We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times now the 1st was in the suite with the 4 poster bed the decor was dated but was spot on for the price and the breakfast was I'd say 7/10 so better than most of the cafés round there
This time we stayed in the newly done superior double this is clean and fresh and very comfortable the tv could be bigger but was spot on
If your after a hassle free cheap and cheerful stay then this is value for its money will defo stay again no frills no hassle you get what you pay for

Graham & Danny

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments. It is so nice to see a balanced opinion it makes you wonder when reading other comments what people expect. Perhaps it is just a case that they should pay more for their holidays and not critisize 2 star hotels when really they want 5 star treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    150
    76
    52
    84
See reviews for
68
197
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As you see with my previous reviews I have never uploaded pictures, but this hotel
is so bad I want people to see just how bad, my partner and I use trip advisor often
and tend to think that each person to their own everyone has different expectations
But boy oh boy this was bad , the room really smells putrid , the carpet was sticky
and covered and in stains, as you will see with the toilet which was separate from
the shower it was totally filthy, the shower room was just as bad and the shower was
cold my partner tried, no hot water ( I refused to use it) ! Normally we would have asked
for our money back but had just travelled 5 hours and didn't want to waste what we
had left of our one day and first time in Scarborough trying to find somewhere else , the
bed was clean enough otherwise we would have so we stayed out as late as possible
so we spent very little time in the room .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Barbara_C187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Oh dear it sounds reading your review that you had a terrible stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot put things right i.e the shower if we do not know!! There is actually a pull coard next to all the showers (a safety mechanisam we have to have by law) this makes the shower work correctly when pulled and we would have been happy to help you had we known! If ,as you say, your bathroom facilities were that bad I think you would have come to make a complaint.
However, we find it regretable that you would rather complain in this way not giving us any chance of re-dress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Disgusting, awful, although a young man called Tristan was the only joy on our stay. Polite & well turned out, he should be running the place! Rooms are dirty, old fashioned & smell of damp. Would never stay there again. My cat litter box is cleaner! The housekeeping staff look like they need a bath

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jolo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
BEWARE! If you choose to use the internet to book a holiday you must read all the details.

This was obviously not the case in your booking.
You would have seen that we cannot guarantee a double bed even if you specify you want one.
We always do our best to accommodate our guests but considering we are full almost every saturday night ( must be doing something right) not everybody can have the bed request they make( try ringing the hotel in future and talk to the reservations department thats why they are there) You would also see on the internet that not all our rooms are front facing sea views and are priced accordingly some are side sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Scarborough on the sea front has a attraction called Terror House, a place where you pay to be scared for a few minutes, £3.00 in and you know what to expect. However the Delmont Hotel beats it hands down as a house of horror. On entering the room we were in frightening shock. Unclean and can only described a a grot hole, the twin beds (expecting a double) had more bumps than Quazzi Modo's back. The rest of the room was a basic and dated. The sea veiw? You had to poke head out of the window to get a glimpse. The chamber maids burst in, without knocking more of a shock than anything in Terror House. Norman Bates would not stay here! If you like comfort and a little bit of class do not go through the door. Delmont is a true house of horrors. STAY AWAY!!!! Over priced nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
How dramatic of you to make such comments.

You obviously are a budding writer wanting some recognition

We feel you are being very unfair and unjust to our hotel please read the good comments and reviews we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here 1st sept for 1 week came here with sunrise coach holidays foyer was dated , went to our room , more like a prison cell , went to reception said room was not suitable after being told fully booked , another room was given , not much better , wallpaper falling off the walls from damp , the food was very poor mostly cold or raw , cleaners have not been employed at this hotel yet , staff were helpfully but incompetent , don't bother with this hotel it was very poor , sunrise coach holidays you should view this hotel not good at all, you have been warned !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Oh dear Mary, it does sound like you had a very regretable time at our hotel. We do our best to make everyones stay enjoyable at our family run hotel, with long standing guests over 20 years. We have been dealing wiht this coach company for many years and do have alot of return bookings from this company seeing the same people time and again.
We are very unahppy you feel so upset by your visit to us unfortunatly our single rooms are passed by the tourist board as being the correct size for the 2 star rating and we do not charge a single supplement which I am sure you will agree is quite a rare thing.
Our kitchen is staffed by 2 qualified chefs so cannot understand why you would suggest that our food is so poor. We do, however, take your comments on board and are looking into them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I will not go into great detail, as I don't usually write reviews (& i would have to write a short story to encompass everything that we as a group experienced) But after staying at this particular hotel, we had the need to warn others before they spend quite a high price for; disgustingly dirty, infested & out dated accommodation. Some of the staff though I have to say were very polite, but had no idea about what they were doing. Moreover, when we dared to complain about multiple basic issues, the management seemed to think they were doing us a favour by giving us the time of day and became quite threatening when we persisted. We had made the mistake of paying upfront, couldn't get a refund, had to stay the night. NEVER EVER will i GO THROUGH ITS DOORS AGAIN. (Still got marks from probable bed-bugs). It is a shame as the location of this Hotel is really nice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
You use the word "infested" and "probable bed bugs" I find these comments both insulting and slanderous as you have no proof whatsoever to make these allegations.
We regret that you found your stay with us not enjoyable but do not feel it necessary to make false allegations to get your point across.
We are a long standing family run hotel and yes the hotel is older than the modern purpose built hotels springing up around the country that is because we are a victorian hotel almost 200 years old with alot of character. This does not make us outdated, dirty and all the rest of the comments you make. I suggest if you want a more modern hotel with maybe less atmosphere you look for a different style of holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Myself ,my wife and our two friends stayed at your hotel from 26th - 30th August,we all found the staff very helpful during our stay.The food was excellent, nice to be waited on, also both of our rooms were very clean and comfortable,entertainment very good.Hotel situated in great location,we will return for another stay

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were town view rooms,but we had sunshine in these two rooms all day can't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
thankyou very much for your lovely comments. We do appreciate it so much when people have a balanced approach to their value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Property: Delmont Hotel
Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing