We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly, just like being at home.”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Hotel Columbus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #98 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Columbus again this year for originally 3 nights but because of such a homely atmosphere we stayed another night. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious nobody can make poached eggs like Anthony. Thanks again for our lovely stay in our favorite place. See you again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, your comments are really appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit. Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for two nights as my birthday treat and we took my little dog with us Susie Anthony and Hannah made us so welcome homemade cake and coffee on arrival what a nice treat
The rooms were clean and tidy we had room 5 and it was very spacious
Breakfast was very plentiful and the home made porridge with the extra cream and honey was to die for and the food was cooked beautiful
The hotel was near the lovley park and a short walk to the bus
We will definitely be returning next year and we will recommend this hotel to our friends
Thanks for a great break Deb Maz and Maw Maw the little dog

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind words, we very much look forward to your next visit - and looking forward to meeting Maw Maw's new little friend. Regards Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights making a weekend out of the Boyzone concert in Scarborough. We were a party of 2 children (7 and 10), myself and my sister and my Mum. All felt very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

We had very comfortable rooms, the family room alone could have slept all 5 of us but we were accommodated over 3 rooms at no extra cost.

The hotel is ideally situated, close to Peasolm Park, the Open Air Theatre and north shore beach. All within easy walking distance and the open top buses soon get you to south shore if you wish to leave the more tranquil north shore.

We had a beautiful day on north shore beach. Lovely clean sands, donkeys looking cared for and happy and the added advantage of sunny weather.

I can really recommend Hotel Columbus for families. I am sure we will be back.

(Also my sister and daughter confirmed it really is the best porridge in the world).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It was our great pleasure to meet and greet your lovely family. Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Columbus and Scarborough. We look forward to meeting all the family next time. Very best wishes, Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Scarborough to see Boyzone at the open air theatre. What a wonderful guest house. We had a lovely warm welcome by Anthony in the car park as I parked up he took our bags and took us straight up to our room which was great. Also offered us coffee and cake in the lounge which was lovely. Our room was nice and clean and very comfy (Room no2). Breakfast was fantastic with a buffy cart with fresh fruit cereals and juices, A nice hearty full English to follow all cooked to order and piping hot. Which was cooked by Sue and Hannah. Next time I am defiantly having the porridge as it smelled superb when I saw the family have it on the next table. Also it was really nice of Sue to allow us to park my car all day on the hotel car park as I was going to move it to one of the car parks In The north bay. To sum up this is a super little guest house in Scarborough and we are already planning to stay on our next visit to Scarborough. It is value for money and close to all the attraction in the north bay and only a 5 min walk to the beach. I am already looking forward to staying there again and will highly recommend it to my friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful stay Anthony Sue and Hannah.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank JasonGibson291279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, your kind comments are most appreciated, thank you again. Our famous porridge just gets better and better! Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly homely clean and comfortable hotel. Sue,Tony and Hannah are wonderful hosts. The hotel is in walking distance to the open air theatre to which we watched Boyzone in concert. Also close to tge beautiful Peasholm Park and seafront. This is my second visit to Columbus and I will certainly return again at some point and would highly recommend it. Great evening meal and full english breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxrossi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It was lovely to see you both again and catch up. Take good care and here's to the next time! Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 1 week in july,and very much enjoyed the warm welcome and attention we received. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy. breakfast was 1st rate and plentiful. we would highly recommend it and would definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 .perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It was our great pleasure to great you, and so pleased you enjoyed your Holiday in Scarborough. We look forward to the next time! Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to go to Status Quo concert at open air theatre. Given a very warm and friendly welcome. Greeted in the car park and showed upstairs to our rooms after being offered tea or coffee. Room perfect, everything we needed. Given own key so we could get in if late. Very quiet in room at night even though a busy road. Breakfast was top class and no problem to have extra toast etc. Near to peasolme park, sealife centre, cricket ground and perfect for open air theatre not forgetting short walk to beach on north bay. No hesitation in booking here again when we visit scarborough.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front great views up and down street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jen24312016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and so pleased you enjoyed your short break in Scarborough. Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: 124 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £26 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with all the comforts of home, are just some of the special ingredients which make your stay at Hotel Columbus a holiday to remember.The hotel is open all year and offers bed & breakfast accommodation with an optional evening meal on request. Hotel Columbus is a detached purpose built hotel with private car park. Conveniently situated close to all the North Bay attractions; just a short stroll from Peasholm Park, the Open-Air Theatre and pristine sandy beaches of the North Bay. You can take a ride on the miniature railway to the Sea Life and Marine Sanctuary at Scalby Mills, then stroll back along the promenade; or catch the open-top bus along Marine Drive for all the many activities to be found on the South Bay.Anthony, Sue and Hannah look forward to greeting you very soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing