We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountview
Ranked #56 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here August bank holiday, it was a last minute weekend away with the children 10 and 6 before they returned to school, we were not disappointed, the family room was excellent very clean and the beds were very comfy. Breakfast was very very good, you could basically choose what you wanted, we had a full english breakfast one day, beans on toast another, nothing seemed to much trouble for the lovely couple that run it. Its in close proximity to the spa and other amenities. We go to Scarborough, Whitby most years and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
62
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A warm welcome greeted us from the proprietors which set off our short stay in a relaxed manner. Once arrived there was no need for us to use the car and we enjoyed exploring the town and coastline. A hearty breakfast set us up each day. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to all our family and friends and hope to return too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Found this hotel on the internet, spent the weekend Christmas shopping in Scarborough. Very close to everything. Bedroom very comfy and clean. Breakfast was exceptional, full english was well presented, hot and freshly cooked. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Couldnt fault a thing. Will be coming back soon! :) ma

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madmelissa256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

we spent a lovely weekend here , graham and michele really looked after us ,the breakfast was outstanding we could hardly move afterwards. great accomadation ,near to the spa and a short walk into town. would recommend this and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

this b n b is excellent its just round the corner from the beach the staff graham and michelle were AMAZING !!!!!!!!!! the food was EXCELLENT graham made some cds i really recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: if i was you i would book room 6 this room is on the top floor therefore it is the quietest room, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

returning to this b&b for the second time, which has been as enjoyable as the first. we were made very welcome and the accomodation is of a high standard.no request is a problem.looking forward to october 2012 when hopefully we will be staying for a third time. i have no hesitation in recommending this establishment .

Room Tip: room 9 very cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Me and my mother have just returned home from a 4 day break at the Mountview and it was lovely. The room was clean and decorated really nice and the owners were very friendly. The food was nice and we were only round the corner from the esplanade with a wonderful view of the sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1963sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#45 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#28 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#19 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing