We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch this place!”

The Coachman Inn Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local procuce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Watch this place!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just a brief offering more of a compliment than anything. We have been going to Snainton for more years than we would like to think, even honeymoon was there and the Coachman has been visited more often than not. The changes have come and gone the promise not really fulfilled until!!

The new ‘custodians’ of this old coaching house are very appropriate, Kevin and his wife Anna, Kevin a trained chef with an eye for a ‘menu that excites’ a service level that is timely. Having fleeted around the world from Monaco ships, to Harrods, to Miami and garnered the knowledge of how to ‘tick the box’
The old reception room serving no purpose is now a snug for twenty or so to eat, in a quieter setting than the joyful and happy bar setting where most talk to you even as a non-local. Talking of locals on our third night I was greeted with a warm and hearty handshake by Kevin, a nice touch and one that will be repeated on our next visit. If your chosen choice of food is either hurried or 2 for a fiver, then this is not your place, but plans are afoot and I cannot wait for our next visit to see the delivery of ‘The Master Plan’
With their vision they deserve to succeed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanyk you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at The Coachmann. Its such a delight to have wonderful guests who appreciate what we are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kev and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    42
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AT LAST a sunday lunch with RARE BEEF!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Ate here today. . . . never intended this to be our Sun Lunch destination, was recommended by a friend. Apparently its recently changed hands and was worth a visit. THEY WERE RIGHT!!! Its a simple sun lunch menu a choice of 2 meats, a fish and veggie option. . . . . we all went for the beef - three kids size and 1 adult. . . . . OVER THE MOON to have the beef served deep pink!!!! and not cooked to death - love a bit of meat with the life left in it.. . . . . asked for horseradish sauce - given a tiny little pot of it - but don't worry it was strong enough to make your nose run. The veggies were delish - I could've eaten waaaay more but the husband pointed out that my 'portion control' is not what it used to be - I loved the deep green cabbage leaves and the cauli cheese was awesome. Yorkshire puddings got the mega seal of approval from my small boy. . . . . usually my kids are v v v fussy eaters, but the boy and girl ate all of it - the yourkshires, the gravy, the meat and a carrot each. . . . If my kids will eat the same kind of food I like, its 10 out of 10 from me. . . .will defo want to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gastrowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you and your family enjoyed Sunday lunch. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Anna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great start for new owners”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We called in last night for a meal (6 of us) the ambiance was superb and the staff (the owner was our server) were great and very helpful. The Exec. chef is the joint owner and he took time to explain what we were going to eat. The food was superb, tasty and cooked to perfection. If it carries on like this it will be a great success.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide some feedback. Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Anna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing Change”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is now under a new manager who is also the chef and it is long awaited for. I have eaten here four times as the food is creative and scrumptious. There is a good varied selection and the menu changes from one week to another. The pea and ham soup starter is a must as well as the scotch egg these sound very basic but the taste and imagination gone into these are superb. You must try the Ox Cheek and Tongue meal as well as the Ox tail on colcannon, very nice. You must must try the local steaks that will get them taste buds revived. Lots of other delights using locally grown produce. There is a restaurant room in the back which is a bit chintzy and needs updating and the pub bar needs a coat of paint but remember these new owners have only just moved in. The staff and the chef are very friendly and the atmosphere is great in here. You have got to try this it is the best for miles around in this area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for your super feedback. Glad you enjoyed the food. The Scotch Egg is one of my favorites too. Hope to see you soon, Kind regards Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Yorks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Not having visited The Coachman since before Christmas
we noticed some changes on arrival. The lounge area was gone and dining tables -all occupied - filled the space.We were shown to our table in the main restaurant -the last remaining one.There was a lovely buzzy atmosphere. Drinks & menus were quickly brought .
The menu offered what appeared to be usual pub grub.
The reality was very different Excellent ingredients imaginatively served.Perfectly timed Hake was impressive. A good well-priced wine list added to the experience.Several tables were relaid as diners left.
The new owners have achieved a great dealcin a short time.They take the time to speak with all their guests. They are very committed & deserve to do well.
We shall certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Kev and Anna Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coachman Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Coachman Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing