We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
244
31
14
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
244
31
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cowboy shack camping field birthday bash clean site shower block hot tub great site facilities are great toilets showers fantastic weekend on arrival scarborough town short drive booked last minute stayed for nights night stay warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We stayed in one of the cabins over the bank holiday weekend. The website advertised same rates all year around as they don't believe in hiking up the rates for peak times. However, they must have used the peak rate all year around. For the price (£90 a night) we expected better facilities. The cabin was large enough to have more furniture but the double bed was on the floor and the lighting so economy that it was too dim to read a book and we needed head torches to read! The toilets although clean (ish at certain times) were basic. Nowhere to put toilet bags or clothes as all surfaces got wet and took ages to drain (as did the potwash - we always had to clean the sinks before use as the previous user's water was still slowly trying to escape). Electricity was charged per unit, which considering the price we paid per night I thought that at least could have been included. We had to pay a £10 deposit for the electricity and would get back what we didn't use. However, as we were so desperate to leave, we departed at 09:00 before the office was open at 09:30 on the Monday, so were not able to get the remainder back.
Then there was the noise. We had a family next to us that insisted on having a radio on from the moment they got there (5pm) until well after 10pm. Their friends from the tipi's or campsite then joined and they had a big party around a chiminea right outside our cabin. Their young children were up running around until 1 am, and we were very grateful to the lady in one of the tipi's who eventually lost their rag and shouted at them well after midnight. We were also pleased to be in a cabin where we could shut the door and some of the noise out. There was a picnic bench outside our cabin, but no view - only the back of the GCHQ, which was interesting but not particularly picturesque. Mainly due to the noise and families cutting right across our area to get to their wagon, we only used it to eat from, and spent the rest of the short time in the campsite in our cabin.It therefore didn't really matter to us that it rained a lot on the Sat afternoon/ Sunday as we weren't sitting out anyway. We were actually pleased it rained, as the noisy guests were somewhere else and not sitting outside our cabin.
We stayed an extra night in the North Pennines in a Pub with B&B after seeing relatives and on our way down south on Monday night and had a lovely family room for 4 for £80, with a private ensuite shower room, a lovely view and a lovely cooked breakfast. Much better value.
I don't think glamping with this level of facilities is for us and next time we need somewhere to stay to go to an event we will look for a B&B for better value.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 622cathyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Owner at Pinewood Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We always encourage customer feedback, both positive and constructive criticism, as we find these are great ways to listen to what is important to our guests, which in turn helps us to improve our business.
Customer service & satisfaction is our absolute priority.
Unfortunately we do not regard your review as constructive - we regard it as negative & damaging.
To go to such lengths with your review is astonishing, when you could have spent less than 1 minute bringing your issues to our attention, so we could have rectified them for you.
Every guest is given our contact details on arrival, and explained that as they have booked to stay on a quiet, family site, with no noise from 10pm, then should they encounter any noise issues, or any other issue for that matter, then they are welcome to call us, as we are on call 24hours.
Why did you not contact us to help with your problem?
As for your rude comments on our pricing structure; we have remained this same rate for over 5 years now, and continue to offer free child places, even during school holidays. We have hundreds of returning customers year after year, as well as thousands of new, very, very happy customers, so we believe that our pricing structure is very fair. We are in-line with other similar businesses in the area.
We find it a little strange to compare the property to a B & B.
We are not a B & B!
While we do not believe there is anything wrong with B & B's (and we use many ourselves) they are not the same product as ours. You generally have a small room, ensuite & breakfast is included. You do not have 7 acres of land to explore & enjoy, and children can not run around freely, make friends, as well as memories which last a lifetime.
Guests do not book to stay here, if they are wanting a B & B, and guests do not book a B & B if they are wanting a Glamping adventure - it's as simple as that!
Your comment on the electric - this is an optional extra & does not need to be paid for if you do not require it. Most similar sites do not even have electric as an option. We have always worked on the policy that 'enough people ask, we do' where ever possible. When we up-graded the electrics, with costs exceeding £20,000, we decided not to increase the price of the accommodation, and to metered the electric instead. The electric is an extremely fair system, with the averaging usage being £1 - £2 per night. Sites that include electric in with their costs have already added it to their price, and they have done this at the maximum usage, which means putting approximately £5 - £10 per night on top of the price. Our guests love the fairness of the electric meters, and appreciate the fact that they are only paying for what they use.
We have not, and never will re-coup the cost of installing the electrics - this has been done as a service to our guests.
You could have easily arranged to check out earlier if required, as many guests do.
Again - not sure why you didn't ask?
We make it very clear on arrival that we are happy to help in any way we can.
Your comment on the 'lack of furniture' - after creating & running this business for over 11 years, we know what the majority of guests want & expect - they prefer the space - it's as simple as that.
To summarise; we really do find it a real shame that you did not call us to give us the opportunity to rectify your problems.
We really would have gone out of our way to help you enjoy your stay.
Unfortunately we were not given this opportunity.
We're very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and we find that the actions & noise levels of other guests on site not acceptable. Other guests do not have the right to spoil it for others.
Our aim is for every single guest on site to have a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
We wish you well for the future & truly hope you enjoy your B & B stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We hired 2 tipis over bank holiday weekend. We enjoyed a different camping experience. The tipis are much larger than I expected and have the added advantage of having a couple of electrical points. My previous experience of camping was crawling about being cold etc etc. This was so very different and so enjoyable! The site itself has lodges, wagons, as well as tipis. There is also areas for your own caravan and tents. Too much noise is banned after 10pm so nice and peaceful, especially if you have young children.
The facilities are good, nice clean showers and toilets with ample cubicles and hot water - I never had to wait for either. The site is family run and their dedication shows. Kerry and Dave are very helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The location is perfect for Scarborough and surrounding areas. A previous reviewers comments about wanting a shop - there is a small supermarket in Seamer which is 5 mins away. We had poor weather over the weekend in a tent we might have been flooded out but in the tipi we were cosy and warm. I would definitely recommend this as an alternative to normal camping. If you want luxury there is a lodge with a hot tub - I'm working on my husband for another visit to try it out!

Room tip: Any tipi is fine. You can't cook inside the tipi but there is room on the decking for a stove or bbq
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Owner at Pinewood Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for sparing the time to write a review for us.
We really do appreciate it.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your first Glamping experience .
If you enjoyed the Tipi, you'll definitely enjoy the other accommodation too!
We're please you were happy with the facilities, and the close location to shops, and it's great to hear that you like the no noise policy from 10pm.
(The closeness to Scarborough & a quiet, family friendly site is definitely why so many guests book)
Thanks in advance for your recommendations.
We look forward to seeing you all again......hopefully you can persuade your husband to book the Hot Tub Lodge!
(we've also more Hot Tubs arriving this year!)
Take care.
Best wishes from Pinewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We always choose sites that are quiet - and make a big deal of being quiet on their websites - after 10pm. This is because we have children and we always do so much during the day that we are all exhausted so need a good nights sleep. There are lots of sites that aren't quiet if you want and that's great for those people. But unfortunately those people seemed to have picked this weekend to come to Pinewood. They were told by other 'glampers' to be quiet and asked by the site owners to observe the strict 10pm quiet rule and they ignored it all. They took over most of the site and it really spoiled it for everyone else there. Apparently they booked separately (a group of two in ti-pi's and a group in the guts) but they had all been before so I suspect the owners knew they were all 'together'. Such a shame because it really put us off.

Toilets and showers are clean and well looked after. The pot wash floor is so slippy when it's raining and there are no warning signs so beware - I didn't know I could still do the splits!!

Couldn't get the car very near the pitch (we stayed in a Ti-Pi but as the weather was fine for unloading and packing up that was ok. Wouldn't be great in bad weather though.

The Reptile evening was great. It's put on by one of the owners sons and the children got to hold a python, other snakes, lizards and turtles. A real gem for the site and Jordan was brilliant with kids and parents alike. Thank you!

I've come to the conclusion that I am just a boring old camper not a glamper. Glampers do not have the same manners and etiquette as campers so whilst it was an experience we won't be returning.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed at Pinewood with friends (one family in a teepee - tipi - and one in a cabin). We felt like we were staying with friends - the owners are very friendly and hospitable. The place is clean and has all the essential facilities. The reason I gave it 4 and not 5 stars is that apart from the essential facilities there is nothing additional (e.g. a small shop for some essential shopping - milk, bread etc, maybe a licensed bar). Conveniently located near Scarborough, Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby and the North York Moors (e.g. Dalby forest). Not very cheap in comparison to other similar places but worth it for all the positives the place has.

Room tip: Cabin definitely better - especially if the weather is not very hot.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CostasDraminos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Welcomed at short notice and happily found great little camping spot for us. Lovely loos and showers and I like that the main tepee camping area was car-free making it peaceful and safe for kids. And really near Scarborough - great location and friendly owners

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jacalyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Owner at Pinewood Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Jacalyn,

We are always pleased to welcome guests as long as we have the space, and we are glad that you were pleased with the camping pitch we gave you. All our camping pitches have the space for a car and the tent so that you can get to our equipment as you need it.

We keep the car park away from the Tipi village so that our guests can enjoy the peace and quiet of the site, away from the traffic and as you say to feel safe for the kids too. We are glad you liked it.

We are the second closest site to Scarborough and it's a lovely 2 mile walk and all downhill to the town or a short drive away too!

Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Kerry and all at Pinewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews