We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Headlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent stay very clean good food, in a lovely place.would stay here again, lots of places to see Easy access to town and beach rooms were super very quiet , staff very obliging good parking facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. We really enjoyed your company and hopefully it won't be too long before we see you both back here again. We would be delighted.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    61
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
172
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A traditional seaside hotel which ticked all the boxes. Great welcome and service throughout with real care and attention given to us and other guests. Nice clean room with all the necessary amenities.

Great location for North Bay, Peasholm Park and the cricket which we attended.

Breakfast was superb and was well organised in the attractive breakfast room.

We won't hesitate to book again when we are next up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you ever so much for your smashing review and your super comments, it is most gratifying when guests enjoy staying with us and take the time to tell others.Hopefully it will be not too long before we can welcome you back.
Regards, Dave & Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

rooms & excellent breakfast.Very hospitable & welcoming,thank you for a pleasant stay ! Its a 5 minute walk downhill to bus stop to South part of town & also beach,parking didn't seem a problem as usually space on street just outside the hotel mostly free. Excellent choice at breakfast,several cereals,yogurts, gratefruit ect as well as full English,was really good !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank malaineDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments, we greatly appreciate it. Hopefully it won't be too long before we will be seeing you both back here again.
Regards Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the rooms were well decorated, with nice white bedding on beds. The bathroom was spotless with soft white towels. We had a sea view. The breakfast was very nice and service was good. There was a short walk downhill to North Bay and regular buses along the seafront to South Bay which we used. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you would come back to see us. We would certainly love to see you.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a lovely, relaxed stay at this hotel. The room was pleasant and very clean. They served a hearty breakfast with a good selection of everything you would expect.
Take the walk down from the hotel to Peasholme park. Opposite the hotel is an indoor pool and leisure centre which is perfect for a wet day.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. We would be delighted to see you back here at The Headlands hopefully in the not too distant future.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This year was our second visit to this hotel, we liked it so much last year we decided to return again and add an extra night to our stay so four nights in total.

The hotel located at the north bay in Scarborough less than 5 minutes walk from the open air theatre, park and beach. Close to the beach is a bus stop where you can catch a bus to the south bay and buses run regularly throughout the day until around 10 at night.

The hotel has a small car park and there is also free on street parking on the street outside. We stayed in a family room, it was nicely decorated, spacious and clean and tidy. It had a shower and plenty of towels.

At breakfast you can help yourself to a selection of cereals, fruit, juices and yogurts. Then at your table you can order your cooked breakfast, tea or coffee and toast. The full English breakfast was my choice each but you could have other options including veggie breakfast, eggs cooked how you liked them, boiled, scrambled pooched or fried.

The hotel has a bar area open from 6pm which is nice to sit and relax in at the end of the day. There are lots of leaflets in the foyer/ reception area for the local attractions and it worth looking through them for discounts on attractions like the sea life centre.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. They were great with the kids especially a breakfast.

Another great holiday for the family. Thanks Headlands

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmiss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you ever so much for returning to see us again and for taking the time to post a most excellent review, we really do appreciate it. We are very much looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back for your third visit.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from an overnight stay with my mum and 2 yr old, we stayed in a family room.. It was clean and spacious and had everything you would need. Lovely fluffy white towels, comfy beds... The breakfast was spot on and quick friendly service...all Nice and simple and in the perfect location to north bay but only a 20/30 min walk along the coast to the south side.
Would definitely go back if staying in Scarborough. Thank you!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Wow. "Perfect " you can't do much better than that. Thank you so much we really appreciate it. Hopefully it means we are getting something right and pushes us on to try and do even better. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and would love to see you all back here next time you are in Scarborough.
Kind regards Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#45 of 182 in Scarborough
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Property: The Headlands Hotel
Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star self classified detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing