We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Comfortable But Don't Lose Your Keys”
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountview
Ranked #65 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable But Don't Lose Your Keys”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here Fri 11/07 & Sat 12/07 when we went to see Quo at Scarborough Open Air Theatre.
Both had twin rooms and both were pleasant, clean and comfortable.
Nice breakfast and the owner Michelle is very accommodating.
I lost my keys, went to the car with them Saturday morning and when I returned they had mysteriously disappeared - £40.00 to replace...ouch!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the lost keys we have had to previously replace our door locks with high security locks, after a guest decided to take it upon himself to go and get a spare key cut! Unfortunately any spare keys are very expensive to replace. We hope this explains why we charge £40.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
62
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a really enjoyable visit and our hosts made us very welcome. Ideally situated for Scarborough town centre and sea front (both a short walk away. Great breakfast and comfortable, clean rooms. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Really good value for money. A friendly welcome. Room provided all the usual amenities of a traditional seaside Bed and Breakfast, was clean and comfortable. Especially good breakfast. Just a short walk to the seafront in a pleasant location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks Denise, we like to know when our guests have a lovely weekend, it makes us feel like we are doing the right things.

Thanks Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked to stay at mountview sat at 8.30 last minute booking,arrived at 11.30 to a warm welcome. pleased to enjoy a quiet break even though all rooms reserved did not hear any noise from other guests. Room was clean and airy. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. would return again to this hotel. thank you to michele.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks Christine, we are so glad everything was what you wanted for a great stay,
Thanks Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A lovely warm welcome from the Scarborough fog. The room was a little small for a double but perfectly suitable for single occupancy. My bathroom was along the corridor but this wasn't a problem with a toilet and washbasin in the room. The full English breakfast was generally excellent and a perfect start to the day. Michelle was very helpful in proving directions which were certainly necessary as map reading in the mist isn't easy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for such kind words Geoffrey, it's nice to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Thanks Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were weclomed in from the fog and rain with a hot drink and cake. Michelle sat with us and took the time to explain the local area and provide us with a map. The guest house is character and inkeeping with Scarborough. Our room was well maintained and very comfortable. The only downside I can think of is the bath there was no shower attachment so washing hair was a little troublesome! The bed was very comfy and I found our room peaceful which allowed for a good night sleep. The breakfast service was excellent food was perfectly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. This lovely place is value for money, my husband and I would recommend. We hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heartwingsvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Victoria, thanks for the review. Glad you had a nice time staying with us, we will look into getting a shower attachment. Thanks again
Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Because my trip was paid for by someone else I cannot say much about the price-performance ratio. What I can say, however, is that Michelle is the most lovely host and she really cared for me and my companions - on a first-name basis, and with much attention. The rooms were very clean, well-kept and quiet, the kingsize bed in room nr9 amazing (for a student) and the breakfast was good. I would stay again anytime. Also, both town centre and beach are pretty close, and Michelle is very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aenne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you Aenne, it was a pleasure having you all stay. Hope you can stay next year thanks again Graham & Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#55 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing