We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbourside Apartments
Nottingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A touch of class in a great location”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We found these apartments on the internet when looking for a short break with our two young teenagers. We didn't quite know what to expect from somewhere in the middle of Scarborough, particularly when we found out they are above an amusement arcade! However, I can honestly say that this is some of the best accommodation we have found for the price in the UK. The apartments are new, clean and very contemporary and high spec. Entry is by a side door with videophone entry and our two bed apartment had a large widescreen Freesat TV with ipod connection in the lounge and a smaller TV in each of the other bedrooms. There is a well equipped kitchen/lounge/dining area and a large wetroom style bathroom. The apartmernt was very warm and cosy and has views over the harbour (slightly obscured by a modern ASK restaurant). The location is great, as you are right on the seafront so can walk to most of the attractions in this part of Scarborough, including the castle which is directly behind up a steep hill.There is no need to be put off by the amusement arcade as we were not aware of it at all when in the apartments.
The lack of private parking is the one drawback to this place and street parking outside is limited to 3 hours (Unlimited 6pm-9am). However the owners really help by providing a parking disc so you can park on the street and scratch cards for parking on side streets to the rear - they even called us as we were travelling up and reserved a parking space on the street so we could unpack. We never had any problems as we were out most of the day and always found a space on the road for the night but I suppose it could be an issue in busy times if wanting to park your car for the day. We had a very friendly and helpful briefing when we arrived but didn't need any other services from the owners but if the sun shines the free 1 day beach hut sounds fun.
Parking aside there really were no other downsides.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fuzzbadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We’ve just returned from a family break in Scarborough. I’m normally cynical about online reviews and this is the first time I’ve ever felt compelled to write one, but the accommodation at Harbourside apartments far exceeded our expectations. We had tried to book an apartment a few weeks beforehand on laterooms.com and booking.com but they were already let. We also rang the number on their website, www.scarboroughapartments.co.uk . Luckily we got a cancellation which we took. The photographs on the website really don’t do the place justice, the apartment we stayed in was fantastic with amazing attention to detail. A real contemporary, boutique style place with quality furnishings throughout including iPod docks on all the tv's (including the bedrooms-which was great for the kids to listen to their music and watch their videos on a big screen) We always take one break a year in Britain in a cottage or apartment and there are always niggly things about the place you stay in – no corkscrew, not enough hot water, not enough pillows etc. But Harbourside apartments really are a home from home – everything you need is there – fully equipped kitchen, milk in the fridge on arrival, comfortable beds, great walk-in shower plus panoramic views over the harbour and South Bay. The proprietors couldn’t have done more to make us feel welcome – there if you needed them but not intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble, they even saved us parking a parking space and free scratch cards on arrival. The highlight of our stay was the complimentary day in a luxurious new beach chalet – again equipped with everything you need including loads of kids toys, beach towels and with water and electric supplies – a far cry from the typical seaside shed with a bucket to fetch drinking water in. The apartments are ideally located on the seafront directly opposite the Tourist Information Office but amazingly quiet inside and only a short walk to the town centre, restaurants etc. We’ve already booked another week for next year and have recommended the place to family and friends. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bartyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was excellent service. As one person has already commented it's the little touches that made it so special. We were met at the car outside and our bags carried up to Apt 5, once inside Victoria gave us maps, discount cards, ideas for places to eat, mobile numbers for contact.......................... everything you could ask for. There were sachets of tea, coffee, latte, chocolate, sugar, plus milk in the fridge, cereals and mini cupcakes awaiting in the kitchen. A flat screen TV in every living room and bedroom and toiletries in the bathroom
The apartments are above an arcade and initially I was concerned it would be noisy but as I now know they have nightclub soundproof flooring you never hear a sound (I gather there were babies in the flat below, we never heard) it was very very peaceful, with an amazing view of the harbour.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these apartments and have taken a number of cards to give to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My Mum and her friend recently stayed in one of the apartments (I live in Scarborough and they were visiting me). They have asked me to review on their behalf.

The apartment was ultra modern, yet homely. The location could not be better to make the most of a stay in Scarborough. Victoria, one of the owners gives a fantastic service - showing guests around and subject to availabilty booking them into one of her and her Husband James amazing brand new beach chalets for the day. This was the highlight of Mum's stay.

I know the area and amenities very well and think the location (so close to restaurants, amusements, the beach and the town) will not be matched. Scarborough has moved with the times here! You get what you pay for, well worth the money, especially for families. Mum would have given it 6 stars if she could. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lianna190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We visited Scarborough recently and decided to stay at the newly opened Harbourside Apartments. When we arrived and were shown to the apartment it was absolutely beautiful, much better than we had expected. Everything was finished to a high quality and there was everything you needed for a perfect stay! There were finer touches, such as milk in the fridge, tea, coffee, cornflakes and mini cupcakes to welcome us. The owner was so helpful and left us lots of information to make the most of our trip.
We had a great break but it was the little touches inside the apartment that made it so. The owners were so helpful and nothing was a bother. We are looking forward to going back again !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayayeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Beautiful apartment, extremely helpful and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble, and it was very helpful to have a parking space reserved for us on arrival. A lovely surprise was use of the beach hut for free on one of the days. Could not recommend highly enough, and will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GibsonsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Apartments

Property: Harbourside Apartments
Address: 1 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views across Scarborough Harbour, the 4-star Gold Harbourside Apartments feature designer kitchens and large living areas. The apartments are situated in South Bay, next to the sandy beach.The fully-equipped kitchens feature an oven, hob and refrigerator, and there is also a dining area. The separate comfortable seating area has a flat-screen TV and iPod dock.The Harbourside Apartments have separate bedrooms with designer furnishings, and there is also a modern bathroom. All apartments offer impressive sea views and access to two shared laundry room.The Brunswick Shopping Centre is a 10-minute stroll away, and Scarborough Castle is immediately behind the apartments.Guests receive a free day pass for a beach chalet in the North Bay Beach Chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Harbourside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing