We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little things do matter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“little things do matter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been coming to cayton bay[on and off] since it was on "wish you where here".We have seen circuses,good resident bands and acts and even wrestling,[this was when it was Ladbrookes then Haven],and had some good times when Park Resorts took the reins.Now on this visit,we got there at 3pm[in a bronze]check in at 4pm,we had stopped for dinner on the way up so waited till 4pm.lots of "bronze"arrived and was told to wait till 4pm unless you pay for an upgrade.The three staff stood about serving No One,then at 3.30pm decided to issue keys[very good decision] We were in elm 79 first impressions ok it was only when the hot water was tried,the pilot kept going out and no remote for the tv.Reported next day the said must be low gas and sorry OTHER guests like to take remotes home.I did say they could charge a deposit like they do abroad.Anyway as we got in late monday night pilot was on but gas fire would not light.Next day reported again as pilot light kept going out.Got back after day out and pilot and fire lit.Got back late tuesday night,fire would not light,reported again wednesday ,got back after day out to bridlington,didnt try fire till late wednesday night HOORAY,it lit ,but not thursday morning......didnt report it just started it with lit taper[much easier] WE have left it for others to report.. GOOD BITS ..all the waiting/bar staff in our opinion are spot on,the entertainment team are a bit hit and miss[tam very good]but put a lot of effort in their show,and maybe a better resident band[our opinion]....BAD BITS...as someone wrote only security on the entertainment complex,not on the site[didnt we have car stickers once?],checking in[an hour or half an hour shouldnt make a difference if not busy]...Apart from that a decent monday to friday break,and great fish and chips from "silks" in scarborough

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you have been visiting Cayton Bay for so many years, thank you for your loyal custom.

I apologise that the reception team did not communicate better with you on arrival, the reason that we have to wait is generally down to waiting for the cleaners and checkers to have been in the caravans. We could distribute the keys earlier but guests may then arrive prior to the caravan being cleaned or checked.

It was disappointing to read that you experienced issues with the boiler, but thank you for informing me of the caravan number so that I can check it. It was also very pleasing that you found all of the bar staff to be spot on, and the Entertainments team put a lot of effort into the in-house show.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    446
    289
    151
    182
See reviews for
1,059
197
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

not too happy with the bronze caravan accommodation.....it was not checked before we turned up...key would not open door easily,tv aerial ripped out of tv, cooker door half hanging off,no way to light cooker, shower broke so you had to hold it,also hot water just dribbled out,handle on dressing table half hanging off,light bulb not working in kitchen area..

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prite123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the recent feedback regarding your holiday at Cayton Bay. It was really disappointing to read that we let you down with your accommodation and I would like to apologise sincerely for this. This is highly unusual as our caravans are maintained and checked every week for both cleaning and repairs.

If you could please email me (jon.hodgson@park-resorts.com) with your accommodation number or booking reference number, I will personally check the caravan and come back to you with my findings.

I hope that you will consider returning to us in the future.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Have just returned from this holiday park and on first impressions it looked very good, clean, tidy and well maintained. We checked in with no problems and found our caravan very easy with the help of a very good site map. Little concerned about the lack of security at the gate, not once were we stopped and checked.
Inside the caravan, where you could see was clean and tidy but behind the scenes, could have been a bit better. It was also not suitable for us, we were 4 adults, 2 in there mid/late 50s and 2 in there early/mid 60s, this information was given on our booking form, but we still ended up with 1 double bedroom which was fine and a child’s twin room, where the beds were far to small for adults.
Now, the first thing you want after a 300-mile journey is a nice cup of tea, but looking through the cupboards, no teapot, I hate tea made in the cup. Where tea had perversely been made in the cup they were all stained and had to be scrubbed before we could use them, 2 of which we could not get clean at all. After unpacking we went for dinner and on our return wanted to open a bottle of wine, but no corkscrew, luckily we had bought our own. The glasses looked clean but when you picked them up they were stuck to the shelf.
For breakfast the next morning we wanted boiled eggs, but no eggcups, no chopping board to cut the bread and the toaster was so full of crumbs, so much so, it set the smoke alarm off the first time we used it.
The kitchen sink had a drainer, which drained the water straight into the cutlery draw below.
It’s a shame about these little things because the site is very relaxing, quiet and in a very good location, but it’s the little things that spoil a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the recent TripAdvisor review. It was pleasing to read that you found the park to be clean, tidy and well maintained, that check-in was straight forward and that you found the caravan easily.

I apologise that the glasses had not been dried correctly and stuck to the shelf and also that the water was draining from the sink into the drawer below. If this was not reported could you please email me (jon.hodgson@park-resorts.com) with the caravan number or the booking reference number so that I can check it has been fixed.

The comments regarding the inventory have been passed on to the central support team as they are currently not part of the standard items we put in caravans, but I understand that all customers have different requirements and expectations so we appreciate the feedback.

With regards to your query about security on the front gate, we have not had issues with people visiting the park that are not either private owners or holidaymakers and therefore have no need for security manning the entrance. Only guests with passes can use the swimming pool and main complex facilities, so there is no reason for people not using the site to want to enter.

We hope that you will consider returning to us in the future.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Never done this before. But just had to. Been here 5 hours and would go home but kids making the most off it , but if kids happy!!! Caravan dirty, not nice at all!!! Sat watching world cup now. Think I'm back in the day Spain 82. Yes a 80's tv, With 80's dust on it. Go to to the bar and its 2024 prices. £4.65 for a brown ale. Do not visit cayton bay, bay spot on park resorts not. I've travelled all over the world and this is my worst holiday by far, value for money!!!! What? I've seen these hols advertised at work in the Sun and thought why not have a go. Paid £60 plus £40 for passes. My God please don't start a nightmare, it's meant to be a holiday. Get me out of here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience. Whilst it was disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, it was pleasing to read that the children enjoyed themselves. I feel confident had you made us aware of your caravan cleanliness issue that we would have resolved it immediately, but I also sincerely apologise that it wasn’t cleaned to a satisfactory standard on your arrival.

I do hope that you don’t judge us too harshly and that you may give us the opportunity at some point in the future to restore your faith in our usual high standards of accommodation and cleanliness.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland,England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wow even from the booking of this holiday I knew it was going to be good,the call to arrange this was very professional and very helpful.
The caravan was much better than I expected,very spacious and the kitchen was so well equipped,could of done with a cheese grater though!!!
We had a silver caravan which was fine for us but did feel a little jealous when I seen the caravans with verandas I think we would do that the next time.
Really wanted to book up for next year at this years price as I thought that was a great deal but we held off for the time being.

We didn't eat out whilst we were here as we were so pleased with everything in the caravan,I thought the menus on site weren't amazing and nothing really caught my eye.

Kids entertainers were really pleasant and friendly but felt there could of been a bit more done content wise.
Think the soft play could of had a bit more in it as well,also disappointed that older kids were allowed to mix with younger kids. Young ones had to be supervised which is obvious but some parents were leaving older kids to run amok and little ones were getting hurt.
Also there was glass smashed on the park,not the fault of the park obviously and adult being stupid enough to take glass outside despite the notices but it was dangerous.

The pool was ok not amazing,got quite annoyed at the fact people were just dumping their clothes and bags on the seats instead of using lockers,there wasn't lot of space to sit in the beginning.

A lovely place to holiday and would highly recommend for people with younger kids and people that just wanted to relax.

Room Tip: Go for the best upgrade that you can afford,it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolapops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay at Cayton Bay Holiday Park. It was pleasing to read that your holiday was fabulous right from the first call, that the caravan was much better than you expected and the children’s entertainers were really pleasant.

We will look into the constructive comments regarding the play area and swimming pool, but we are glad that you appreciate this is down to the parents and something difficult for us to control.

Thank you again for the feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here from the 9th -13th June. The park was lovely and the staff were friendly. Our 3yr old daughter really enjoyed the soft play area and the swimming pool. The park was clean as was the caravan. We were fortunate and had great weather, we spent most of our days on the beach at Scarborough and cayton bay. The only downside for us was the quality of the kids entertainment, it was all pre recorded stuff with the characters and very little interaction with the kids, if that was better this would have probably been the best holiday park we'd been on.
Overall a good time was had!

Room Tip: We had a standard caravan which was clean and well equipped. Ideal for summer as not central heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. It was really pleasing to read that you found the staff to be friendly and that both the park and your caravan were clean, but more importantly that your daughter really enjoyed her holiday.

I have passed on the comments regarding entertainment to the Central team who put the programmes together, and appreciate the constructive feedback.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at Cayton Bay and we loved it. Caravan was clean and very spacey booked through the sun holiday didn't upgrade and was very pleased kids loved the swimming pool, park and entertainment we did too, can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sezzbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the recent review. It was great to read that you loved your 2nd visit to Cayton Bay, with the caravan being clean and very spacious, and the kids loving the swimming pool, park and entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd time next year and thank you again for taking the time to share your great experience, it is really appreciated.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Windmill
The Windmill
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
3.2 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all action stations at this fabulous Park near the seaside resort of Scarborough. With a great choice of entertainmnet you'll be toe tapping and hand clapping all night! Facilities include a fun pool with flume, all weather multi sports court, adventure playground, crazy golf and soft play area, volleyball and basketball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing