We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay.”
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Had we read some of the reviews on this site of The Delmont Hotel before booking, we would never have gone there and thereby would have missed a most enjoyable weekend break at the end of February 2013.The hotel was clean, the food excellent, with good choice of menu and the staff could not have been more wecoming and friendly.Our room overlooking the North Bay with its fabulous sea views was warm and comfortable.There was top class entertainment on each night of our stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone, and definitely there go again.

SylTom23

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    150
    77
    53
    84
See reviews for
68
199
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel we were warmly welcomed and given a free parking permit for our car. Yes, as other reviews have said, the room had seen better days but the TV was new, the place was clean and Scarborough is such a nice place - how much of your room are you planning on seeing?!
Breakfast was great, lots of serve yourself cereals and fruit and then full English being served. The dining room looks over the sea and is very pleasant.
We paid £45 B&B (non seaview) through booking.com which I thought was great value.
All in all, great value, friendly and fab location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel and I struggle to understand what some people are writing about on this site. It is a 2 star seaside hotel run by the hard working Scott family. Our room was perfectly clean and comfortable..and yes we looked out on to the back yard but so what we were only there to sleep and not everyone can have a sea view!! The food was excellent. Good choice and plentiful. They have a lovely relaxing lounge where you can just sit to read or chat and enjoy the views. On top of the north cliff the views are amazing and only a short walk to Peasholm Park in one direction and the Castle and town centre in the other. We certainly did not have any issues and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Ignore what some other people are writing and go and experience this hotel and it's ever friendly staff for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6SusanF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have recently returned from a short break at The Delmont Hotel in Scarborough. I had a thoroughly enjoyable experience there and I felt the break offered very good value for money. This sentiment was echoed to me by other guests I had spoken to during my stay.

My room had a breathtaking view over the North Bay (see photo attached).

The food was delicious and wholesome, the breakfasts certainly set me up for the day.

The staff were very friendly and polite and clearly wanted to do everything possible to make the stay a happy one. The owner in particular had a fabulous sense of humour, emphasized by the fact he was a great lover of Notts County Football Club!! (now that does take a sense of humour).

In summary, I would most definitely recommend a stay at The Delmont to anyone.

Mr Collings,
Harrogate.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

went on a mystery tour and this was our hotel we stayed at,overall the hotel was basic,but hospitality was good.The food was nice but some was not served quick enough, resulting in cold food.Drinks prices are reasonable,view from room was over the yards at the back of the hotel,so not to good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I brought a party to this hotel this weekend and we had the most amazing service. Sam and Dan Scott are marvelous hosts who made us feel extremely welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a great spot with super views. Food is really good with plenty of choice and all beautifully cooked. I firmly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is a 2 star hotel so is quite basi. That being said it has a lot of facilities you would expect from a 3 star. Our room waslarge with an excellent sea view and an adequate bathroom. TV's are very small but you don't go on holiday to watch TV (or do you?). Staff were helpful and well presented. Hotel was clean, food good, entertainment ok. Ignore all the bad reviews this hotel is excellent value for money. If you want 4 star you need to pay 4 star prices. Well done Delmont. Only criticism is the heating does not have to be quite so high - the bedrooms were a little too warm.

Room Tip: Request a sea view. 1st and 2nd floor better than in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraokeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.8 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Property: Delmont Hotel
Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing