We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wrea Head Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bay Norbreck Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,988)
Filter reviews
1,988 results
Traveller rating
1,540
333
76
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,540
333
76
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry houseindulgence menuroll top bathnew ownersthe general managerfour poster bedthe hotel managerbeautiful hotelpublic roomslog firestandard roomdining roomnight breakevening mealnorth yorkshirekippersrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,524 - 1,529 of 1,988 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Peaceful idyllic setting in wonderful location. However easy access to roads to Whitby or Scarborough. Hotel maintained to a very high standard. Rooms very comfortable. We did look at the Suite [although we did not stay in this room] Suite and bathroom stunning. Staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast and evening meals were a delight. Would definitely like to re-visit

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annrobjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome. The hotel was beautiful and grand with the most wonderful gardens. It was a perfect choice to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable king size bed, it was also so peaceful and quiet. As for the food it was delicious mouthwatering and we were spoilt for choice. The staff were so friendly and worked hard to make our stay memorable. Would we visit again....you bet we would!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_taylor510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Myself and my Husband stayed for 2 nights at the hotel for our Wedding Anniversary the room we were given had a wonderful view and had been tastefully renovated. The offer consisted of home made cakes and tea on arrival these were definitely not home made they were shop bought sandwich cakes decorated with a strawberry and coulis!!! that wasnt a good start however the food in the restaurant was great however was suppose to have a bucks fizz breakfast and we never received our bucks fizz on either days of our stay. We also were suppose to have happy hour in the bar from 4.30pm to 5.30pm this was never explained to you and also was never given to you in your stay. It was disappointing to say the least because it was booked with these extras for our anniversary so I would advise anyone booking a similar offer make sure you receive these.

Room Tip: Go for breakfast before 9 gets really busy!!!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayQueen025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wrea Head Country House. Your feed back is valuable to us and helps us to maintain standards. Sadly on this occasion we have let you down, as you can see from previous reviews this is not normal, and I apologise for your dissapointment.

Your comments have been discussed with members of the team whom assure me that more care will be taken in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wrea Head.

Kindest regards

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Just back from a short break to this hotel and have to say very impressed with all the staff there particularly Anne the Hotel Manager . Customer service was second to none and the food exceeded our expectations despite them being very high having read other reviews prior to going.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Don't miss happy hour !!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband had booked the Wrea Head as a surprise weekend away for us. It certainly looks the part as you come up the long driveway. However the greeting we received was far from friendly. The receptionist eventually looked up and asked us to register details, which we did , she then told us afternoon tea would be served but to wait 5 minutes ( no problem ) and then showed us to our suite. A 'did you have a good journey?' would have been nice or even a smile!! I used to be a hotel receptionist and a smile costs nothing neither does a warm greeting. We dropped off the cases and made our way to the garden where we sat and although we were not in any rush, we were not sure it was even on order. My husband spoke to the same receptionist who said he had not asked for tea ?? and was in fact quite rudet. Tea eventually came with four biscuits and two thin slices of dry cake.

We stayed in the suite - the most expensive rooms in the hotel we are led to believe - and it was situated on the ground floor behind reception with a view of the car park! No beautiful views over the garden. We had to keep the blinds lowered in the lounge at all times as people parked right outside the window and could see in!! Whilst the suite itself was undoubtedly sumptious - king size bed, 42" TV, and a marble bathroom you could hold a party in (also with a TV built in over the marble bath) cleanliness was not top of the list in the bathroom. We had to clean the bath before we could use it due to limescale around the sides of the bath and there was a very suspect hair on the toilet seat......

On the plus side though the food was delicious, the views from the bar and conservatory were amazing and Anne and Clive were very accommodating. It does advertise a Cocktail Bar but in order to get one Clive needs to be on duty, and when he is you have been warned - the cocktails are lethal!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Dear Autab

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Wrea Head Country House. Your feed back is valuable to us and helps us to maintain standards.

I am disappointed to read that you did not receive a warm welcome from our receptionist, as you can see from previous reviews we are noted for our friendly and professional service. I apologise that we let you down, first impressions are very important!

Your comments regarding cleanliness surprised me, I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper and assure you that this is a priority and is at the top of our list!

Cocktails are now available regardless of Clive being on or off duty and I am told they are equally as good!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wrea Head and thank you once again for your comments.

Kindest regards

Anne Hodgson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews