We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor standards!”
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for three nights here, rooms are very basic and dated not ideal for long stay! The food is terrible one night our table of 8 sent all food back undercooked!! The standard overall is very poor quality as for service could be improved! Would not recommend this hotel to anybody very disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Delmont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

the room was perfectly clean it took a long time too service but worth it the service was terrible one night it took 2 hours 15 minutes too have tea again i cant blame them i tried there best the beds were cosy and the food was not bad they have free wifi for buisness work trips they dont beat you up if you want extra coffee or milk and dont have blood stained sheets or vomit on the walls if you say this then you cant appreciate people best efforts

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed overnight at the. Delmont Hotel with my partner and son 3 yrs. The hotel is situated on the cliff top on the sea front. It is some distance from the main tourist area of Scarborough ie the harbour and amusements. Parking is on street for which you will have to purchase a permit from reception which is not expensive. The hotel has a comfortable lounge area and adequate bar service. We never ate at the hotel so can't comment. The hotel is very dated and would really benefit from an upgrade to rooms and common areas. The price I paid reflects this I think. There is a lift from reception area to floors which is convenient for elderly or disabled guests. I would not stay here again mainly due to the dated rooms, fixtures and fittings. I also don't believe that we were allocated the correct standard of room ie superior room. But it was hard to tell really and I never pressed the issue as we were only staying one night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

On reading past reviews I regretted booking this hotel but on arrival we were made to feel so welcome are room wasn't ready but we got a parking permit for £2.00 (cheap)for two days and went off for a walk with the dog ok the rooms are tired but they were clean and serviced every day if required breakfast and service were excellent all the staff we met were friendly and helpfull will defiantly return thank you

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Waaf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked a Saturday night in high season. Our room was clean and functional, although the fittings were tired. The staff on the desk were helpful about finding parking. At rack rate (£80) you are paying for location - which is central with sea view, rather than for the room standard. My guess is that this hotel is popular with package coach tourists, but its clients aren't business or probably individual travellers.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Whilst I always try to be objective and give a balanced review I can find nothing good to say about this hotel. My partner booked it via 'Booking.com' There it stated payment on booking and no refunds; it became obvious why. We knew it was a bit dated and our expectations were low but it was only for one night. We arrived just before one o'clock but weren't allowed to check in. On our way to our room, (205), we noticed the smell in the corridors; it wasn't just a damp, musty smell, it was a dirty smell too. Our room was, as a previous reviewer stated, grotty to say the least. The advertised sea view, for which we had paid a premium, was only visible through the side of the bay window. On complaining I was told that we had a sea view room not a premium sea view room. Don't trust the hotel's photo's! The carpet hadn't been vacuumed; the counterpane on the bed was dirty; there wasn't a duvet on the bed but a blanket! This blanket also had hairs and other unidentified fibres on it! At least the sheets were clean. The bathroom was dirty beyond belief. I could list all the faults but there's not enough room.
Hey ho! Maybe breakfast would be ok. We were not allowed in the dining room until 8.30 precisely, so we spent ten minutes standing around with all the other guests; (septugenarians and octogenarians on coach trips). The cereal/ fruit buffet had been laid out directly inside the front door and were totally uncovered! We were ushered to a table which was just a section of a long table seating about ten people. We were ignored by staff who chose to attend to those guests who they knew. We left without so much as a cup of coffee. The last time I stayed anywhere like this was in the 1970's. What a lovely warm and friendly welcome we had at the restaurant of the local Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Chilternprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJoy, Manager at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

This site is not used for constructive criticism it is for the moaners of the world to do what they do best as to the rest of our 9000+ holiday makers a year who enjoy their lives and holidays and have better things to do. Constructive criticism would be to talk to management while you are here not try to destroy a business that is doing very well on occupancy levels so it can't be as bad as you make out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived...warmly welcomed... staff are friendly and helpful.
However whole hotel needs updating and full refurb. 51 rooms or not....place isn't the greatest.
Oddly patch of paintwork missed in room 205...white rest of wall is magnolia!!! Weird!! Grotty bathroom shower cubical broken at the bottom. Dirty splash marks up walls...refused to use shower!!!
Housekeeping trying to come in at 8.30...really not a great experience when your still in bed!!!
Wouldn't go again...just read through other reviews can honestly say I agree with all neg comments. Unfortunately seems like management is very defensive...after seeing responses already wrote this will not change. Thought the purpose of these were constructive criticism....Unfortunately staff are working well...down to poor management yet again!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing