We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CAMPING” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CAMPING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just arrived back from a camping holiday which was an enjoyable experience.Doug the tent warden was brililant, whether it was charging mobile phones to having access for my daughter to straighten her hair, nothing was too much trouble for him, he kept the site clean and tidy and always had a smile on his face.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I will pass on your comments to Doug, he is a real star here at Cayton Bay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    446
    289
    151
    182
See reviews for
1,059
197
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back on sat from cayton bay.kids loved it in the pool everyday.and loved the evening entertainment.ate at the boat house one evening wouldn't recommend and overpriced.if I was to give any advice take plenty of money especially if you have kids.overall we all had a fab time and will return again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Cayton Bay, and it is pleasing to read such positive comments. I am sorry to hear that you found some things to be expensive, we do have lots of special offers in order to save families some money so I do hope that these came in handy for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from a week’s holiday. We had paid for a silver caravan. What we got (Elm 57) was disappointing and at other parks surely would have been classed as a bronze or economy caravan. The bedding felt damp and the stuffing was hanging out of the pillows. We asked for some more pillows – initially we had one very thin one each, which arrived on the second day, not particularly conducive to a good nights sleep on the first night. They initally could only provide four and not the requested five extra pillows as they had run out!, though the very helpful lady from housekeeping sorted us another one out.

The fixture and fittings were “tired” and grubby, the grill didn’t work, the TV reception was terrible – thank goodness we brought our own DVD player. There was hardly any storage space. Parking was an issue too – there just wasn’t enough spaces for all the cars.

We didn’t really use the facilities much on site so cannot comment on the entertainment. The bar seemed okay from our one visit and they do make a very nice tasting, and well-priced hot chocolate £2.50 for a really huge cup. We didn’t eat at the bar but the food looked to be okay, if on the expensive side. I had to laugh at the special offers though. On the “two for £11” for instance, you would save about 20 pence (in total) on most of the meals included under the offer. Your savings would be soon swallowed up by the cost of the soft and alcoholic drinks at the bar – nearly £8 for a pint of lager, lemonade and a small slush.

The “swimming” pool was three feet six inches at its deepest, and in common with everything else in the park was tired and in serious need of refurbishment. Ditto the crazy golf, which was at least free.

In August, the field is turned over to campers, which meant that the only place for my boys to kick a ball about (apart from the multisport area which was always occupied, was on the pitch and put course, which wasn’t ideal.

Free Wi-Fi in the complex was advertised in the brochure and on-line but despite a number of attempts neither of my sons could access it. You could pay for Wi-Fi but it seemed expensive.

Our final full day was spent marooned in the caravan as hurricane Bertha hit and we were surrounded by several inches of water. I did report seeing toilet paper and other rather more dubious objects floating around in the water to reception but the people they sent seemed unconcerned about this. And there was children playing in it in bare feet too! From a conversation I overheard from staff working at the nearby (presumably) laundry block, flooding seems to be a regular occurrence.

We did receive very good service when our gas bottle ran out on the final morning – a member of staff was there to change it within about 15 minutes of reporting it. I must say all the staff I encountered were polite and helpful.

There are some positives. The beach at Cayton Bay is lovely and only 10 minutes away from the park. Scarborough and Filey Are only a short bus ride away thought I would advise, if you are planning on going to Scarborough, either get a really early bus or get to the bus stop in plenty of time as the buses seem to be full by the time they get to Cayton Bay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NatalieP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Cayton Bay. I am sorry to read that your holiday with us was not up to your expectations and I know that this is not our usual standard of service.

I am looking into your issues and rest assured that these will be dealt with.

We hope that you will return to Park Resorts in the future.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on the camping field. First of all the staff were lovely, especially Doug the camping warden, site facilities were good it has everything you could possibly need, it was clean and lots of fun stuff to do. Now here's the bad bit, the field is situated between a busy road and the club house which goes on late into the night. The problem with the road was cars honking their horns seemingly on purpose all through the night even up till 6am, it would appear the locals have some strange grudge against the tourist industry or they have a weird sense of humour!! Oh and the bar is obviously over priced!! Entertainment was cringe worthy but the kids loved it! Toilets and showers were to be expected a bit muddy under foot and grass in the showers but hey your camping! So overall a good site apart from the noise but if you like late nights its the place to be, if you have small children who need sleep then not so good!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Cayton Bay, I am glad to read that our staff carried out their duties and provided excellent service, and that our facilities didn’t let you down.

We only have camping for the month of August because Cayton Bay is such a popular place and we cannot house everyone in our caravans. For whatever reason people do find it funny to honk their horns, unfortunately as a park it is very hard to control this. I’m glad it didn’t ruin your holiday however.

We hope you will return to Park Resorts in the future.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed a week at Cayton bay with the family. Apart from the caravan having a leaky roof the holiday was very enjoyable. The entertainment staff were brilliant and had made us feel welcome. All other staff were very friendly and we're more than happy to help us with any queries we had. There was lots for the kids to do and the adults enjoyed the evening entertainment too. An all round good holiday thanks to the excellent staff. Thank you Tamworth, Connor, Charlie, Kelly, Haley and Kirsty for keeping us entertained and amused all week.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Cayton Bay. I do hope that you reported the leaky roof in your caravan, but I am glad to hear that this didn’t spoil your holiday and everything else was to your liking.

We do hope you return very soon, I will make sure I pass all of your comments on to the Entertainments team.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been with park resorts for many years and have had many happy memories, of course things have gone wrong in the past but you come to an agreement an understanding or maybe just the management saying sorry is ok.we booked into our gold star plus caravan the dry food stains on the settees and on the carpet put us off but the dirt in the shower the filth on the blinds,
the mattreses sinking in the childrens rooms was not the last straw,but how when we pointed this out we were offered a dry clean of the carpets and the settees not on the same day but tomorrow.we had a number of park resort people view and agree with us that this was not the gold plus standard and we should contact reception, we had, not once but four times as when the
, kitchen blind fell and nearly hit my wife on the head not once , but twice, she reported this and the man just laughed .But finding a pooh in the pool and they did not even clean properly never again they just fished it out with a net turned the fountains off and let children carry on swimming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, Owner at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Cayton Bay. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience, this is not what we set out to do. Please be assured that I will be dealing with the issues you have raised.

As for the issue with the pool, we have very strict guidelines regarding how we deal with such problems and I can assure you that this was dealt with as per our Health and Safety policies.

We do hope that you will return to Park Resorts in the future.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a full week at Cayton Bay in a friends private caravan.... site facilities are great and the distance to the beach is great!!
The entertainment team are very welcoming and provide a great experiance for both kids and adults... Great shows, performances and competitions...
Special shout out to Team Stars Connor, Kirsty, Hayley and Kelly who all made my little girls holiday a memorable experiance :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PJCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear that we got everything right during your stay. It’s easy to let things slip at times but we do strive for the perfect holiday and in your experience this was the case.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Cayton Bay Holiday Park
01723 583 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Windmill
The Windmill
#17 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
3.2 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all action stations at this fabulous Park near the seaside resort of Scarborough. With a great choice of entertainmnet you'll be toe tapping and hand clapping all night! Facilities include a fun pool with flume, all weather multi sports court, adventure playground, crazy golf and soft play area, volleyball and basketball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing