We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headlands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zakynthos, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The only criticism was the size of the shower cubicle. Just too small.
But overall we had a lovely stay and honestly would recommend the headlands.
The staff were very welcoming and the rooms were very comfortable and clean

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieStrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your largely positive review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us as a place to stay. We would certainly love to see you back here sometime in the future.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    60
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
166
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked this hotel at last minute....and was very glad we had. free parking was available outside the hotel,which is a 5 minute walk to seafront,open air theatre,and PeasholmPark. We had a very warm welcome from the owner...and were pleased with standard of room.As the weather was a bit "parky",a nice touch was that the heating in the room had already been turned on.Hotel has quite a decent bar and lounge...and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately only able to stay the one night,but will certainly book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorside21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you ever so much for the superb comments contained within your review, we really appreciate it. It is most gratifying to note that you would book with us again, hopefully it won't be too long before we can welcome you both back here again.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very comfortable, We needed to book in early as we were going to two shows at the theatre. This was no problem. Parking was excellent and could leave car outside hotel all following day. Good breakfast with plenty of choice



  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it we really do appreciate it. Hopefully we will see you both again next time you are in the area for whatever reason.
Regards Dave & Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked this hotel for my elderly parents based on reviews here and a great rate for OAP's via Laterooms. They loved it. They found the decor to be clean and tasteful , the owners/staff to be friendly and helpful and breakfasts delicious. They plan this to be the only place they will now stay on their annual visit to Scarborough - can't say more than that !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridgetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your most excellent review on behalf of your parents. We are so pleased that your Mum and Dad enjoyed their stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome them back on their annual visit to Scarborough.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in the family room at the headlands and again we left happy guests. Room spacious and spotless and good nights sleep had by all, breakfast spot on.
Free wifi connection kept our boys happy and a decent pint in the bar worked for me.

Will be returning again , thanks to all

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkas18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It was great to see you all again and most gratifying to see guests return to stay with us, hopefully it means we are doing something right. Keep well and it would be fantastic to see you all next year.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here.The owners were very friendly, the room was clean and spotless with en suite, constant hot water especially in the shower. The bed was very comfortable. We had a view of the sea and the castle. there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room plus tv and free connection to Wi Fi. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space. The breakfast was first class, a selection of cereal,fresh and dried fruit, fruit juice, a good selection of jams and marmalade also a good choice of cooked breakfast, full English recommended. Would definitely recommend **** North cliff. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, and The Open Air Theatre. It takes a good half hour stroll to south cliff where there are plenty of shops ,bars and restaurants. overall we had a great stay in Scarborough and visited Whitby too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you ever so much Paula for the excellent comments in your review and for taking the time to post it, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Headlands and we enjoyed your company tremendously. We very much hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked two rooms for the four of us for our day and evening in Scarborough. I booked by phone and the proprietor advised me it was a quiet location and so it was....... a good night's sleep ensued (except for my son's wheezing! See below).

However, the rooms were a bit of a squeeze (but we could manage) and the bathrooms a real let down - tiny boxes containing just a shower and no bath. The showers were a pain - always running too hot or too cold and needing constant adjustment; in fact, in one room, it was impossible to keep to a safe temperature for more than a second or two..... could have been dangerous for a child..... such that it was impossible to use. We had to share the one in the other room and had too busy a schedule to bother informing management and waiting to get it fixed.

The rooms seemed quite clean but after my eldest happen to bash a cushion, we found the dust levels in the one room to be such that it brought on an athsma attack in my youngest son. I then checked and reckon there was quite a bit of dust in the cushions and curtains.... easily fixed though.

Breakfast was excellent with a great selection and good quality. The staff were friendly and very willing to provide a variation to the menu.

I would return if I was in Scarborough again...... but only if there was not availability in hotels with better bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us even if it wasn't entirely positive. I appreciate your comments about the quality of our breakfasts and the friendliness and willingness of the staff. Now if I may I would like to turn to your negative comments. You mentioned that you found the cushions and curtains were quite dusty, however I have to say that having checked them myself I didn't find that to be the case and certainly no worse than you would probably find in your own home. You also mentioned that the shower in one of your rooms was impossible to regulate. Again having checked it myself I couldn't find a problem. It is strange that no one before or since has mentioned it. Even stranger is your comment that because of your "busy schedule " you couldn't be bothered to mention it to the management if as you say " it could be dangerous for a child. " You had plenty of time to mention it at breakfast when I was talking to you or when you were checking out or indeed when you came back later in the day to use the toilet !!
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
728 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#45 of 183 in Scarborough
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Property: The Headlands Hotel
Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star self classified detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing