We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay.”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely stay.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in Room 39 which was very clean and had great sea views. The beds were very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The hotel is a little old fashioned but in a good way. The staff are very helpful and pleasant making sure everything is just right for you. The best thing about this hotel is the food and the beautiful dining room. Everything in the dining room is set out so beautifully with white linen table cloths. The staff in the dining room are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. If you are only having bed and breakfast you must try dinner in the evening just once or you are missing out on something special. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view. Room 39 had a lovely view and was a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    96
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
151
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the mount hotel. Rooms are a little dated but are clean and sea view was great. Staff are friendly and food is good. The bar is a little quiet on a night and there is no entertainment. Overall a nice place though. Four stars from us.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel in Scarborough.

Clean, helpful, well positioned and excellent food.

Our children were made welcome. The breakfast is full service and a delight in a lovely dining room with views over the bay. The bar area is pleasant and friendly without charging outrageous prices.

If I had to be picky, the bedrooms were a little dated and I've slept in more comfortable beds.

We would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Critic_10152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in august.

Good position. Clean and friendly, Excellent views. Nice and plentiful breakfast.

On the downside, the decor is a little tired (although the dining room is lovely), the corridors are tight and parking is a nightmare in the town centre.

Have paid more to stay in worse hotels and stayed in better for less, however certainly would not put anybody off staying here.



Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dw132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
311 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A perfectly acceptable place for an overnight stay. Our room was quite a reasonable size, bathroom rather well maintained and equipped. Decor is very tired, really can do with a complete overhaul; at the very least paint the window frames! Breakfast is pretty good, staff attentive and very responsive. There is a small issue of parking in the centre of Scarborough, one can spend ages looking for a street parking place.
It feels that with the location it has there is potential to turn Mount Hotel into a special place, which would justify their prices; it is not special now, not by any stretch of imagination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one night when we finished walking the Cleveland Way. We had a spacious room with a sea view. The decour was a bit dated and the bathroom could do with a makeover (get rid of the shower curtain!). Nevertheless the bed was comfortable and there was no noise despite being near the lift. Very friendly service at breakfast. One odd thing though, the menu listed heather honey among the preserves. When it arrived it was blossom honey. When I queried this I was told that they only had blossom honey and never had had heather honey. I suggest they update their menu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEATHERSTONE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel was, clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly, polite and helpful.

The upstairs however, does not reflect the smartness of the downstairs and is a bit dim and tired looking.
I had breakfast in the hotel, service good if not a tad too quick, cutlery and other items very clean and pleasant a pleasure to eat there.
My one moan is that I had trouble with the toilet in that the handle snapped, I reported this about 6.30pm and fully expected when I returned it would be fixed this was not the case so I was left with the alternative of either going downstairs through the night or indeed lifting off the cistern lid and operating the flush myself which I did so as not to cause any extra work for the staff aor indeed any embarrassment to myself.
At 8.30am someone did attempt to repair the toilet to ne avail and when I left the Receptionist who did apologise to me was in the process of ringing for a plumber which should have happened in the first place.

I would visit the hotel again but should not have been allowed to happen in as much when the toilet broke it should have been repaired pronto.

Room Tip: one without a broken toilet and one overlooking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BONDINO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing