We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the fourth stay at the wrea head hotel we love it and we'll be back there soon”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the fourth stay at the wrea head hotel we love it and we'll be back there soon”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Many thanks to Anne on the management team and member's of staff that made are 3 night stay at the wrea head country hotel so perfect, each member of staff where so attentive and helpfull and made us to feel so special and that's why Margaret and myself keep coming back to this hotel, it's a place where you can unwind and get that special treatment that a lot of hotels fail to deliver,so with the service ,food, and accommodation you get I have to give 10/10.
If you take are advice and treat yourself with a stay at this hotel you won'd regret it.

Peter and Margaret Mather

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    321
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
210
1,291
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Really enjoyed our two day stay at this hotel, staff friendly and efficient. Dinner on first evening was ok but very good on second evening. Nice touch was afternoon tea, made guests mingle well and broke ice. Room very good, would have liked proper shower rather han one off taps in bath, however room spotlessly clean. Set in nice grounds, good views, Do not think because of name that near sea, some four miles inland, and about the same from Scarborough, own transport an advantage

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The restaurant organisation was exceptional with virtualy zero waiting time once seated and the food was cooked perfectly and presented pleasantly..

Great for relaxing in complete tranquility although come on guys...... An indoor pool would give it a massive boost.

Compliments to Ann running the very tight ship and all of the staff who were always freindly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike499614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your kind comments are much appreciated by all the team.

I agree a swimming pool would be great especially when we are having such great weather, perhaps there is a director reading this and thinking the same.....I wish!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, meanwhile enjoy the rest of the summer and keep in mind for the Winter time that Wrea head is a great place for a cosy atomosphere, log burning fires and hot toddies!

Kindest regards

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have just returned from a Travelzoo two night break at Wrea Head Country House Hotel in Scalby and have had a fantastic value for money time. The entrance to the hotel is via a long driveway across fields with horses and sheep grazing. This sets the context of what is to follow, a lovely peaceful stay in a beautiful country house steeped in history and most of all character.If your liking is for new plastic hotels this place is not for you. However if you want a trulty restful break in a fantastic setting then you must give this a try.
My wife and I have travelled extensively around the world but have never experienced the hospitality and service we received on our arrival at the hotel. The hotel manager herself booked is in and made us feel at home straight away. Our luggage was taken to our room and nothing was too much trouble.
Rooms are fine, clean and nicely decorated. Please remember this hotel is over 120 years old so expect a few flaws with creaking floor boards, rattling plumbing or sticky windows. That's what makes this place what it is.
If you want more room than average and a great view I can recommend upgrading your room. If you want a small room with no view then settle for a standard room.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. It was always served piping hot and very well presented. An excellent choice too. I wish this restaurant was nearer to where I live and I would happily eat there more often.
The bar drinks are expensive but are what hotels are now charging. My personal view is that if you want to use this hotel to drink lots of alcohol then be prepared to pay. But I personally thought the drinks premium was well worth the location. Most of all they were served to you by such excellent staff and the difference in cost between the hotel and a pub in the nearest viliage wouldn't get you a taxi to the bottom of the drive. So enjoy a quiet drink in excellent surroundings, rolling english countryside, a cricket match in the fields and if you are lucky , like we were, view deer in the hotel gardens, it's worth every penny. These thoughts are not just ours, we chatted to many other guests in the hotel and everyone agreed.
All in all, lovely break in a great hotel served by a wonderful team under the supervision of the hotels ambassador. Anne.
We shall definately return soon.
To all the hotel's team, "Thank-you"
Webbo11

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Dear Webbo 11

Thank you so much for your glowing and detailed review of your stay at Wrea Head. The team were beaming with joy after reading it! The long hours and hard work seem far more worthwhile when we hear that guests have enjoyed their time with us.

During your stay we had a particularly good crowd of guests who created a wonderful atmosphere – a great time had by all, as a Manager it was a delight for me to see.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, meanwhile enjoy the rest of the summer, don’t forget though winter at Wrea Head is fabulous and cosy with all those lovely log fires burning!

Our very best wishes and thanks again!

Kindest regards

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House

p.s. I have a feeling this maybe Mr/s Webster and if so…. Enjoy your next cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Wrea Head Country House Hotel - we have had a wonderful time. Anne and all her staff were most welcoming and we found that nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was on the first floor with lovely views across the garden, a large well furnished light and airy room, with a large bathroom ensuite. The food was excellent - we cannot praise the hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norval8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Had a brilliant couple of nights here. Hotel is in a lovely peaceful setting staff were friendly and welcoming and keen that we had everything we wanted. Room was very comfortable and we discovered there were even nicer rooms available for those in the know!

Food was excellent staff courteous and friendly. Would definitely return to this hotel and can recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing break on the East Yorkshire Coast.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcircles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were freindly and helpful. The room was very clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated and had a bed big enough for the whole family to sleep in. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyB034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,531 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing