We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a pleasant visit!! RECOMMEND!!”
Review of North Sands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Sands Lodge
Ranked #111 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant visit!! RECOMMEND!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were a young couple that decided to take a trip to Scarborough for the night and we were exceptionally lucky to find this lodge! Absolutely amazing landlady, couldn't do anymore for you! The parking is a bit tricky but we were given a permit by her to use so we could park around the corner. No breakfast is put on although there is a kitchenette and cereals for you to use, there is a cafe literally a few doors down that offer 10% off the bill due to being a guest of the lodge. Free wifi which is always a plus nowadays overall a fantastic night away for us!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one night over the weekend. Lovely Owner. Very friendly and helpful. Said we could help ourselves to cereal etc in the morning, or we were given a 10% off voucher for a cafe on the corner.

Very clean, comfortable. Would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have just returned home after twelve very happy days at North Sands Lodge.

The room was immaculate and comfortable with the communal lounge a useful bonus. Marianne was as friendly, businesslike and helpful as other reviewers have said and clearly cares that her guests enjoy their stay.

The location worked well for me too, Parking was never a problem (not always the case in Scarborough). An excellent cafe and friendly newsagent just yards away were another bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Excellent location. Great friendly service and the room was a decent size. This establishment is not a B and B and does not provide any meals. What it does provide though, is a place to cook with hobs, oven and microwave available. There is also a place to sit down and eat as a family. There is also a little cafe at the end of the street that is great value for money offering big portions, great prices and good quality of food. If you stay at this cafe, you get a 10% off voucher for the cafe as well.

Well worth a visit. There

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in July! We couldn't fault anything with the hotel. Rooms were clean and the manager was very welcoming and easy going. Also very helpful. The location was a 5 minute walk from the beach. Was very easy to get too. Would defiantly come return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for the night earlier this week. Lovely owner; very friendly and helpful. Very clean room and ensuite. Noisy seagulls, but fine if you close the window! You could make your own food or bring in a takeaway to eat in the large communal kitchen, but there's a nice cafe two doors down. It's very close to lots of restaurants. Cricket ground just down the road. easy walking to both South and North Bay areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireCountrylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in june 2013, room was clean and comfortable,
The owner was very welcoming and helpful, the location was perfect and close to all amenities,
we will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#79 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#57 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#33 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#98 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#135 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sands Lodge

Property: North Sands Lodge
Address: 162 North Marine Road, Scarborough YO12 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your North Sands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing