We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room
Ranked #126 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Returned from a long weekend at the Ivy House. Stunning location, the room and view quite fabulous. Breakfast to die for and the restaurant had a great menu and was good value for money. The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble and they always stopped by to say hello and ask how our break was going. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, fish and chips are excellent, great coffee, puddings are excellent, small dog on lead was welcome. Portions are excellent , teenage kids were happy.
Would have had 5 stars if service was done with a smile and bit more forthcoming.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just come back from a one night stay in the Captain Barbosa Suite. Very clean suite, very comfy four poster bed good views across the harbour, all you could want in the rooms. Staff very helpful and polite, great location. Breakfast very tasty and not rushed. All in all a great stay would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just got back from a fantastic weekend in Scarborough. This was made all the more special having booked into a fabulous room at the Ivy House. We booked into the aptly named Barbosa Suite. Stunning views across the harbour, comfiest 4 poster bed i ever slept in, and the staff were very attentive and friendly.
Breakfast though basic, was ample, and we were not rushed, and just allowed to take our time and chill out.
All in all, a great nights stay.

Thank you Ivy House.

Room Tip: The view from the Barbosa suite is picture perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location for this superbly furnished and spacious b and b. Excellent views of the harbour, I could of stayed in the room all day just people watching. Breakfast was ample and parking was was good as there a public car park a minutes walk away to the rear of the property

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from our Saturday overnight stay at the Ivy. We found this B&B really nice & would definately stay again. We stayed in the Elisabeth Swan room which was quite spacious even though we had a travel cot in there as well. The only thing I would pull our room on, is that I had to plug our phone in which meant moving a unit a little bit. When I looked down it was dusty & unclean which put me about a little as surface cleaning isn't quite good enough when they have cleaners.
Like other reviews on here, I would say that it was very quiet to say it was on the front which was brilliant as we have a 15month old. The staff were quite pleasant but must agree with the other ladies review, that the young lad seemed a bit nervous or wasn't sure what he was doing but didn't bother us too much as the girls were really nice. We ordered out tea in the restaurant which was nice but certainly not the best meal I've had. To say we were in Scaroborough I would have expected the fish & scampi to be wonderfull but I was a bit disappointed with it.
We asked if we could sit in a bay window whilst we ate & this was no problem to them & was very nice sat looking at the harbour etc. The bay window however, was very unclean with dead flies etc and we had to try & keep the little one away. This to me is not very good in a restaurant. I understand that flies get everywhere but these were dead & should have been cleaned up, there is enough staff at this place for things like this to be kept on top of.
After a couple of niggles with the Ivy house, I would still stay here again but wouldn't stay for tea at the restaurant...... By the way, the breakfast was quite nice.

Room Tip: The Elisabeth Swan room is on the 2nd floor. We had a pram to negotiate up 2 flights of stairs which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and booked 3 rooms. Our bookings were well handled by Jade and all communications from her very friendly. The location is superb, right on the harbour side and after 10.30pm there is no noise at all. The rooms are all furnished to an extremely high standard and spotless. We had the Black Pearl suite and I would highly recommend booking this suite. The breakfasts were plentiful and set us all up for the day. The staff were all friendly and customer orientated . I would recommend this place to any savvy traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#27 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#39 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boat Shed
The Boat Shed
#20 of 35 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#102 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room

Property: The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room
Address: 49 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing