We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Scarborough”
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountview
Ranked #64 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enjoyable stay in Scarborough”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at a lovely B&B in Scarborough. Graham & Michele made us feel very welcome. The service was excellent and we had a very enjoyable stay. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and it was all presented to a high standard. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. It was a short walk into the town centre and there were a lot of pubs/restaurants close by to enjoy. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
68
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My Aunt and I stayed at the Mountview for 3 days in July. I cannot find fault at all with the rooms or service at The Mountview. We occupied the two rooms on the top floor. One room had 2 single beds and a walk-in shower while the other room had a double and single bed and a bathtub with no shower. The rooms were immaculate, extremely comfortable and serviced with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms were up to date, a very good size and extremely clean. We enjoyed every night we spent there and wished it was longer.

When we arrived, extremely tired from a six hour journey, we were warmly greeted by Michele and offered tea and home made fruit cake. Just what we needed! Michele made us feel very comfortable. Our breakfast in the morning was generous and varied. We were able to choose from a variety of items including a 'full' English breakfast. Everything was fresh and of good quality. Homemade marmalade was the best!

Thank you to Michele and Graham for a very enjoyable stay. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a pleasurable experience we had at the mountview hotel. Such a lovely warm welcome. The room impeccably clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and beautifully cooked. We had a varied menu of our choice and it was a meal to look forward to. Our hosts seemed very professional and I would certainly recommend this hotel 10/10

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

me and jeff have stayed in the mountview a few time,s , it is a very clean and friendly b.b. the poached egg,s are the best ever. michelle and graham are very friendly, no fuss and no rush.this was the first time we have took the mother inlaw away with us, she loved it, she didnt want to leave the mountview lol, we had to say it was fully booked . i would recommend it to everyone. YES we will be goig back. thank you graham and michelle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsmith1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Michelle and Graham were excellent hosts, very friendly and served up excellent food in a spotlessly clean environment. Plenty of choices available at breakfast time and our room was very tidy, very clean and very comfortable. If we came to Scarborough again, we would definitely stay at the Mountview with Michelle and Graham.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithThompson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Over a number of visits in the last ten years I have found Graham and Michelle to provide a warm friendly welcome without being fussy. The bedrooms are well decorated, spotless with comfortable beds. There are great choices for breakfast including the full English which sets you up for the day. There are several scenic walks to the town centre, Spa, seafront and harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My niece arrived from New Zealand and we wanted to stay locally so as to see the sites that Scarbough and Whitby had to offer. We booked into the The Mount View and I have to say Graham and Michelle were most welcoming. The rooms were lovely and clean and very pretty. Great breakfast and very happy with everything. It is in easy walk of the town and beach. Easy to get to Whitby and we went on the bus. We had a really good time. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now. Thank you. Sue and Catherine (Catherine from New Zealand).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 184 in Scarborough
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#24 of 184 in Scarborough
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#16 of 184 in Scarborough
387 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Croft
The Croft
#59 of 184 in Scarborough
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountview is a family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy. Two of our 8 bedrooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to three people and ideal for families. We are unable to accommodate children under 7 years old, stag and hen parties. Our excellent location means we are close to the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa complex, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian gardens. Or perhaps stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names. The Mountview is close to Oliver’s Mount, South Cliff Golf Course and the Scarborough / Coventry University. The town centre is a 15 minute walk or there is a regular bus service nearby. There is ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing