We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“christine and Ian last minute booking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountview
Ranked #55 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“christine and Ian last minute booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked to stay at mountview sat at 8.30 last minute booking,arrived at 11.30 to a warm welcome. pleased to enjoy a quiet break even though all rooms reserved did not hear any noise from other guests. Room was clean and airy. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. would return again to this hotel. thank you to michele.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks Christine, we are so glad everything was what you wanted for a great stay,
Thanks Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
62
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

A lovely warm welcome from the Scarborough fog. The room was a little small for a double but perfectly suitable for single occupancy. My bathroom was along the corridor but this wasn't a problem with a toilet and washbasin in the room. The full English breakfast was generally excellent and a perfect start to the day. Michelle was very helpful in proving directions which were certainly necessary as map reading in the mist isn't easy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for such kind words Geoffrey, it's nice to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Thanks Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were weclomed in from the fog and rain with a hot drink and cake. Michelle sat with us and took the time to explain the local area and provide us with a map. The guest house is character and inkeeping with Scarborough. Our room was well maintained and very comfortable. The only downside I can think of is the bath there was no shower attachment so washing hair was a little troublesome! The bed was very comfy and I found our room peaceful which allowed for a good night sleep. The breakfast service was excellent food was perfectly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. This lovely place is value for money, my husband and I would recommend. We hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heartwingsvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Victoria, thanks for the review. Glad you had a nice time staying with us, we will look into getting a shower attachment. Thanks again
Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Because my trip was paid for by someone else I cannot say much about the price-performance ratio. What I can say, however, is that Michelle is the most lovely host and she really cared for me and my companions - on a first-name basis, and with much attention. The rooms were very clean, well-kept and quiet, the kingsize bed in room nr9 amazing (for a student) and the breakfast was good. I would stay again anytime. Also, both town centre and beach are pretty close, and Michelle is very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aenne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you Aenne, it was a pleasure having you all stay. Hope you can stay next year thanks again Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent place to stay again. Graham and Michelle friendly as always and nothing is to much. Room was just what we needed and lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious Grahams a full English breakfast wizard. Definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a weekend away here , excellent breakfast and rooms , scolding hot water straight away running the bath , very comfy beds , treated like a star at all times , wouldn't hesitate to go there again. Well done to the owners , no wonder they won 2013 TripAdvisor excellence award.
Only thing they could improve on would be better quality tea bags and coffee in the rooms , other than that there more than five star in my books.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfisher79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Excellent breakfast and a really good welcome and service. But our room, no 5 would benefit from a little updating. We appreciated the fact that the heating was on as it was a bit chilly after our day at the races, for which this hotel is in an excellent location..no need to ride up there as you can walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trophyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#28 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#53 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#46 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing