We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotary Conference weekend”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Seventeen Rotarians stayed at the hotel over the Rotary District Conference weekend. I speak for everyone when I say the accommodation, food & service was first class. We were very well looked after by the staff, nothing was too much trouble.even though the hotel was full. We all had spacious sea view rooms with brilliant views over the bay which made it a stay to remember. A special thanks to Craig the manager who made sure everything went to schedule and arranged the president's reception on the Saturday night.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a sea view room its worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was good to read that you had an enjoyable weekend with us whilst attending the Rotary Conference in the town. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto all the departments, restaurant, kitchen, housekeeping and reception. I hope that we can accommodate you all again in 3 years time on your return to Scarborough and that we can have a repeat of the warm sunny weather!! Thank you once again

Craig Bridgewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a short mid week break at this hotel and it was excellent - we travelled by train and the hotel `s location was very convenient both from the station and for sea front and shops
Although our room was not exceptional the restaurant was - the food both for breakfast and evening meal was superb and the service was first class - very relaxing and enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel, the staff members and myself were happy that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the food in the restaurant. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and find a bedroom with the wow factor for you so that you can appreciate the fantastic views over Scarborough's South Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First Class accomadation, staff were fantastic, rooms spotless, breakfast great choice.Waiter nothing too much trouble,Dining room lovely pure white linen everything beautiful Couldnt fault any thing about the hotel. Would very highly reccomend. In prime location for sea front or shops.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dopey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and scoring of The Mount Hotel. We pride ourselves with our high standards of customer care and service, like that of 'days gone by'
The restaurant laid with its starched white linen and full silver settings is indeed a memorable site. I will ensure that the staff are able to see your review and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a gem of a hotel. Central location and stunning views, with a breakfast fit for a king. Staff friendly and welcoming with excellent service in the dining room. Great bar and plenty of space to relax in - we will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We choose this hotel for a special occasion after reading about it on the internet. What a disappointment. Upon arrival it was chaos in the reception the receptionist was overworked, tired and stressed causing her to be quite abrupt and unhelpful. In her defence she was the only member of staff we saw until 10pm that evening, she seemed to be doing every job including serving behind the bar. She did accompany us to our room but my husband and I were struggling with luggage, but she never offered to take a single item. On entering our room we felt disappointed, the room was very dated the bathroom was filthy there was stains on the toilet, sink and bath. Everything was dirty. All the light fittings were loose there were large holes in the bedspread and stains on the sheet; the radiator was full with dust half an inch thick. The carpet had been relayed in the doorway with a different colour which looked a complete mess. We asked the receptionist if we could have a bar meal or snack and she abruptly replied not until 9pm when the restaurant has shut, even then it was up to the chef if he would kindly make us one. We sat in the bar having a drink there was no atmosphere we were the only ones in, there was no bar staff only the unfriendly receptionist, who was always huffing and puffing every time we saw her. We went into the breakfast room unsure of where to sit, as there was no signage. We were finally shown to a table completely different to our room number. As for the breakfast there was a certain tang to the food due to the oil they cooked it in which was off putting. The staff weren't very friendly and service was slow. On the 2nd day we were shown to different table which had already been used that morning, the table cloth was stained and the marmalade had already been used. The breakfast was slightly better. On the whole every member of staff that we came across was very unfriendly; there wasn't even a good morning. The hotel for what is cost was very overpriced and on top of this, there was a further cost of £20 for the car park nearby. On the plus side the receptionist on sat and Sunday morning was pleasant. Overall a very disappointing experience, we will not be returning. We would recommend guests to be over 60.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotelgirl12319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay. Firstly I must apologise for our shortfalls in our normally high standard of housekeeping and customer service as mentioned by a lot of our guests. Though the reception was busy on your arrival I can assure you that other staff members were hard at work behind the scenes.
I am sorry that you did not bring your complaint to our attention at the time of your stay with regards to the cleanliness of your bedroom this way we could of rectified the issues or found you an alternative room.
We have resolved all issues raised in your comments and photographs, once again thank you for bringing these to our attention because our guests experience and satisfaction is our highest priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times, we wanted to go again with our baby but aren't allowed to use the executive rooms.

Great hotel, great food and location. Odd policies, I suppose we will be taking our business elsewhere

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlltheCarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards to the food and hotels location. I was somewhat taken back on your low scoring on service as we pride ourselves in delivering a professional friendly service as is noted by a lot of our guests; I can only assume that this was to do with our policy of not allowing children in the executive rooms. The hotel has made this policy to help keep the rooms a pristine condition, we do have a number of other bedrooms including family see view rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Character-full hotel in prime location with lovely views. I often travel with my dog and this is a genuinely dog friendly hotel. Children staying during visit too and the atmosphere in the hotel is friendly and welcoming, (with the occasional blip from individual staff in reception). Breakfast was superb and it was a pleasure to eat in a serviced dining room, however there was insufficient staff to make this experience totally enjoyable, which is such a shame as Antonio and the ladies worked so hard and were continually apologising. Another member of staff to support the three of them at busy times would have made such a difference. Had dinner there one evening and the standard is very good. Decoration is somewhat dated and removing the artificial flowers everywhere would improve that, however, the dated decor takes nothing from the ambiance. Lack of car parking is a bit of a downside but this is overcome by knowledgable staff. Enjoyed the visit so much will almost certainly return, so that's the best recommendation really.

Room Tip: A sea view would have made our visit even better. We found the rear room very hot, however the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. I am especially pleased that you found the atmosphere friendly especially for those with dogs and families and enjoyed the food and style of service. We have taken on board your comments about the flowers!! Once again thank you for your constructive comments, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £109 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing