We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for cheap weekend stay”
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for cheap weekend stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is a little outdated but comfortable and we had no real complaints as the rate we paid was very modest. We had five rooms altogether, some better than others but overall the standard was OK. It did however strike me that for a few quid spent in B&Q on paint and the likes the rooms could be refreshed quite easily.
Breakfast was included in the rate and was fine although I do agree with an earlier comment about times.... (maybe it could have been left on a little longer especially on Sunday).

The staff were all very friendly and check in/out was very smooth.

All in all we had a good stay here and |I would deffo stop here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seem to be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryGSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    151
    79
    54
    87
See reviews for
70
203
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Me and a friend stayed there this weekend just gone 23rd Nov , the room was a little out dated but that never stopped it from been clean and warm and was equipped with everything you needed, the staff were helpful at all times and the breakfast was just as good, also you got free parking and it was a 5 minute walk to town , so we will be back next year for our shopping weekend xx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here the weekend of the 9-10th Nov and after reading some of the reviews of this hotel our expectations were not very high. We were wrong. Our room was very good indeed for the price we paid. Ok, furniture is a bit dated and shabby in places but the room (which was huge) was perfectly clean as was the bed and bedding. The bathroom, though tiny, was also very clean. We arrived a couple of hours early but were able to check in straight away which was nice. The heating wasn't on then but as we were two hours early we didnt expect it to be. We went out and returned about 3.30pm and the room was lovely and warm (even hot). It was still very warm when we went to bed and the heating came on again before we got up next morning. So no problem with the cold! We had a sea view room and the views from both windows were fantastic. There was a small table with 2 chairs in one bay window and a settee in the other so we could appreciate the views in comfort. Breakfast was fine too, the staff were polite and efficient even though it was busy. We honestly can't understand why some people have rated this hotel so badly. Surely the rooms must all be of a similar standard when it comes to cleanliness at least? We stay in lots of hotels ranging from budget to 5* and set our expectations accordingly. You get what you pay for as a rule. We will definitely stay at the Delmont again. One tip - make sure you have a tenner in cash as you have to leave a deposit for the tv remote. We only had a fiver but must have looked trustworthy because the receptionist let us have it anyway!!

Room Tip: We had room 109. Fantastic views.Very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The rooms are very outdated the bedding was dirty, the rooms were freezing and when i inquired about this they said the boiler would come on any minute now, it never came on all weekend. Breakfast is between 8.30 and 9.15 only, who goes away to get up at that time ???

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but we are a very old building which carry's allot of charm to go with it as allot of people like, maybe if you do not want dated charm then you should go to a premier inn or travel lodge, in regards to your breakfast time i am afraid that it has been the stated time for breakfast for over a decade and i am amazed how now there is a problem with it after all the years people have been happy to come down for breakfast in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

After our weekend away just thought i would write to balance the scales against all the people moaning about this hotel from the minute we walked in to the minute we left we encountered friendly attentitive efficient staff our rooms were clean spacious and tidy the bar/lounge was snug and homely the beds were very comfortable hence the excellent nights sleep in the morning we were served a very tasty plentiful breakfast all in all an excellent value for money stay yeah ok there is the odd bit that needs a lick of paint but if these things bother you then i suggest you pay 5 star prices for 5 star facilities

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is my favourite place to stay, its affordable, has a great view over North Bay, lots of sea-view rooms and you can book a deluxe sea-view room for big bay windows and lots of space.

Its not perfect, its not dirty, the furnishings need a lick of paint in places, though its mostly good, but does that really matter? Its friendly, breakfast is good, the rooms are nice. One thought is that me and and my daughter felt really uncomfortable at breakfast. Even though there were lots of free tables we placed next to a couple, squeezed so close together our elbows could have touched! It felt really uncomfortable. There were about 50 tables, only about 10 groups of diners and we were shoved elbow to elbow together with 2 strangers in the corner! Some people like that 'getting to know the other guests' thing but my daughter and I found it hard to eat and had to leave as soon as we could. We're shy. Maybe people can request a more private table on booking during off-season visits?

Its great though, we love the elephant sitting room, as we call it, which is often empty being tucked away, over-looks the bay through a big window and has elephant ornaments. Its lovely and homely.

Breakfast staff were lovely, we were served by a polite, friendly, smiling young lady with blonde hair who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Food was hot and good quality. The porridge was amazing.

Our room and en-suite were clean, warm and comfortable with a good view and we got a good sleep with no noise disturbance from other guests. I get the impression they have a very local visitor base here, and were wonderful hosts to a large group of disabled guests that arrived.

This was our third visit, we always go out of season and I can't wait to come back. I just hope I get a bit more privacy while I eat breakfast next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyb71York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our advice is to stay clear. I am aware that it was 2 star hotel, but i am sure that that was starred some time ago. Food awful, no choice, service terrible, will be more selective booking coach tours again.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room 309, Separate WC was the let down of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but in response to your complaints, our menu at evening dinner and breakfast all have multiple choices so that complaint is very unjust and a lie. Your room was a sea view twin room and if the problem was that your toilet was seperate to your showe but still within your room then i apologise but we would of moved you rooms if was possible. Maybe you should be more selective by not paying budgett holiday prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Property: Delmont Hotel
Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing