We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Catania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catania Hotel
Ranked #112 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“FAB HOTEL GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just got back from a 3 night stay over the bank holiday weekend at the Hotel Catania i went with my fiance and our 4 year old little girl.The hotel was spotless as was our lovely room and the beds were so comfortable just what you need after a busy day.The cooked breakfast was gorgeous and well worth getting up for the owner Jean was so welcoming and nothing was to much trouble for her.The Hotel Catania was on the cliff top right near Peasholme park ,the lovely clean beach some gorgeous restaurants and other attractions.we had lovely 4 days we didnt want to leave and cant wait to go back and would definatly reccommend this hotel to anyone thank you for a lovely break x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We only stayed here for one night but I am glad we did. Great location on the cliff top and with car parking. We arrived early and were allowed to park up for the day and returned after 7pm, check in pleasant and quick. Good bar/lounge and prices lower than any local pub could match.
Room was a family room for three and was small but adequate and well stocked with complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee. The room, en suite bathroom and entire hotel were scrupulously clean. A good night sleep was followed by a fantastic breakfast served with precision, the only fault here was the cooked breakfast arrived the instant the cereals were finished but was hot enough to be left for a minute and obviously cooked to order. An all round good experience and the hotel is recommended to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room as the rear can have road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Me and my wife went for a weekend break and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Fantastic location 10 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from town centre. Great views on top of that.

Fantastic service by the owners and the food was great. We will definately be staying again and have already recommended it to some of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a lovely find, excellent views ideal spot just across the road from the sea, a few minutes walk to Pealsholm Park and shops, cafes. A path outside the hotel leads you down to the cliff road, on the way down here thers climbing bars etc and a little park also wich my son thought was great. Rooms were very clean and very spacious and lovely comfortable beds. The hotel was lovely, didnt sample anything from the bar but the breakfasts wow!
Next time were in Scarborough we will definaltely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had just missed out on the room with the additional room for the kids, but we stayed in room 2 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby7140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed at Hotel Catania for a night to visit my parents, and it is exactly if not better than i remember it from all the years i stayed here with my parents as a teen! Every room is spotless, spacious and comfortable. the service is best bar none, and the breakfast is a gods send! the views of the north bay and the castle make this hotel even better and with only a 2 min walk down hill you can reach the beach and seaside attractions!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Lovely clean hotel, had a family room with fantastic sea view, kids had their own little room off ours which was nice. Only stayed one night but would definately go back. Owner was friendly and helpful, breakfast was very nice, well cooked and good quality. Free parking was available till lunch time on second day which was great. A quick 5 minute walk from Peasholme Park and the train to sea life centre. Really good value for money, ideal for families wanting a weekend by the sea.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Great stay, separate adjoining room for the kids, comfy beds, excellent breakfast and nice sea view from our room. Would definately book again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tloandtbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 183 in Scarborough
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#124 of 183 in Scarborough
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#47 of 183 in Scarborough
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Sands Lodge
North Sands Lodge
#116 of 183 in Scarborough
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catania Hotel

Property: Catania Hotel
Address: 141 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catania is a sea front guest house, offering bed and breakfast accommodation on Scarborough's North Bay. We provide 4 star accommodation, including family rooms, in an elegant Victorian residence, built in 1880 and overlooking North Yorkshire's beautiful east coast and Scarborough castle. Ideally situated for all attractions including award winning Blue Flag beach, Peasholm Park, brand new Water Park, indoor swimming pool, Scarborough Cricket Ground, Sea Life Centre and only a 5 minute walk from newly refurbished open air theatre. We are within easy walking distance of the town centre, Scarborough harbour and South Bay attractions. Our friendly, family-run hotel has everything you may need to make your stay enjoyable... All rooms are en-suite, with central heating, digital TV, hospitality tray, clock radio alarm and hair dryer. Enjoy a full English or continental breakfast in our delightful Dining Room and plan your day with a little help from our wide choice of brochures and books. We aim to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and we have a good selection of books, games and beach toys. Don't have to worry about parking as we have a large car park. We are rated 5 on Scarborough Council's Scores on Doors scheme for hygiene. Due to the design of the building we do have a lot of steps - around 12 from the car park to reception then the bedrooms are on three floors - sorry we do not have a lift but can take your bags to your room if required. All televisions have sub-titles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing