We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of the best”
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountview
Ranked #65 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“best of the best”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a weekend away here , excellent breakfast and rooms , scolding hot water straight away running the bath , very comfy beds , treated like a star at all times , wouldn't hesitate to go there again. Well done to the owners , no wonder they won 2013 TripAdvisor excellence award.
Only thing they could improve on would be better quality tea bags and coffee in the rooms , other than that there more than five star in my books.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfisher79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
62
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Excellent breakfast and a really good welcome and service. But our room, no 5 would benefit from a little updating. We appreciated the fact that the heating was on as it was a bit chilly after our day at the races, for which this hotel is in an excellent location..no need to ride up there as you can walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trophyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our second stay at The Mountview and yet again, Graham & Michelle couldn't do enough for us to make our stay so wonderful. The room is lovely, Graham & Michelle are lovely, the breakfast is lovely and I never need to have lunch, I'm always so stuffed! My son (who is 11) does not want to stay anywhere else or in any other room! He calls Room 6 our room :)

Its like a home from home, our room is lovely, clean, fresh and newly decorated since our last visit which was a lovely surprise. We thought the room was lovely last year!

All we can say is if you go to Scarborough, make sure you stay at The Mountview because you won't regret it!!!

Room Tip: My son loves 'our' room which is Room 6 and I always sleep well which is a breath of fresh a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at a lovely B&B in Scarborough. Graham & Michele made us feel very welcome. The service was excellent and we had a very enjoyable stay. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and it was all presented to a high standard. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. It was a short walk into the town centre and there were a lot of pubs/restaurants close by to enjoy. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My Aunt and I stayed at the Mountview for 3 days in July. I cannot find fault at all with the rooms or service at The Mountview. We occupied the two rooms on the top floor. One room had 2 single beds and a walk-in shower while the other room had a double and single bed and a bathtub with no shower. The rooms were immaculate, extremely comfortable and serviced with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms were up to date, a very good size and extremely clean. We enjoyed every night we spent there and wished it was longer.

When we arrived, extremely tired from a six hour journey, we were warmly greeted by Michele and offered tea and home made fruit cake. Just what we needed! Michele made us feel very comfortable. Our breakfast in the morning was generous and varied. We were able to choose from a variety of items including a 'full' English breakfast. Everything was fresh and of good quality. Homemade marmalade was the best!

Thank you to Michele and Graham for a very enjoyable stay. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a pleasurable experience we had at the mountview hotel. Such a lovely warm welcome. The room impeccably clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and beautifully cooked. We had a varied menu of our choice and it was a meal to look forward to. Our hosts seemed very professional and I would certainly recommend this hotel 10/10

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

me and jeff have stayed in the mountview a few time,s , it is a very clean and friendly b.b. the poached egg,s are the best ever. michelle and graham are very friendly, no fuss and no rush.this was the first time we have took the mother inlaw away with us, she loved it, she didnt want to leave the mountview lol, we had to say it was fully booked . i would recommend it to everyone. YES we will be goig back. thank you graham and michelle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsmith1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#56 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing