We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
196
115
57
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
115
57
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service sea view silver teapots sunday lunch traditional hotel dining room waitress service per day dog friendly hotel kippers comfortable hotel would stay again full english bit dated breakfast was excellent biscuits town centre
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here along with 8 others on the weekend of 07-09 Sept 2018.

I admit to feeling a little worried after seeing some of the most recent reviews and had a B&B lined up in case those reviews proved correct!

I need not have worried though as the hotel was very nice. The reception and dining areas are very clean. The staff are all very friendly and polite. The breakfast was the star of the show for me. Plentiful and very well cooked.

My room was a single and yes whilst it was a little tired looking and could do with a new carpet (I kept my socks on!!!) and decorating it served its purpose.

Will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIGEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear User Nigel B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay following your visit at The Mount Hotel and
pleased you enjoyed all aspect of your stay.
Hope to see you again next year.

Best Wishes
R. Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Excllent location, great hospitality, friendly staff , easy access to South Beach Scarborugh, Spa, seafront and the musuem. Good Value for money. Breakfast is okay- Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. Makes for a peaceful weekend stay

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jayanthikp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear User jayanthip,
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay
and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes.
R. Ramirez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This hotel is in great location in quiet corner .they have a key system which you hand in the key when going out hotel feels it could do with some tic but it's very clean and the staff are very friendly we had a excutive sea view room which was very nice and had tea and Coffee maker facilities etc it could have done with a ironing board you can ask for one if required but some don't like asking all the time. the breakfast was exellent with friendly staff the haddock was really nice the only problem was on the last day when are room had not been cleaned properly I would stay hear again especially after reading the reviews from some of the other hotels in the area

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear User Alan h,
It is always a pleasure to read positive comments and have feedback from our guests. Thank you for your
review. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.

Best wishes.
R Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Nice enough hotel. I called twice before to check that mum would be ok in her wheelchair. In fact when we got there they had to get out a very unstable ramp which took a while. We then discovered mum's wheelchair wouldn't even fit in to the lift! Finally got her upstairs to the room. Very narrow corridors. Lots of fire doors. A total nightmare for wheelchair users and those pushing them! Beware if you are in a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Have been coming to Scarborough for years, but first and last at The Mount.
Booked a sea view room for 1 night as treat for husbands 60th, and a concert at open air theatre .
Lovely view from room 33 ,room clean, staff polite, but that's about it!
Room needs updating; stains on carpet; water left in kettle; no mattress protector and sheet didn't fit the bed, width wise; couldn't flush toilet without lid falling down.
Breakfast service needs sorting. Very busy Sunday and not enough staff. Shouldn't have to wait for so long. Agree with other reviewers that there needs to be buffet-style for starters (juice, cereals etc.).
Serving staff should be able to take more than 1 order at a time, and remember who they had taken orders from.
Tea and coffee fine, but the full English breakfast disappointing for £15, some elements red hot, others warm. Expected toast to be served with breakfast, had to ask 10 minutes after finishing! When it arrived half was cremated and half not toasted.
It's such a shame that the manager answers these reviews, but doesn't seem to act on them, as this could be a lovely place. But as it is we won't be returning here.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank makins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews