We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful Hotel, in idyllic setting,Hotel and food excellent; exceeded our expectations”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Peaceful idyllic setting in wonderful location. However easy access to roads to Whitby or Scarborough. Hotel maintained to a very high standard. Rooms very comfortable. We did look at the Suite [although we did not stay in this room] Suite and bathroom stunning. Staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast and evening meals were a delight. Would definitely like to re-visit

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annrobjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,505 - 1,511 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

We arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome. The hotel was beautiful and grand with the most wonderful gardens. It was a perfect choice to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable king size bed, it was also so peaceful and quiet. As for the food it was delicious mouthwatering and we were spoilt for choice. The staff were so friendly and worked hard to make our stay memorable. Would we visit again....you bet we would!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_taylor510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Myself and my Husband stayed for 2 nights at the hotel for our Wedding Anniversary the room we were given had a wonderful view and had been tastefully renovated. The offer consisted of home made cakes and tea on arrival these were definitely not home made they were shop bought sandwich cakes decorated with a strawberry and coulis!!! that wasnt a good start however the food in the restaurant was great however was suppose to have a bucks fizz breakfast and we never received our bucks fizz on either days of our stay. We also were suppose to have happy hour in the bar from 4.30pm to 5.30pm this was never explained to you and also was never given to you in your stay. It was disappointing to say the least because it was booked with these extras for our anniversary so I would advise anyone booking a similar offer make sure you receive these.

Room Tip: Go for breakfast before 9 gets really busy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayQueen025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wrea Head Country House. Your feed back is valuable to us and helps us to maintain standards. Sadly on this occasion we have let you down, as you can see from previous reviews this is not normal, and I apologise for your dissapointment.

Your comments have been discussed with members of the team whom assure me that more care will be taken in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wrea Head.

Kindest regards

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Just back from a short break to this hotel and have to say very impressed with all the staff there particularly Anne the Hotel Manager . Customer service was second to none and the food exceeded our expectations despite them being very high having read other reviews prior to going.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Don't miss happy hour !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband had booked the Wrea Head as a surprise weekend away for us. It certainly looks the part as you come up the long driveway. However the greeting we received was far from friendly. The receptionist eventually looked up and asked us to register details, which we did , she then told us afternoon tea would be served but to wait 5 minutes ( no problem ) and then showed us to our suite. A 'did you have a good journey?' would have been nice or even a smile!! I used to be a hotel receptionist and a smile costs nothing neither does a warm greeting. We dropped off the cases and made our way to the garden where we sat and although we were not in any rush, we were not sure it was even on order. My husband spoke to the same receptionist who said he had not asked for tea ?? and was in fact quite rudet. Tea eventually came with four biscuits and two thin slices of dry cake.

We stayed in the suite - the most expensive rooms in the hotel we are led to believe - and it was situated on the ground floor behind reception with a view of the car park! No beautiful views over the garden. We had to keep the blinds lowered in the lounge at all times as people parked right outside the window and could see in!! Whilst the suite itself was undoubtedly sumptious - king size bed, 42" TV, and a marble bathroom you could hold a party in (also with a TV built in over the marble bath) cleanliness was not top of the list in the bathroom. We had to clean the bath before we could use it due to limescale around the sides of the bath and there was a very suspect hair on the toilet seat......

On the plus side though the food was delicious, the views from the bar and conservatory were amazing and Anne and Clive were very accommodating. It does advertise a Cocktail Bar but in order to get one Clive needs to be on duty, and when he is you have been warned - the cocktails are lethal!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Dear Autab

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Wrea Head Country House. Your feed back is valuable to us and helps us to maintain standards.

I am disappointed to read that you did not receive a warm welcome from our receptionist, as you can see from previous reviews we are noted for our friendly and professional service. I apologise that we let you down, first impressions are very important!

Your comments regarding cleanliness surprised me, I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper and assure you that this is a priority and is at the top of our list!

Cocktails are now available regardless of Clive being on or off duty and I am told they are equally as good!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wrea Head and thank you once again for your comments.

Kindest regards

Anne Hodgson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We booked this hotel via Travel Zoo as a Honeymoon break, straight after our Wedding. The hotel is well signposted on the main road, you drive over a small bridge with ducks on the pond and then into the drive, the hotel is stunning when you arrive, a true country hotel. We arrived in Yorkshire after travelling from Bristol – we arrived just after 12noon knowing that we could not book in until 3pm – the reception staff where very helpful and checked to see if our room was available and it was so they let us book-in there and then. Are room was at the front of the hotel with beautiful views out over the Yorkshire Moors. The room was comfortable and clean although the shower was very small (like showering in a cupboard)! The staff were friendly, very efficient and helpful. We stayed Diner, Bed and Breakfast – the evening meals where just delicious, although we did have a bit of a wait for our desert on the second night. Breakfast again on the first day was slow but once it arrived was excellent. A great place to chill and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNewMrsMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We knew it was going to be good break from the minute we walked into the hotel. We were warmly greeted and quickly booked in and taken to a wonderful bedroom with fabulous views. Thought that a mistake had been made,but no, it was our room. This was followed by complementory afternoon tea. Our only complaint would be that the cake was not homemade as advertised and although accompanied by cream there was no spoon to eat it with. Both the evening meals and breakfasts were excellent . The staff were generally very helpful and all, in all were had a lovely stay. The hotel is sited in a very convenient position just outside Scarborough and within easy reach of the dales, Whitby and other resorts.

Room Tip: Thought the drinks were quite expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rexey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,673 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,002 reviews
2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £87 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing