absolutely freezing and when we asked for an extra quilt we were told no! I have stayed at cresswell towers with park resorts and found although facilities are much smaller, caravans and staff much better!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisas0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your holiday at Cayton Bay Holiday Park. It was really pleasing that you found the facilities to be excellent for the kids. I apologise for the pool being a little colder than normal. Unfortunately Calor, our gas supplier, did not fill up the main gas tank that feeds the pool. This meant that the temperature of the pool dropped over night. Thankfully they did arrive the next day and within 48hrs the pool was back up to normal temperature. I appreciate this was not ideal during a very busy week and I apologise for this inconvenience. It is also disappointing to read your comments on the service in the restaurant. I am sorry to hear that the staff were too slow. I will pick this up with the complex manager. I thank you again for your feedback and without this kind of feedback we would not be able to evaluate, learn and improve, so I really do appreciate you taking the time to share it with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed from 4th-11th april and had a great time . Weather was a bit on and off but that didnt really affect the holiday as we spent mist of it indoors in the complex anyway . The staff were amazing we had to contact reception a couple of times and they were really friendly and helpfull . The entertainment team were amazing kids were really comfortable around them . They did their job and more . They entertained everyone adult and children and made the holiday extra special . We have booked the same week next year and hope to return again before then

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. It is always appreciated when people share their experiences and feedback. It was certainly pleasing to read that you had a fantastic week with us at Cayton Bay Holiday Park. It was good to read that you found the staff to be amazing and that they made the holiday extra special. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
4.0 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
1.4 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all action stations at this fabulous Park near the seaside resort of Scarborough. With a great choice of entertainmnet you'll be toe tapping and hand clapping all night! Facilities include a fun pool with flume, all weather multi sports court, adventure playground, crazy golf and soft play area, volleyball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing