We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Scarborough!”
Review of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gordon Hotel
Ranked #42 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

You couldn't ask for a more welcoming, friendly and enjoyable environment. Owners, Christine and Lawrence are lovely and make your stay comfortable and fun-filled every time. Fantastic, home-cooked food, brilliant entertainment and laughs in the bar in an evening with card or domino competitions, quizzes and bingo. Very warm welcome on arrival with tea, coffee etc. Very family friendly! I have been going for many years now and have kept going back because it is such a wonderful place to stay! I would highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphin_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Been visiting the Gordon Hotel for about 7 years sometimes going about 8 times per year.
Everything perfect starting from the warm welcome from Lawrence and Christine. Meet other guests who have also been regular visitors like one happy family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

if you want a clean,warm wecome,and have great host this is the place to be .
this was my first time,when we arrived after a 6 hour journey it was great to be welcomed with a hot coffee and warm welome ,.the Hosts Christine and Lawrence keep us entertained ,
will i stay there again you bet !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p6roverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Excellent stay and rooms perfect. The children were very comfortable and we were all made very welcoming. Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of choice. The hosts were very friendly and made the children feel very much at ease. Would highly recommend this hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
Thank darlopete_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

If you want a spotlessly clean hotel with a warm welcome and lovely food, you could not find a better place than this. Laurence and Christine are excellent hosts and we had such a laugh with them. Most of the guests had stayed several times and there was lovely atmosphere here with everyone chatting to each other. However if you did want just a quiet space you could be in the tv lounge. The bar in the evening was a great place for a good laugh and a few games. The hotel is in a delightful position facing the park which has the dragon boats. It is at the top of a steep hill but there is a bus at the corner which takes you into the centre and seafront. At the bottom of the hill is the little train, the open air theatre, the parks pond which has large battleships which stage battles on some days (check dates) and a great adventure park for small boys where they can drive tanks and do an assault course. Thee is also a lovely sealife centre. Jan from Bolton

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

You will be glad you chose this hotel because lawrence and Christine will make you feel at home and look after you for your stay.We have been going their for the last 10 years
sometimes twice a year and i would recomend it to anyone.The food is very good and the rooms are lovely clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Christine and Lawrence are so welcoming and friendly, it is a pleasure to stay there. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is delicious. The rooms are to a high standard. We agree completely with the recent reviews. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Hotel

Address: 24 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing