We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mountview
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$233
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$208
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
101
20
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
20
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bground floor roomtown centreclean roomslovely walkbreakfast was excellentcooked to perfectionset you up for the daypoached eggsstay there againfriendly hostswe've stayedfull englishnice roomfresh fruitfantastic stayon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Over a number of visits in the last ten years I have found Graham and Michelle to provide a warm friendly welcome without being fussy. The bedrooms are well decorated, spotless with comfortable beds. There are great choices for breakfast including the full English which sets you up for the day. There are several scenic walks to the town centre, Spa, seafront and harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My niece arrived from New Zealand and we wanted to stay locally so as to see the sites that Scarbough and Whitby had to offer. We booked into the The Mount View and I have to say Graham and Michelle were most welcoming. The rooms were lovely and clean and very pretty. Great breakfast and very happy with everything. It is in easy walk of the town and beach. Easy to get to Whitby and we went on the bus. We had a really good time. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now. Thank you. Sue and Catherine (Catherine from New Zealand).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Graham and Michelle are welcoming people. They make you feel at ease in their clean, spacious and warm accomodation. The rooms are clean and tidy, with free access to a comfy day room which is handy if the weather is bad. The breakfasts are spot on and you dont leave hungry. You are free to come and go and are only a few minutes walk away from the Italian gardens overlooking the coastline, with access to the beach nearby. Parking is on street and free. Well recommended for a stress free stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrismills321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We booked this at very short notice, having been let down by our original hotel. Graham and Michelle could not have been more welcoming. We stayed for 3 nights and loved our room, it was clean, cosy and warm, as is the hotel. The location is great, any easy walk to the town either via the Esplanade or over the bridge, so restaurants etc are within easy reach. The breakfasts were good and plentiful. On road parking was not a problem, we always found a space close by. We would go back if we were going to Scarborough and would recommend The Mountview.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My parents booked a short break at The Mountview Hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. My mother rang to speak to the owners, as she wanted to be sure that she would get a ground floor room, as my father is disabled and is recovering from arecently broken leg.
My mother explained the situation when she booked, and was told that there were ground floor rooms. However, when they got there the room was out of the hotel, down some steep steps and into a side street. There were also steps into the room, which, although a family room, was very difficult to negotiate for someone in a wheelchair. My brother was also staying in a separrate room.

My family found the breakfast laughable, as they had one tiny pot of marmalade for the three of them. The scrambled egg my mother had was tiny, on one half slice of toast! Not really a hearty breakfast. Neither of my parents have huge appetites, but they both said that this was a very disappointing stay and they would not be going back. In future the owners should state that the ground floor rooms, are actually outside of the building and down stairs, so that people can at least be prepared. My family will not be going back and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah50td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

We are sorry your family was disappointed with their stay at The Mountview. However in response to your comments, AT NO TIME did your family contact us prior to them booking ON-LINE to inform us of any mobility problems your father had. Indeed your mother admitted on arrival that she had made a mistake by booking a second floor room for herself and her husband and the ground floor room for her son. Fortunately we were able to accommodate her error by offering them our much larger family room at no extra cost to them. In addition we offered to take breakfast down to your father's room. If guests book with us over the phone, we always explain about the ground floor rooms. Also our website has an access statement for people with disabilities. With regards to breakfast, no guests are given " one half slice of toast with tiny portions" unless they specifically ask for it. Nobody leaves The Mountview hungry, as our other reviews confirm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews