We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ellenby
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$147
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$176
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$695
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$161
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$83
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
70
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn elzaa sea view roomshort breakexcellent hostsgreat place to staymy husband and i have justcomplimentary toiletriescooked breakfastcomfortable roomsfresh fruitbrilliant stayparking permitb blovely breakfaststay there again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Here we are again , had a few pc problems , so cudnt write this sooner. Had a fantastic time as always. Just love coming here we both do , it's like going home for us, everything just perfect.
I hope nobody took that stupid woman's review seriously, must have been left on here instead of game for a laugh's website. I'm sure we all know who I mean , not her real name either , shame on you Lizzy 007 from Telford. You stick to where you live , and leave us to enjoy the delight's of the ellenby. How can anybody in their right mind only give it 2 stars for value , sleep
quality, service and not forgetting rooms. I bet it's better then you have at home so you are not used to anything superior. Then to only give it 3 stars for cleanliness , shame on you. And finally only 1 star for location, well that does take the biscuit, all front rooms over look the sea, what more could you ask for, you stupid woman.
This was our 5th year of stopping at The Ellenby, and you couldn't get two more fabulous people, then John & Elza, they are simply the best.
Obviously you need to wear stronger glasses, because it never says anywhere that there is a lift. So how else are you to get your luggage upstairs, wave a wand , you daft woman.
You shud have brought a servant with you , obviously .
As for the free bathroom cosmetics , it just proves you must be the type , if it's not nailed down then we will have it , as they say in Yorkshire ought for nowt . And the same goes for the sherry.
People like you give the rest of us holiday makers a bad name, next time spend some money and pay for a hotel , but then that's wat tight wads like you do , pay B&B prices and expect 4 star hotel amenites. And to say you can smell smoke from the car park is , so laughable, we always stay in Room 3 , and have all the windows open , and never once have we smelt smoke from the car park. Total rubbish , it obviously from your bathroom , and you blame it on everyone else. POOH POOH. As winnie would say & tigger too.
John & Elza thankyou from Rob & I for a fantastic stay as always. You always go beyond the pail for us , and we do love you both for it. We would never go anywhere else , ignore stupid woman lizzy 007 , no b---dy idea, and daft lad hubby is no better.
Anybody who know's John & Elza would think that couple are barking mad, with all her stupid , fantasy comments.
All the rooms are fabulous ,always spotless, whatever you ask for within reason is always there for you.
It is by a mile the best place to stay in Scarborough , for anyone who's not been before.
Breakfast is great , marvellous choice , poached eggs to die for, and new little table bin's which are fab and so quirky.
A great well stocked bar , and so trusting, leave your money , just write down what youve had, and you get your change if there is any the following day .
I just can't say enough fabulous things about the place.
I been to lots of places around the world, stopped in all different hotel stars , but this is a brilliant place for a brilliant price in the Best Country in The World.
Look forward to seeing you both next year, same time , same room.
Bye for now John & Elza.
Love Jackie & Rob
xx

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best , because you see the sea last thing at night , and 1st thing in the morning. What could be more fabulous then that .
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JACKIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Ellenby with a group of friends. Our deluxe seafront room was huge, with loads of storage space for motorcycle gear and hard luggage. The complimentary sherry was a lovely touch and typical of John and Eliza's attention to detail. The whole hotel is spotless with a spacious guest lounge and bar.
The bed was really comfy and I couldn't find a cracked tile or dodgy grouting anywhere in the bathroom ... and there was an added bonus of proper sized bath towels.
Breakfast is not for the faint-hearted: cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, a very generous, well-cooked, full English and plenty of toast (though you can choose a lighter healthy option if you must!) plus lashings of tea or coffee.
Definitely recommended and looking forward to a return visit in September ..... maybe the seagulls will make less racket in the autumn!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over The UK and alot of Europe, but never been so well looked after as at The Ellenby, everywhere spotless, attention to detail everywhere, everything worked, plenty of hot water, beds comfortable, ample tea & coffee in room, drinks very reasonable in the bar.
We had a room with a sea view and well worth it, everything in the room you could need including a fan.
Breakfast, a great choice and plenty of it, well presentd and served.
One reveiwer said no lift and narrow stairs, but this is an old building and I believe listed, so there is a limit to what you can do and believe me John & Elza have done everything possible to make it a great hotel.
We met people who had been going there for 25 years so the owners must be doing it right.
Thank you for a wonderful stay at short notice and will recommend to our friends.
Oh and by the way John carried our case up the stairs

Room Tip: Room 3 & 8 are really good with sea views. Do not leave it too long before you go and stay there.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

my husband and i have just been on a wonderful long weekend to the hotel ellenby, what a gem , the rooms where first class and were spotless .on all our travels we have not found such a pleasant hotel , john and his wife elza could not do enough for you , nothing was too much trouble, thank you for the wonderful breakfasts , i would definately recommend this hotel to all my friends . hope to see you again soon very well done x

Room Tip: room 14 was my favourite sea views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmine427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We arrived and checked in and had to drag a large case up several flights of small narrow stairs, my husband suffers from a muscle wasting disease and this was not ideal, however he is very proud so would not complain, but no warning about inaccessibility for physically challenged people in the brochure and quite frankly a laze fair attitude all around on check in. This hotel was not as we expected by reading the reviews. We had a seafront room for which we paid extra and couldn't see the sea sitting on the sofa as advertised in the brochure the windows were too high and the sofa too low. There was a decanter with exactly 2 glasses of sherry in and the next day was reduced to 1 glass !(which I do frown on as guests could be alcoholics and that may tempt them to fall of the wagon !) Reading through the guest book in the room it stated that smoking was not allowed in the building which was good as we don't smoke but guests were smoking in the front car park and the smoke fumes were coming through our open window. although the Ellenby does not offer dinner(so this is really a B&B not a Hotel) we were informed that we were not allowed to bring back take aways and if we did then we would be charged from £30 clean up charges !why would depositing a food container and cutlery in the bin rack up a charge of at least £30. The TV which was advertised as 26inch was not ,it was a lot smaller and hung high on the wall so you had to watch it looking up at it. As I have a serious eye complaint this was impossible to do and was unable to do it. The "free cosmetics gave me a rash which I am still trying to get rid of. The entire place was very old fashioned and though extremely clean the style was stuck in the 80s. Breakfast was a breakfast and the coffee was weak. Sorry to be critical but expected so much more and have had a lot better for less money. Ellenby shame on you :do not try and make out you are a hotel when you are a B&B guest house and no more.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged in any way, have poor eyesight and do not have a giraffes neck please avoid the "Premier Double Room with a sea view" room 9
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzy007-333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at The Ellenby, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Shame on you Lizzy-007.

Thank you for your review and quite an unbelievable one at that.

You booked a 4-star Guest House and expected a 4-star Hotel. Your booking was made with us via our own website and in the first paragraph on the Home Page it states “seafront bed and breakfast”, and also mentions that we are a “Guest House”. Maybe there’s a clue in there somewhere as to why we don’t claim to be a Hotel.

My wife suffers from a bad back and I wasn’t there when you checked in. If you wanted help with your suitcase when you arrived then you should have mentioned this to us. Better still, mentioned it when you booked online, other guests have done so. You asked for a car parking space for your car (which we did) so why not mention the suitcases!

You were informed on the day you booked with us which room you were in so you should have known you were going to be on the 2nd floor. Our access policy on the website states we don’t have a lift. How did you think you were going to get to the 2nd floor? You were also asked to contact us should you have any further questions.

The decanter of sherry is a free ‘complimentary drink’ on arrival and not meant to be an endless supply of alcohol.

Your bedroom was located on the 2nd floor and the windows are approx 30 feet above the car park and set back from it. We had one guest who smoked during your 2-day stay (I’ve checked). I find it hard to believe that with your windows being so far away from an open car park that you would have experienced any smoke fumes.

Your bedroom was fully refurbished in 2006. In fact, all but 2 of our 12 bedrooms have been refurbished since 2005. It is an insult to suggest the building is old fashioned. We have been inspected every year by Visit Britain and awarded 4-star quality (April 2013) , this includes the décor.

We try to discourage guests from bringing take-away meals onto the premises because we have experienced the remnants of freshly dressed crab and pepperoni pizza sprawled all over the bed and carpet, as well as the smell of an Indian meal when guests have checked out. This has led to loss of earnings because we are unable to re-let the bedroom for days afterwards while we clean the carpets and mattress. I’m sure you would have been the first to complain if the bedroom stunk of crab when you first arrived! Incidentally, up to now, we have never charged anyone for this extra service.

We are always trying to improve the quality of the products in our bedrooms. The TV in your room was recently replaced with a new LED TV with built in DVD player (22”) and our website still has to be updated to reflect this. We make many changes to our rooms to try and improve ‘guest comfort’ but changing the advertising for every alteration we make takes time.

At the risk of going on and on with answering your absurd complaints can I recommend the next time you decide to book a short holiday and you want a Hotel, please book a Hotel. If you have trouble reading the literature on the Home Page of a website, get someone else to book it for you. Maybe next time you’ll put the right name on the online booking form so the owners will know who's coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews