We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable stay”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed one night at the Mount; it was freezing cold and snowing but the hotel was warm and the staff were friendly. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the furniture and decor were smart and well kept. We had a sea front room, number 19, with a good view of the sea, through the frequent snow flurries. As it was so cold, we decided to have an evening meal in the hotel and it was a very good meal, well cooked and presented. The head waiter Antonio was very attentive and the price charged was well worth it. The bedroom was

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

Had a lovely recent stay at this hotel, rooms good and all staff pleasant. Would definitely return again. Great location too! If i had to make a criticism it would just be the price was a little bit steep but still not too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdrom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just got back from a weekend here, like most of Scarborough in need of a cash injection to re-live the glory days but staff were good, particularly the lady running the breakfast room. Bedroom comfy, great view of the sea and also let us have the dog there without which we couldn't have gone. Great location. Breakfast is outstanding, all locally sourced and everything you would like. The hall and staircases do need attention but in this climate..."blood and stone" etc.. Go without expecting too much and you will have a great weekend here. Scarborough needs your cash!!

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Old style seaside resort hotel. I didn't mind the creaking floorboards, narrow corridors and the dirty piece of string you use to turn on the bathroom light. But the chairs were so worn you can't tell the original colour and the carpets were smelly. I had to wash my clothes when I got home as the smell lingered. Surprised it got such a high mark here - it's lower on booking.com

However breakfast was professional, in a grand style dining room with white starched table cloth; the shower was hot and the room was warm despite it being freezing outside at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The royal hotel had over booked so we stayed here. We really fell on our feet! Where to start? The room was spacious and clean. The bed is the best that I have slept in and the pillows where really good quality. The bathroom had a power shower and bath. There was a heated towel rail to make sure you had cosy towels. It was warm I the room, a little too warm but it was a surprising warm spell.
The welcome at reception was very warm. They could not do not enough to welcome us. The breakfast was the best bit. Local produce all the way through. Silver service all round. The only thing was at the royal the restaurant manger looked down his nose at us. You been warned. I would take the mount and pay a bit extra to be honest!

Room Tip: You don't havre have a sea room, but it is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at The Mount for the first time last Saturday, and found it excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spotless and comfortable, and it was warm (there was a harsh northeast wind outside), with a good view of the bridge and the sea. There was a good TV, hospitality tray, and goose down pillows. We had our dinner in the hotel, and the chef did us proud with 2 perfect steaks, great starter and lovely sweets. Breakfast was cooked to order, and the fried eggs were just right, bacon tasty - lovely. I'd recommend it to anyone, especially for a homely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Front on second floor was comfy with a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apothecattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We chose here for Sundy lunch shortly after the New Year as it had good reviews on TA for food. It is certainly a big hotel, a bit dated in places but clean etc. Staff were friendly but the food was simply OK, perhaps our expectations were too high? I had nothing out of the ordinary, so felt a bit deflated afterwards! Glad we tried it but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your comments. The Mount Hotel offers a Traditional Sunday Lunch using high quality ingredients sourced from local producers, all the desserts are made on the premises and the food is served in a friendly but professional manor to the guest at their table.
We serve on average 60 Sunday Lunches per week and have a very high repeat business, I am sorry that you will not be one of these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £107 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing