We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant afternoon”
Review of Pesky Husky

Pesky Husky
Ranked #23 of 82 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated between Scarborough and Whitby in the North York Moors National Park, Pesky Husky is a unique experience for any visitor. A family-run business with over 30 years of experience of the breed, Pesky Husky was set up in 2007, when our aims were to provide a centre where people could learn about the amazing qualities of the oldest breed on the planet, and how they are simply like no other dog. We also aim to provide a loving home for our dogs throughout their whole lives (having rescued about a third of our pack from unsuitable homes), by giving them the opportunity to do what Huskies are supposed to do- run! With 30 sled dogs for you to meet, we provide a range of exciting experiences, including Husky Trekking; a sport which gives you the opportunity to drive your own team of dogs on a two wheeled scooter around our purpose built trekking course, with its two exciting down-hills. For those who want a more relaxed session we can tailor your session to suit your individual abilities.Pesky Husky also offers Husky Hiking all year round; a walk with the dogs through the open countryside, using specialist belts and equipment specifically designed for sled dogs. A fun and unique activity, this is perfect for families with children, walking groups, or anyone who wants to meet and spend some quality time with these amazing animals! We also offer combined sessions of Trekking and hiking for the complete Husky experience.These activities all include a full kennel visit, instruction, and equipment, and are available all year round, 7 days a week. We also do various other activities- from children’s parties to kennel visits, meaning there really is something for everybody! Prices start at £15 and we can provide gift vouchers as well as bookings. Please ring for availability and details.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant afternoon”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Pesky Husky. Everyone was so welcoming from the outset. Firstly we got to meet all the dogs. We were really impressed with how passionate and knowledgeable Debs were about the dogs. The trek itself was a right laugh this was helped along the Debs and the team were a hoot. I would recommend this activity to everyone

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HowayPetMarkOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    6
    2
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“HUSKY HEAVEN”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nineteen Gorgeous dogs gave us a fantastic welcome during our Kennel visit, as did Debbie who shared with us her wealth of knowledge and experience owning and working with these amazing animals. This lady truly loves her Huskies, not in a sentimental way, but with tremendous empathy for the breed. A really inspiring and interesting visit. If you want to see happy, intelligent and fulfilled dogs doing what they do best then Pesky Husky is a must.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super big fun!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went to Pesky Husky on 20/10/13 as a birthday treat, and what a great way to spend the afternoon! We were greeted by Debbie who was friendly and enthusiastic. Our afternoon started with a tour of the kennels and meeting all the dogs.Debbie told us about the breed in general and then about her individual dogs.
After meeting the dogs Debbie took us on a track walk and explained how to use the scooter and control the dogs and we had a go a using the scooters without the dogs.
Then really fun part! Round the track with the dogs. Our Pesky Husky teams were Biscuit and AK, and Diesel and Nuuk. The dogs were brilliant and loved running the track. We had a blast but this is an active sport so the fitter you are the better. After our two runs each around the track we were shattered but very happy. So a big thank you to Debbie and all the team at Pesky Husky for a brilliant afternoon. Special thanks to Biscuit, AK, Diesel and Nuuk for a very memorable birthday. We'll be booking again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RikandVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Debbie was a great host and really made the experience worthwhile. There were over 30 beautiful huskies that we visited and learned about. We then took six of them to the brand new course that's been built - with a steep hill to get going! The sledding was tremendous fun - though tiring! I would love to go again.
The only thing I would say is be ready to really go for it. If you're shy and hold back, you won't enjoy it half as much. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TessBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apperley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had been really excited about this for the several months leading up to it, but I have to say I was a little disappointed unfortunately.

Debbie was really helpful as we had to re-arrange our first date due to the weather. Unfortunately it had been snowing a little when we actually went.

The kennel visit was really good - the dogs we're gorgeous and so cute. It was interesting learning all about them and seeing the puppies.

However, the actual husky sledging wasn't quite what I expected. Only one trip round the small circuit seemed like not much for the money it cost, but against other 'Adventure Activities' it is probably reasonably priced. Overall, whilst it is definitely something different to do for an afternoon, I would probably look to save my money for husky sledging on snow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 2wreckless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesky Husky also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Pesky Husky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing