We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We have just returned from a deal at this hotel. If you want to have a relaxing few days this is the place to stay. The standard of food was excellent and the presentation superb. Staff are friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. The setting of the hotel is lovely, the only noise is sheep and a woodpecker. A great place to chill out.. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedroWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,485 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful location and very handy for all local attractions. The food was very good and the wine list admirable although quite pricey. What let this hotel down for us was the room (18) in the attic, it was very small as was the bathroom. The shower trickled water which was either too hot or too cold. It was quite chilly in the room and the windows were in need of a good clean (black mold) or better still replacing. Our complimentary afternoon tea was poor (shop bought stale sponge cake and look warm coffee. There was one member of staff who was fantastic and that was Clive he seemed to run the place. We have used Travel Zoo for many weekend breaks and have to say we have stayed in better hotels for a similar price and even a lot less. We would not rush back to the Wrea Head and cannot understand how this hotel is so highly rated.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

The hotel is located in a beautiful and peaceful setting. Our room, which was very spacious, had a lovely view over the rear gardens. From the moment of arrival, we were made to feel exceptionally welcome - tea and cake at 4.00 p.m. in the lounge next to a roaring log fire. The menus were imaginative and the food very tasty and well presented. The wines in particular were superb. Breakfast could be as hearty as you dared it to be (scrummy !). All in all this hotel is set in an ideal spot for exploring the Yorkshire Coast and Moors, and any stay, however long, is guaranteed to restore one's sanity from this fast-moving life we all seem to lead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sainttrinnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We, together with another couple, have just returned from a 5-night break at this hotel. Not only was it a fantastic bargain, but the level of service was excellent. The setting of the hotel in such lovely grounds was stunning and we were very impressed by the staff who were so friendly and helpful in meeting all our requirements. The hotel itself was comfortable, well-appointed and provided a warm, friendly atmosphere. The food was great and the restaurant staff were so good-humoured and very obliging.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nangold1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The hotel exceeded our expectations in all aspects. We received a warm welcome and felt at home from the moment we arrived. Our room was luxurious,4 poster bed and hand tied flowers on the table. A Spring view from the bay window of trees and daffodils, from the en-suite window sheep and lambs.Truly a country house. We woke to the sound of birds singing and sheep bleating . The morning paper was delivered to our door to read before breakfast.
Food superb,excellent wine list ,friendly hosts,ideal location for visiting the surrounding tourist sites but hotel like a secret hideaway at the end of a busy day.
Thanks to Anne and all the staff for making our 30th Wedding anniversary so special and romantic.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in a standard room and although it was probably at the highest point in the building (room 21) it was very spacious, two double beds and very clean although the view to the gardens was restricted. There were ten of us and so we were given a private room for breakfast and dinner, the food was excellent and as indeed was the service. The location is ideal both for visits to the coast or the North Yorkshire Moors, there is just loads to do and see. We will almost certainly return this lovely well run hotel and thanks to Ann and the rest of the team.

Neil

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed 25th and 26th March - it was a lovely hotel with lovely grounds and we were pleasantly surprised. Booked on line and got a good deal with dinner included on first night. Our room was small and in the attic as one of the previous guests complained about, but we overlooked the gardens and it was fine for us (room 18). We would certainly stay there again, the staff were helpful, the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardaexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,612 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £87 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing