We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky escape from the Grand”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Was sent to the Mount by the Grand because they had double booked our room. Which after reading reviews on the Grand I think was a blessing in disguise. (Even the receptionist at the Grand said it's a better hotel)

Was given a sea view room at the Mount which was spacious, lovely & clean. When going back to Scarborough, I will be booking in at the Mount. The lady who owned it was very friendly & helpful & on check out, let us keep our bags there whilst we went for a walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jodyj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Arrived on a Saturday lunchtime for a weekend break. Booked two single rooms. We were taken by the welcoming and friendly staff straight to our rooms. Rooms were lovely, warm, well decorated, clean and beautiful sea views. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was served by waitress - nice linens, excellent range of food and well cooked.
Rotten weather on the Sunday, cold and wet. They were happy to let us leave our bags as we weren't travelling until later on in the afternoon and were kindly invited to come back to have a cup of tea at any time of the day. We killed an hour before our trip home sitting in the warm and comfortable sitting room.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank treksandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We found this gem after escaping from a VERY BAD experience at the Grand. Lovely staff, beautiful room with sea view and the best breakfast ever. Next time we go to Scarborough we will definately book this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zorchalors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Found this hotel on our escape from the dungeon (rooms) at the Grand. A lovely welcome, friendly pleasant staff (everyone we met), a beautiful room with sea view, really comfortable bed, excellent served breakfast, good menu including porridge with cream, haddock and full english of course. Dining room and lounge lovely too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed at many hotels in Scarborough whilst visiting my mother in a nursing home eventually found this hotel after recommendation. Great location, well cooked food and friendly service. Spectacular views as well!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have been taken /visiting this Yorkshire gem since i was a baby, and my family has been going there for 20 years before i was even born. I am not sure what initially drew them to the hotel back in the 60's but i dare say it is largely down to the charisma and charm of the staff, building and especially Miss McCarther, or Helen to those who know her!!! The hotel is not your most modern, or your most swanky but it just has a certain je ne sais quoi that hits you on arrival.

Typically you will be met by one of the biggest dogs to ever roam the earth but do not fret, she will never do anything other than show effection. All of the rooms are sapcious but clearly in a place like Scarborough you want to be facing out over the bridge and South Bay.

Once you are settled into your room definately head down to the bar for a drink and there is a good chance Helen will serve you herself! I think that all other reviewers of this hotel will tell you that the Mount's Party Piece is the food. After going there every year up until my early 20's i can honestly say that they dont do bad food. In fact they dont do good food. They only do AMAZING food! Breakfast, lunch or dinner you will never be disappointed!

I know there are newer, hipper hotels but overall, nothing will beat this gem!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing hotel. If you have the money ask for the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goviegovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Mount Hotel Scarbrough is run by Helen and has been in their family since 1947. Helen is a perfect host and she offers the best of hospitality for her guests. The food is both superb and plentyful, we opted to dine at the hotel and we were not disappointed. Theai accommodation is of a high standard rooms are clean and well maintained. The room price was more expensive than your average B&B but both the service and the food were second to none. We would recommend the mount to our friends as it is a large hotel with a fantastic view but still keeps its personal touch.

Room Tip: Room 58 is definitley the most spacous but we prefer a room on the front with the spectacular sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K Baz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £106 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing