We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
103
171
98
69
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
171
98
69
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country music weekend north bay coach holiday coach party entertainment every night tea and coffee single bed great weekend lick of paint duty manager town centre short break couldn't do enough lovely room stayed for one night plenty of choice kev
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. We was given a tiny very dated room at the back of the hotel. The view from our room was a fire escape! The furniture was from the ‘80’s and extremely tired and dirty ! The tiny shower and toilet was old and the drains stunk of rotten eggs ! The lady on reception was run off her feet , one minute on reception then on the bar then in the dining room ! It was booked through Booking. Com and paid £90 , so not cheap . The photos on Booking.com are misleading and don’t show the room we was given . Sadly a very disappointing stay

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank angealina2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We had a very bad experience when staying at this hotel. When booking it stated we would have a sea view and a bath in the room. Upon arrival we got allocated a room it had a very small bathroom with shower and looked nothing like the pictures on the website. When we went to tell staff the gentleman was rather rude about the matter and told us that it was because we booked late we wasn't garuteed the room we booked and paid for. Despite showing him the booking confirmation stating there was a bath in the room. It's not very often I get angry or upset but this really did bother me as the only reason we booked was for the bath and it wasn't okay. The man did later come to our room and offer to swap it for us to the correct room type with a bath. The rooms are quite old fashioned and some of the furniture needs replacing as it's very tatty. The bar are is lovely but the downside is they don't take card payments. There is on street parking which you buy a permit from the hotel which is reasonabley priced, I would say if you go you need to get there early as it gets busy and you struggle to park but this is not the hotels fault. There is a good sea view and it's fairly well located. It was such a shame about how the staff spoke to us as its very off putting and I would not stay again. If the hotel had some money spent on it to improve the rooms and training to improve some staffs attitudes then it would be a nice place. We brought our parking voucher from lady member of staff who was very helpful but unfortunately we didn't see her again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Thegiggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We had booked a double room with a sea view and a bath.
The room was very small and nothing at all like the photos in the brochure and online. It was too small to be a double, it was up in the attic (originally staff quarters); the bed was queen-sized and was not level - the head end (no head board) was lower than the foot end.
There was no bath, only a cramped shower cubicle.
There was only one old hard uncomfortable worn out chair in the room, and nowhere to move it from where it stood next to the wardrobe.
We had to stand to see out of the dirty window; the view was along the coast over the rooftops of adjacent hotels, not out to sea.
The bedside lamps didn’t work, one had a broken switch with a sharp point.
The fan in the en suite was filthy, clogged up with dust and fluff.
The wardrobe door could not be opened because it fouled the wall mounted TV, while the chest of drawers inside the wardrobe could not be opened because they in turn fouled the wardrobe door.
The shelf over the sink meant it was hard to use the sink.
The toilet flush was ineffective and required several flushes each time it was used.
There was a wall mounted strip light and shaving point but no mirror.
There was no hairdryer although this was stated as being in the room: my fiancee was not the only guest present at breakfast with wet hair, so its probable that some if not most rooms did not to have a hairdryer provided.
The manager was rude and unhelpful on our arrival, and (with two notable exceptions) so were the staff.
The hotel has NO PARKING. All parking is on-street, regulated by short-term parking permits and is complete pot-luck. We had to drive round for some time before finally finding a parking space a considerable distance from the hotel. We then walked back to the hotel with our cases, when we were then able to purchase a parking permit (from the manager). We then had to walk back to the car to place the permit on the dashboard.
Staff were very unhelpful and seemed reluctant to admit the truth about the parking situation. We heard several guests asking about the parking facilities.
Breakfast on the first morning felt like a conveyor belt. The meal was obviously ready plated and kept warm. We weren’t even asked how we wanted our eggs cooked: we were given what was ready. "Chef's Extra" consisted of a slice of hard black pudding.
Breakfast on the second morning was total chaos, with guests waiting and staff running round like headless chickens. This was with the manager overseeing the meal service. Guests were ordering for other guests who they could see had been waiting longer than they had to be served. Food was lukewarm ("Chef's Extra" - one hash brown!) and coffee was weak and tasteless.
We cannot recommend the Delmont Hotel in any way.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughMatt, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, sadly i am restricted to the length of response i am allowed to give back so i can only address a few of your points but i would gladly like to address all these issues with you if you would like to contact myself instead of slandering the Hotel on the internet. Sadly we are not in control of the parking and like most of the Hotels in Scarborough we have to adhere to the council parking restrictions maybe you could put that on a review for them. I am sorry our breakfast of cereal and fruit, porridge,kippers and bacon,sausage,beans,tomato,egg,hash browns,black pudding was not satisfactory to you or how it was served as we do offer table service for all our meals instead of self service we find that has a more personal touch sorry this was not to you liking.
In regards your bath i am afraid you booked through a 3rd party booking engine and there are no guarantees of bath's or even a request of one for you so i am afraid we are not mind readers, the room you were in was not (originally staff quarters) this room is at the top of our Hotel, i fail to see how this is a problem as some of the best Hotel rooms in the world are at the top of Hotels. I feel i could go on with these complaints but clearly you were never going to enjoy your stay and i hope any possible future guest take note of the great reviews we have and not just the negative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

I assume built by the Victorians during the boom times of places like Scarborough for ordinary people to stay and enjoy times by the sea. Well times have certainly changed but this hotel still continues to function providing great value for money accommodation. So its a bit on the old fashioned side of traditional but full of character and characters.
My room was small and in need of a spruce up but was basically clean and comfortable. The public areas are also pretty good. Breakfast was pretty good with good service. Great location with view over the North Bay and 15min stroll into town. Fantastic friendly (local as far as I could tell) staff and great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughMatt, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is great to hear appreciation for what we try to do at The Delmont Hotel.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

had a nice short break .lovely room(109) nice sea view .lovely and clean. breakfast was good .the staff were very helpful and friendly .handy for town centre .all in all cant fault it. its very hilly all round scarborough so you need to be fit : )

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alanrose126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughMatt, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for these kind comments, i am pleased you enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished room. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews