We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
104
20
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
20
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ground floor room road parking feel very welcome clean rooms scarborough town centre we've stayed friendly hosts excellent location two nights weekend break graham cliffs granddaughter fi
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Moutview. We managed to get parked with in a 100 yards of the hotel, Met on arrival by the host who was very welcoming. We were shown to our room that was compact but clean and comfortable with a good ensuite. Breakfast was very good and fresh milk available for your drinks in your room. The hosts Graham and Michelle were excellent .when I left the Mountview on our first day to go into town I was able to move the car right outside the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borochesney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your short break with us over the Bank Holiday. If you would like to stay with us in the future, contacting us direct will often be a cheaper option
Kind Regards
Graham and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at the mountview. The welcome was very friendly, the room was spotless, the building in general was very clean and looked after, breakfast had lots of choices and was cooked to perfection , We will definitely be returning very soon !

Rachael and john

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you both for choosing to stay with us for your short break and for your lovely comments. Hope to see you both in the future.
Kind Regards
Graham and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic couple of days break , very clear and friendly , great value for you for money , location was very good not to far from town easy access to beach front . Would highly recommend !! Well done Michelle !! .

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Hi Tania
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments. Glad you all enjoyed your New Year stay with us in Scarborough despite the weather! Hope to see you again in the future
Kind Regards
Michele and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

On arrival we managed to park outside the property and were greeted by the gentleman who was very welcoming. The room itself was on the first floor. It was a very small double leaving little room to move. The bedding was clean but the carpet was not. The sink in the bedroom had a curtain running around the bottom. The TV was tiny. We did not have a wardrobe but a curtain covering the hanging space which wasn't really a problem. However, what I personally found to be a major problem was the fact that the small toilet and shower room did not have a sink! When we explained this to the lady owner the next day( as we had decided to cut our weekend short) and leave she kept telling me this was on the internet and it is important to read it. Have to say looked when we came home and couldn't find it! She just didn't get the concept of how wrong this was and kept saying some people prefer this, really?? Well as I kept saying I'm sorry but its a massive no no to not be able to wash your hands before leaving the bathroom. To be touching light cords, door handles etc after just leaving the toilet is wrong in every way. I explained that I had been little under the weather all week so I'm afraid basic hygiene I feel is extremely important! Breakfast was very poor. I ordered two poached eggs on brown toast which were well cooked and served on granary toast with no butter on, unusual. I appreciate we only paid £125 for 2 nights at New Year but we have stayed in other guest houses offering a much better quality room for the same price.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is, however unfortunate that you did not mention on checking into your room that you had such an issue with its layout rather than waiting till the next day to tell us. We could have offered you a different room. We are surprised at your comment on " no butter on the toast" because that was not the case and extra butter is always put on each table if required. We can appreciate that perhaps if you didn't feel well this would not have helped your enjoyment of the weekend.
Regards
Graham and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

An ideal B&B for couples or families. Lovely clean rooms and really good breakfasts to set you up for the day. A lovely walk along the top to the town centre added to the attraction of the place. All information about the town and local attractions just by asking.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews