We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“EXCELLENT STAY IN A BEAUTIFUL WELL EQUIPPED...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandy H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT STAY IN A BEAUTIFUL WELL EQUIPPED COTTAGE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just stayed for a week in this delightful 4 bedroomed cottage. The owners had left us a baggette loaf, butter and a bottle of wine for our arrival. A nice touch that was greatly appreciated. Its the little extras like this that made this a perfect place to stay.
Location was perfect, in the countryside but within 10 minutes drive into Scarborough so a relaxing week was had by all.
The cottage was four bedroomed (one bedroom downstairs for use by our disabled mum) and with a lovely kitchen and living area. Outside we frequently made use of the outdoor BBQ due to an exceptionally hot week of sunny weather.
I can not fault our stay here and will certainly recommend to friends and family.
A big thank you to our hosts.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill C
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a week long break in this fantastic cottage. Very quiet and peaceful location yet we found it to be the perfect base for trips to York, Flamingo Land and the coastline.
The garden is a wonderful place to relax on a sunny evening and the cottage is very well equipped and comfortable. For added convenience a petrol station / off licence, pub, chip shop and fish restaurant are just a short and pleasant walk from the cottage.
Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue205
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at River Cottage for a long weekend with family. It is a beautiful location and the cottage is very comfortable. The owners welcomed us and the bread, milk and wine were a lovely surprise. The downstairs bedroom and wet room were perfect for my father who has restricted mobility.

5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakki A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Self Catering Cottage You Could Wish For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just had such a wonderful time at River Cottage, super location, tucked away and peaceful, but only a five minute walk to the shop, pub and fish and chip shop along a pretty footpath.

The cottage was immaculately clean and well equipped, warm with the electric heaters and constant hot water from early morning to late at night, a super wood burner with an unlimited supply of logs and a garden down to the river that made you relax just looking at it! On the warmer days sitting out on the terrace looking over the gardens and river was so lovely, and a delightful spot to sit and read the papers.

The owners were welcoming, friendly and very patient with our slightly eager dog who wanted to meet and greet them and their animals each time she saw them.

Good location gave easy road access to Scarborough, Filey and Whtby, plus only an hour to York for the Air Museum and Designer Outlet shopping centre. Beach dog restrictions tended to be 1 May to end of September, so our dog had literally the run of most local beaches as we were outside the main holiday season.

Superb stay - well recommended for a great holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and actual cottage.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming cottage - great location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great stay at this cottage - greeted by owners and welcome gift of bread and wine was very welcome. Lovely quiet country location ! Great base for exploring Scarborough and the East Coast . Would definitely recommend.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, never been to better self catering accomdation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Top marks for the hosts, location, and local facilities. The Hungary Horse pubs are great for evening meals if you don,t want to cook but the cottage is so well equipped cooking is no problem. Ask your hosts for advice on travel, local eating holes and anything else and you won,t be disappointed

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: everything great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior 5 star cottage - Fantastic location!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just stayed at River Cottage for a week with my wife, 2 children aged 1 and 7, father and in-laws.

We were certainly not disappointed as the cottage lives up to it's 5 star rating. All the rooms were superbly presented and we were greeted when we arrived with a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. The downstairs bedroom was great for my elderly father and even better that he had his own wet room.

The grounds to the cottage were absolutely beautiful and it was a treat to sit outside, enjoy the scenery and make use of the purpose built barbecue. My 2 children loved playing in the gardens. We just had to keep an eye on our 1 year old as the river Derwent runs alongside the garden, although this wasn't an issue (although Father (Grandad) managed to go in for a paddle to retrieve his newspaper!!)

The cottage is in a great location, being only 4.5 miles from Scarborough. We also went on daytrips including Whitby, North Yorkshire Forest, Goathland (where Heartbeat was filmed), Bridlington (trip to the John Bull Rock Factory was interesting) and Betton Farm (just up the road from the cottage) was nice, especially the tearooms. We all enjoyed a morning stroll to the local Spar shop to get the daily newspapers!!

We all had a thoroughly great holiday at a fantastic cottage and we will definitely be looking to return again next year and explore the area further as there were many places we did not get to visit this time round.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$233
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing