We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Owner should try staying in one of her own rooms for the night(106 OR NUMBER6) as these are the rooms i can comment on, beds are so bad had to sleep with blankets folded underneath me and my coat over me during the night. The shower door hanging off in room 6 this hotel is really tired, We were led to believe there would be entertainment 1st night none 2nd night no one booked so the girl on duty managed to get someone last min, by the 3rd night people had found other places to go, so only a handfull of people left in hotel for rubbish entertainment.Positive side is food was better than expected.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
we are sorry you feel as strongly as you do about our hotel, we do ry our best to make your stay enjoyable but sometimes we just cannot win. wehave taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    137
    74
    51
    84
See reviews for
67
187
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit worried about staying in the Delmont. But we could not fault it. The food was very good and we will certainly be returning again. The staff were very helpful in every way.

Room Tip: we had room 107 which had a sea view and was large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
thankyou so much for lovely comments and managing to put things back in perspective. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again at the Delmont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay there, not through choice but as part of a Travelstyle tour.
Wanting to write a review I read through others first and that confirmed EXACTLY what I thought, the owner (apparently named Joy), is the rudest person I have come across in a long while, the woman takes every query as a direct insult and is very vocal in giving her response, my fellow travellers and I were herded to dinner seats, told exactly where to sit, e.g all together, not allowed to go near the window seats, think they were only for what she believes are 'proper guests', not us (made to feel inferior) coach trippers. We did as we were told and chose from a menu, I ordered the rather exotic sounding Hawaiian cocktail, turned out to be a small selection of TINNED fruit! The next thing was the steak & ale pie which was nice and to finish I left a burnt apple crumble/ custard offering. We were waiting for our fourth course (as stated in their leaflet) but when asked Joy went off on one immediately, stating it wasn't her fault but Travelstyle had only booked us 3 courses, Travelstyle brochure said 4, we had no choice but to accept that and so asked for our after dinner Tea & Coffee, she said yes...£1.50 for a cup of tea and £1.70 for a coffee!!!! I have NEVER known any hotel not to provide these free after a meal, damn cheek!
Reading her replies to others who dare criticise (see reviews dated 27&28/10/13 & 13/11/13) shows her disgusting attitude, how DARE the woman suggest paying customers should not use budget priced hotels, let me remind her, she's in a job where she should care ABOUT all her guests and be at least a bit courteous, noticed that she only responds to complaints on here, doesn't care at all to say thank you to those who had positive comments.
And it shouldn't matter if a hotel charges £1,000 or £20 a night, they are PAYING guests and courtesy costs NOTHING!
Breakfast herding to tables this morning was disgraceful, an older couple travelling with their daughter assisting them were actually split up and put on separate tables to keep all our tour together at the back, there were plenty of tables those 3 people could have sat together at and they were too polite (or embarrassed) to complain, Joy, you should be ASHAMED of yourself for that.

To conclude, this stay thankfully came to an earlier end than expected when our coach driver told us that the hotel was suddenly closing at 10.30 a.m for a few weeks, I hope if it does eventually reopen it is WITHOUT that woman, she is obviously in the wrong job and ruining the reputation of a hotel which although a little dated has some pleasant staff who do their very best to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

dirty, just filth. the carpet in our room was not even hovered, the bathroom was so dirty, years of grime ground into the grout, the flooring did not fit, the carpet in the bedroom was stained, the bed linen was torn the blanket I had to remove from the bed as it was too bad. the kettle went on and off on its own.
The only good thing about the hotel was the view. never ever have I stayed at such a dirty hotel.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nicola3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
thank you for sharing your thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked a last minute stay at the Delmont and had a few reservations after reading some of the reviews...i couldn't fault the place lovely big room with a stunning view over North Bay ...Breakfast was fab with a choice of cereals fruit and juice juice just help yourself... and a full english served to your table with tea or coffee...i would stay here again

Room Tip: Room 311 for a fab view one double bed and 2 singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
thank you for your lovely comments glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and myself have just returned home after spending 3 nights at this hotel, we found it warm and very welcoming, food was lovely, always hot, good choice and served promptly. We felt the staff to be very efficient and helpful. The room was small but adequate for our needs, it was clean, well heated and a nice comfy bed, We feel it was great value for money and well situated in the North Bay and would recommend this to friends and family. Thanks to all at the Delmont for a lovely time, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slats45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
thank you for your comments glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived home today following a 2 night stay at the Delmont. We only booked last week, so it was pretty much a last minute decision.
We arrived Friday evening and were given a key and told our room was on the second floor. The room was huge with a fantastic view, and was really warm.
However, the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired! The carpet was 'rippled' and didn't look like it had been hoovered. The window and ledges were covered in dust and the sofa in front of the window was ripped and had the stuffing falling out of the arms! The plastic shelf above the sink in the bathroom was absolutely filthy, as was the shower screen. A hand towel in the bathroom was hung on a rusty hanger.
The bedside lamps had tatty shades, and the blankets on the beds were inadequate and moth eaten!
We even had to leave a £10 deposit to obtain a remote control to use the tiny tv in the room.
On our first morning, the so called housekeepers were knocking at our door at 8.40, before we'd even gone down to breakfast!
Breakfast is served from 8.30-9.15am and the dining room is crowded. The tables are far too small for purpose and as I had my cup of tea in front of me (no where else to put it) I was handed my breakfast, on the plate, as there was no room to set it down!
On our first morning, we were given cold, burnt toast which we couldn't eat and looked like the remnants which other people had left. The waitresses were run ragged, but there was no apparent system, and people were served as and when they were noticed by the staff, rather than in any order. We had to ask for hot drinks to be brought to us.
We stayed because, as pointed out before, our card had already been charged before arrival.
When I checked out this morning, the man on reception said nothing to me, just handed me my £10 (deposit for tv remote) and then wandered off. Although Scarborough is lovely and worth the visit, I wouldn't want to stay at the Delmont again, and certainly couldn't recommend it.
I've read earlier reviews where apparently the hotel has undergone refurbishment?? It would be interesting to know where?
I think even the 'hotel inspector' would struggle here!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroli777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
we are saddened that you found your stay with us so distressing, and have taken your comments on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Property: Delmont Hotel
Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing