We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pete & Jan's review”
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountview
Ranked #65 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lovely reception on arrival, made to feel very welcome. Clean room, well stocked with toiletries/towels/tea making facilities.
The breakfast was "to die for", service was fast and nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you both and congratulations to Graham on his 1st double yolk!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are available with their own front door, ideal for guests who arrive late or like to vent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Worthy of high recommendation! Spotlessly clean, comforable bed, and splendid breakfasts. Stayed 6 nights.Close to theSpa for the concerts I attended daily. Free on road parking. Other guests had stayed many times previously and spoke of their appreciation of Mountview. Thank you Michele and Graham, for your thoughtfulness, a pleasure to meet you.

Room Tip: Room 1 was ideal for me.Spacious, with shower room. I was fortunate to have good weather throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to meet other guests who were staying with us for the Spa Orchestra. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again when you are next in Scarborough.
Kind Regards, Graham and Michele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to book a late weekend away and did not hesitate to stay at The Mountview Hotel in Scarborough again. Wonderful breakfast, clean room, and we were made to feel very welcome. It is a pleasure to stay there and we would highly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner, myself and my grand-daughter stayed there recently. Our room was very nice and Michelle made us feel at home. My grand-daughter is sometimes a bit picky at breakfast, but again Michelle made a suggestion for her to try something different and we were delighted that she ate everything. We came back early both nights as we have a very energetic girl who is up so early that by 7.30 she is ready for bed. No problems with noise and as this is our first holiday with her, we were so pleased that she felt settled and comfortable during her stay. We would definitely recommend a stay here. Short walk into town centre and the seaside. Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosalind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Rosalind
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you and your granddaughter had a great holiday in Scarborough and that you all enjoyed your stay at The Mountview. Hope you are able to visit again in the future.
Kind Regards
Graham and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here Fri 11/07 & Sat 12/07 when we went to see Quo at Scarborough Open Air Theatre.
Both had twin rooms and both were pleasant, clean and comfortable.
Nice breakfast and the owner Michelle is very accommodating.
I lost my keys, went to the car with them Saturday morning and when I returned they had mysteriously disappeared - £40.00 to replace...ouch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the lost keys we have had to previously replace our door locks with high security locks, after a guest decided to take it upon himself to go and get a spare key cut! Unfortunately any spare keys are very expensive to replace. We hope this explains why we charge £40.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a really enjoyable visit and our hosts made us very welcome. Ideally situated for Scarborough town centre and sea front (both a short walk away. Great breakfast and comfortable, clean rooms. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Really good value for money. A friendly welcome. Room provided all the usual amenities of a traditional seaside Bed and Breakfast, was clean and comfortable. Especially good breakfast. Just a short walk to the seafront in a pleasant location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Manager at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks Denise, we like to know when our guests have a lovely weekend, it makes us feel like we are doing the right things.

Thanks Graham & Michele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#51 of 183 in Scarborough
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
169 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £57 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountview is a family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy. Two of our 8 bedrooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to three people and ideal for families. We are unable to accommodate children under 7 years old, stag and hen parties. Our excellent location means we are close to the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa complex, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian gardens. Or perhaps stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names. The Mountview is close to Oliver’s Mount, South Cliff Golf Course and the Scarborough / Coventry University. The town centre is a 15 minute walk or there is a regular bus service nearby. There is ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing