We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy break”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Tyne & Wear
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A comfy break”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Checked in for a two night break. Very pleasant experience, ideally situated for a walk down to beach or the town. Room was quite large with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was a full English with lovely staff catering to your needs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ours was a sea view (number 39) twin bedded room with coffee/tea facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeryholmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    98
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
154
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just come back from a weekend at The Mount. The rooms were exceptionally clean, and many have been refurbished. The common areas were well furnished and I cannot say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. Superb. The breakfasts were all made to order and of fantastic quality. Just what you need to start the day. I believe that The Mount now has new owners and they have certainly made a memorable mark on our party. Will definitley make a bee line for this friendly, family run business., next time I happen to be in Scarborough

Room Tip: Ask reception for a discounted parking voucher as parking isn't easy or cheap in this part of to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5BigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at The Mount Hotel. We had 2 double rooms one with a lovely sea view - the other faced the rear of the hotel but was still a very nice room. Rooms were warm, cleaned to a high standard and were both a pretty good size. Access for disabled guests is a little limited although a ramp is provided to guests who need to use one. The staff are extremely helpful with nothing being too much bother.and they go out their way to make you feel welcome. The food in the dining room at both breakfast and during evening service is very good with the service being exemplary. I would recommend this hotel for the whole family.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if this is what you are looking for - the staff will do their best to meet your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRSmith39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here last weekend and it was fantastic, the staff couldn't do enough for you so friendly, the rooms were big my son said the beds were like floating on a marshmallow they were that good and comfy, the food was excellent would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineC261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just back from a weekend with my Husband, Daughter and Friends and found my stay in this wonderful Hotel to be first class. The staff were extremly friendly, the standard of the rooms excellent; the food was exceptional and so convenient to all locations. All staff members went out of their way to ensure all Guests had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone regardless of age or purpose of stay. I will certainly have no reservations in staying here again – would be delighted to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLY1690156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I would highly recommend The Mount Hotel in Scarborough, just back from an excellent stay very attentive staff, rooms very comfortable and spotless,dining room staff fantastic all meal's great and plenty of it.Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a great time at The Mount Hotel last weekend. Staff were so friendly and nothing was a bother. A special thank you to owners Douglas and Helen, the Manager Craig and not forgetting our waiter Antonio who was always on hand to make our stay so special. Food was first class and served with silver service. Bedrooms were spacious with a giant marshmallow bed. We were in a party of 38 and not one person could find fault. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. We are going back next year.
Lynn Boyle Stobhill Kidney Patients Association Glasgow

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing