We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Catania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catania Hotel
Ranked #117 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked the Catania because the price was right, we were only having an overnight stay so we weren't looking for anything special. Our greeting was pleasant and our room was clean and tidy, it had all we needed,tv, tea, coffee, comfy bed and a nice en suite. Our breakfasts were also very good, one full English and one vegetarian served by a very nice chatty lady. Located only a short walk from all Scarborough has to offer, for what we paid we could not have expected any more. If we return to Scarborough for anther one nighter then we shall look no further than the Catania.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

stayed here with my mum and 6 year old daughter, on arriving got an ok welcome, got to room made a coffee, 1 of the milk cartons was mouldy, room was cold so mentioned to the owner, she couldnt fix it so brought a little heater. went out for the day, came back went to bed. next morning mum came out of the bathroom saying she couldnt get the shower hot. I tried but couldnt either, had to get dress and go searching for the owner, she couldnt get it working either. they told i can use another room 2 floors up, so had to take the whole suitcase up 2 flights leaving my mum with my little girl in the other room. no towel in the room, owner then brought one. i didnt bother showering my daughter as was too much hassle. Now late for breakfast after all the messing around, it was barely warm! mum would let me mention it as we'd just had enough by that point. on leaving the owner just said "sorry things didnt work out" i said "its a bit late now" and left. Hotels.com or the hotel wont refund us, very poor standards and service and wish i hadnt trusted the great reviews. woodchip on the walls everywhere, no heating or hot water, using another room, wandering the hotel to sort problems, what a nightmare stay. wont go back ever again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanius141, Owner at Catania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Whilst I welcome all reviews, good and bad, I appreciate it when you get the facts correct. Apologies for the mouldy milk carton, I will mention it to the supplies on my next visit.
The first mention that your heating was not working was when you returned at 9.30 in the evening, the rest of the building was warm and I could not work out why your radiator didn't work, my husband had gone out and would not be back until around 11 pm so I brought you the portable heater which in the morning you said had been OK. When you had left my husband looked at the radiator and found you had turned off the hot supply to the radiator, which is why it was not working. As for the shower, I knew it had been working all the previous week so I did not even look at it , just offered you the other shower - wish I had because you had forced the thermostat control and broken it.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope your next weekend away is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

we were greeted on arrival by the owners of the establishment, the hotel was lovely and clean, our room had beautiful views overlooking the sea, the owner couldn't do enough for us, the Sunday morning full english was wonderful, would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived Sat teatime the owner was very welcoming and Hotel Catania was a lovely clean hotel.We were 3 floors up in a small room at top of the hotel but we had booked at the last minute and we were very satisfied with what we got.The location was great as was Sundays breakfast,we would certainly book again if we were visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel August bank holiday weekend for 2 nights. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very good too. The hotel is just a short walk to the south side but a bus runs regularly if you don't fancy the walk. It is close to Peasholm park. There is car parking on site (it's a bit of a squeeze but it it's better than parking on the road side.) We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we would also return there ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel very last minute through tripadvisor and had a great stay the hotel is in a great location near peasholme park and the castle. The rooms were very nice and quite airy too, not like most hotels where you lose a pint of sweat just sitting on your bed!

Breakfast was great too and really there is nothing to complain about at all, a great hotel if we're in Scarborough again we'll come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonidasthewookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked quite late and got the small double room,which was fine for a two night stay very clean and good en suite.Excellent cooked breakfast,my wife had one both mornings instead of the healthy option as it was so good,will be going back.

Room Tip: If possible request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madabthols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#135 of 184 in Scarborough
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 184 in Scarborough
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramleh Hotel
Ramleh Hotel
#66 of 184 in Scarborough
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catania Hotel

Address: 141 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £62 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catania is a sea front guest house, offering bed and breakfast accommodation on Scarborough's North Bay. We provide 4 star accommodation, including family rooms, in an elegant Victorian residence, built in 1880 and overlooking North Yorkshire's beautiful east coast and Scarborough castle. Ideally situated for all attractions including award winning Blue Flag beach, Peasholm Park, brand new Water Park, indoor swimming pool, Scarborough Cricket Ground, Sea Life Centre and only a 5 minute walk from newly refurbished open air theatre. We are within easy walking distance of the town centre, Scarborough harbour and South Bay attractions. Our friendly, family-run hotel has everything you may need to make your stay enjoyable... All rooms are en-suite, with central heating, digital TV, hospitality tray, clock radio alarm and hair dryer. Enjoy a full English or continental breakfast in our delightful Dining Room and plan your day with a little help from our wide choice of brochures and books. We aim to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and we have a good selection of books, games and beach toys. Don't have to worry about parking as we have a large car park. We are rated 5 on Scarborough Council's Scores on Doors scheme for hygiene. Due to the design of the building we do have a lot of steps - around 12 from the car park to reception then the bedrooms are on three floors - sorry we do not have a lift but can take your bags to your room if required. All televisions have sub-titles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing