We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B on the seafront!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room
Ranked #93 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best B&B on the seafront!”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Port Royal room for one night - Friday 11th March. We were the only people staying there, as it was out of season, so we had this beautiful building to ourselves. The room was very clean and cozy - the view is outstanding, and we sat there for ages watching the world go by. The roo is equipped with everything you need, and was nice and warm. The bathroom had a large double shower and the room was spotless. Check-out time was 11.00 and we had breakfast in the downstairs tea-room/restaurant, which was a lip-smacking full English cooked to perfection, and we sat next to a roaring log fire. We both really enjoyed our night away and will be back in the summer and will fork out the extra to stay in the suite, which the friendly owners showed us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    30
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2010

me and my husband stayed for just one night but wished we would have stayed longer the room was out of this world it was up to date very very clean and the best veiws in scarborough the breakfast was lovely and the owners made you fell really welcome and was very nice people we would recommend this hotel to everyone and we will be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseconnolly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Ivy House is mainly a nice modern Cafe right on the harbour front but it also has become a very good B&B. We stayed in the Black Pearl Room which is actually a suite.Whilst £130 a night might feel expensive, you get what you pay for, we thought it was well worth the cost. I have stayed in many a 4* Hotel which would have been shamed by this lovely accomadation. The large lounge area with TV and DVD, tea and coffee making facilities and views of the harbour and sea were a delight. Through an arch to the bedroom with large comfortable bed, dressing table TV etc with door off to a modern spotless bathroom. Fluffy luxury towels and bathrobes all provided. The room was simply first class. A step out of the front door ( or private electronic passdoor at rear) and you are at the harbour or two minutes from the beach - just perfect. The open top buses stop right outside the door for trips to both bays. Alison and the staff were great, the food was all freshly cooked and we have found somewhere we will be happy to return to. For information parking can be a challenge but if you purchase a 2/7 day pass the Quay Street car park is only 3 minutes away. The Stephen Joseph Theatre is well worth a visit, we saw "Communicating Doors" in the Round which was excellent and dont let the steep hill put you off visiting the Castle - its well worth the effort and works off some of the calories you will have gained at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MajorMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Black Pearl Suite. The room is LUXURIOUS, great views of the harbour, ideal location.Yes the parking is awkward, but when you do find a place to park you dont have to go back to it again (phone to park). Warm and welcoming staff. We feel we have found a diamond here and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davelinda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

On arrival we were disappointed to find no parking facilities. The nearest available parking is 100 yards from hotel and costs £6 per day (if you can get in it). On check in the proprietor was more concerned about taking your money than the fact that your car is parked outside on double yellow lines waiting to be unpacked. We was not even allowed into our room before monies had been paid. After searching for parking for half an hour we finally made it to our room. Room very clean, roomy and well kept with beautiful views of the harbour. Breakfast was good but not much choice, the waitress service was friendly and efficient but proprietors manners left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The best B&B I have ever stayed in. We stayed in the Elizabeth Swan room and it felt as though we were the first to stay in that room, everything is brand new and the cleanliness was second to none. Very warm welcome, room was of a very high standard and the breakfast was excellent. Seperate access for residents meant coming and going was like having your own front door for the weekend, extremely private. Situated opposite the harbour gave a lovely view from our bedroom windows and easy access to all parts of the coastal town, we didn't go back to the car once after parking it on Fri until leaving on Sun. Car parking was in a public car park but being able to phone through to pay for parking meant you didn't have to rush out of bed to put a ticket on the car each morning. I would highly recommend the Ivy House to anyone visiting Scarborough, you won't be disappointed with the quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLovesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 34 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room

Property: The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room
Address: 49 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing