We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,823 results
Traveller rating
629
504
320
164
206
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
629
504
320
164
206
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold caravansoft play areasun holidayteam starsentertainment complexboat housekids entertainmentboathouse barentertainment staffcrazy golfcaravan siteshop on sitecentral heatingevening entertainmentfamily holidaygreat holidayswimming pool is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,190 - 1,195 of 1,823 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have been on many sun newspaper holidays to numerous sites over the years. First impressions of the park was high and we could not fault it. Unfortunately the booking process was draconian!!! We could not check in until 4pm and we all had to stand in line, other parks would check to see if the keys were there and would let us into the caravan if they had. The caravan was a bronze and we have never had a fault in any of the other bronze caravans on other sites but this was horrendous (Elm 68). No gas, but this was soon rectified, the tin opener, scissors were broken, the gas fire put out no heat whatsoever! As for the cooker don't use it as the door doesn't stay shut and when we did slam it shut and opened the door to take out our food it flew out and landed on the floor it was like the oven wasn't level!! Overall the park and facilities were good but the caravan and receptionist were diabolical!! The receptionist needs a course on public relations!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_C3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Clayton bay for the last ten years as my autistic step son like the same routean and not once had any complaints till now . On arrival to the caravan we had to wait out side for a further twenty minutes till the cleaner had finished hummm not quiet sure what she was doing as I have never seen any thing so dirty and poor. After complanig at the desk they did send the cleaner out asap but as we was so tired I asked her to come back the next day witch she did . At count there was 17 cobwebs 7dead flies . The bathroom floor was moldey and dipping. The shower door fell to bits holes and stains on the curtans.mold on the blind. Grass stook to the windows . The seats in the room stunk and was thick with dust and mold the taps leeked smell and damp set my asthma off .tap. broke the list goes on and on.I'll give credit where it is due the cleaner was lovely and once I pointed out what was wrong she moved us straight away . But with the heat it was a pain moving all are things from the bad start took the magic out of the holiday for every one. The entertainment was all about sparkey but now he's only on for half an hour .tamwar not sure how to spell his name is one of the most funny and best entertainers in the hole place always has the time of day to speak and answer any questions and made us all giggle so much . Just a shame the caravan spoilt it so much . The park has been up graded but it makes it harder for the smaller and less able kids to use the slide is over a five foot climb . I feel let down and dissapointed by park resorts don't think we will be going back :0(

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkinutjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent holiday at Cayton Bay. Firstly may I thank you for your continued business over the last 10 years. It was disappointing to read that your recent visit did not live up to the high standards and service you have been used to and should expect from us.

I can only apologise that the caravan was not cleaned correctly prior to your arrival and there were issues within the caravan. Whilst you may have asked them to come back the next day it was pleasing to read that the cleaners were sent back immediately by the team at reception. It would be helpful if you could email me jon.hodgson@park-resorts.com with the booking reference number and pitch number so that I can inspect the caravan.

Your comments regarding the Entertainments team were pleasing, and have been passed to Tamworth with thanks. I am confident that this experience was unusual compared to the high standards and service you have been used to and we endeavour to provide, and hope that you will continue to return to Cayton Bay in the future.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with the sun holiday deal for £110 with upgrade for 4 adults and 2 children (1 & 3) from the 5 May. Good value despite good and bad points.
Good - great park, great indoor play area, polite staff, ideal location.
Bad - no heater in main bedroom, faulty lounge gas fire and hobs, broken toilet seat, faulty tv. After reporting heating it was fixed on the 3rd call out. Really disappointed that the car parking was not next to the caravan. Swimming pool not warm enough for our 1 year old, pool showers out of order, 3 year old not tall enough for water slide (1.2 meters). All arcade rides over priced, lasting very little time for £1 a go. Kids entertainment disappointing, character meet and greet for us was sparky walking around resort and spending 2 seconds if that with the children. Story time too long for younger children and only a short time for young children to dance.
Not sure if we would visit again.

Cayton bay beach - if you have a young family it's down a very steep hill/cliff with steps to the beach. Lovely beach though. Filey country park worth a visit, lovely walks overlooking the sea.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Em52mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the recent review. It was pleasing to read that you found it good value, a great park, great indoor play area, polite staff, and ideal location.
It was disappointing to read that you found some faults with the caravan. It would be helpful if you could email me jon.hodgson@par-resorts.com with a booking reference number and a pitch number so that I can check the reported issues. I feel confident that had these been reported during your stay we would have been able to resolve them quickly but apologise that it was not to your satisfaction on arrival.

With regards to the swimming pool we had an issue with the new shower floor bubbling and creating trip hazards, so this was put out of order for safety and was fixed within a few days. The slide restriction is in place for safety as the deepest part of the pool is over 1 metre deep and therefore would be unsafe for a 3 year old to use. There are alternative slides for younger children.
I have passed on the constructive feedback regarding the character meet and greet to the Entertainments Manager to address. Thank you again for taking the time to share this feedback. Without it we would not be able to evaluate, learn and improve to ensure we are delivering the highest standards possible and great memories for our guests

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just stayed here for first time in 25 years and had a fantastic time returning as a parent myself..... entertainment kept the kiddies entertained and also the adults.... a lot of activities for all ages. my son being only 2 enjoyed the soft play area - always tidy, no trouble from older kiddies and other parents friendly, the outside play area was also adequate for his age as well as older kiddies.... Swimming pool was warm, clean and tidy a shame we wasn't allowed to take son down flume as he loves these slides but would never let him go alone at such a young age.... The night time entertainment was well organised as younger ones catered for from 6:15 to 8ish so could still get son back to caravan and settled at a reasonable time and not too late..... caravan was clean & tidy was concerned about boiler pilot light as was an open flame but was reassured this was ok when reported it and did see the safety certificate which was up to date since Feb 14 and the caravan had two smoke alarms and a carbon monoxide alarm fitted which we tested and they worked, restaurant not badly priced just fruit shoot drinks expensive £2 for one ........... overall would recommend and will be going back...........

Room Tip: upgraded to silver plus at time of booking in as the caravan is larger, glad we did gave more room for kiddies to play.....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay with us at Cayton Bay. It was really pleasing to read that it was your first time back in 25 years and that you had a fantastic time. It was especially pleasing to read how great the pool and entertainments were, as well as the caravan being clean and tidy.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in caravan Ivy 22 (Bronze) & was pleasantly surprised how nice & clean it was for the basic model. We stayed 28th April for 4nts & loved every minute. Entertainment staff are excellent & Kelly the singer was brilliant. Tamworth was very good & took time to talk to us each evening we arrived, not forgetting Kirsty & the other lad ( sorry not sure of his name!) We enjoyed our stay so much that my in laws have booked for 1st Sept for 4nts. The site staff are so friendly & dog friendly! We took Ruby our pet bullmastiff & she was welcomed by everyone. We will definitely return next year!! By the way I've worked in travel for over 20years & stayed in 3* to 5* plus and this holiday was equally as enjoyable as the luxury holidays in the Caribbean. Anyone who complains must have nothing better to do. Thanks to Park Resorts we had an amazing, fun time. I will not return to Haven after visiting Park Resorts. From Jo, Dale, Ellie, Mia & Ruby( dog) xxx

Room Tip: All I can say is if Bronze is as good as we got then why pay more!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOMREPLOVERUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for the great feedback. It was pleasing to read that you had a fantastic holiday, especially that you found it on par with your luxury holidays in the Caribbean. I will pass your thanks on to the team. It is comments like these that make the team feel appreciated and it helps to keep them motivated. We look forward to welcoming the “in laws” in September and also to welcoming you back again next year. Thanks again.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews