We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it seems to be.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Booked to stay in one of their superior apartments - it looked nothing like the pictures we had seen displayed. Tired and in need of an update, plates not washed properly in cupboard and bathroom floor dirty, so not a very pleasant stay. The only good thing was that it was fairly close to the city centre via a bridge.
Will not be visiting again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AZak_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

good location.our room was nice (24) we booked on late rooms and hit was only £38.staf very helpful and friendly.we booked a double en suite but we had a bonus in that we had a kitchen as well.comfy bed looked as though this room had been modernsed recently.if i had a moan it was with the water pressure on the shower although it was red hot.would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

i have read some of the reviews on here and I decided to give it a try. I am glad I did it was well worth the money I paid, the room was clean and very well presented and the staff were very pleasant, i would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hey guys,
So the saying don't judge a book by it's cover is a saying you should keep in mind when arriving at this B&B self catering, it just needs a little paint job. However the customer service on arrival was just great, David and John were more then helpful. We payed extra for the sea views, which was money well spent, and so nice to wake up to, can't wait to retire here.
You get for what you pay for at this B&B, with a nice room and good facilities. The rooms are clean and ready to go, with most of them modernised.

P.s The parking spaces in Scarborough are well watched, so it is worth getting a parking spot at the Villa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXtranice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I took a weekend trip to Scarborough and booked a double room at the Villa Esplanade for me and my partner. It was great value for money, and the location was beautiful. I had a wonderful sea view over the beach and harbor, staff were very welcoming and accommodating. It had all the facilities we required and the room was very clean, I will definitely stop by The Villa Esplanade again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Don't know where 2 start really?
i went for 2 days with my husband and another couple. i paid 130.00 for a double room apartment with a SEA VIEW didn't get 1 only a brick wall when i looked out the place is filthy and couldn't get refund the shower was holding on to its dear life with black sticky tape its very dated with old dirty carpets,torn filthy wallpaper, a tv that had a massive hole in it,i paid an xtra 50.00 for seaview and when i asked for a refund i was told NO that the room was the best they had lol i've taken pictures absolutely disgusting, oh and then you have to pay for electricity??? and 8-50 to park in THEIR carpark...i would rather have slept on a park bench...seriously AVOID this smelly dated place at all costs ..its not even cheap so can't say you get what you pay for!!!

Room Tip: yes...book in the hotel further down road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexilicious72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

first impression from outside was a little disappointing and in need of painting but once we were in the apartment it was very clean and there was everything there should have been, a very nice weekend break and we've already booked to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,964 reviews
5.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments

Address: South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Esplanade self catering apartments are located on Scarborough's South Cliff, overlooking the beautiful south bay. The Villa Esplanade is a popular destination offering 30 self catering apartments, from apartments for 2 through to apartments that can sleep up to 8 guests. Several apartments also offer sea views.Only minutes from the town centre, The Villa provides the perfect base to explore Scarborough and the Yorkshire coast. The apartments are just 2 minutes walk from one the South Cliff cliff lift which provides easy access to The Spa complex and South Bay beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing