We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently below par but huge potential”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cotonou, Benin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Currently below par but huge potential”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having just spent 10 days touring in England we feel quite well placed to judge Wrea Head Hall as the least professionally run of the four hotels used, but also the one with the greatest potential. If you are reading this review in a year's time then it will have sharpened up its act to stay in business. The setting is good and the superior room we stayed in had the right kind of shabby chic country-house feel, was a good size, well kept and spotlessly clean. Where the hotel falls down is on the finishing touches. Contrary to the other enthusiastic reviews our welcome was lackadaisical and the departure even more so. There is no attempt to provide information about the hotel facilities, none of the touches such as a pencil and notepad, shower cap or additional toiletries found in all the cheaper establishments we used. WiFi didn't work in the room because of the distance from the transmitter but it was so slow in the lounge areas we used our 3G connection instead. The younger staff were helpful and very pleasant but the older members of staff seemed to have a less attentive, distracted approach. The food is a curious mixture of excellently done central parts to the dish (the meat is excellent but no info on its source) but then gives the feeling that someone has dictated this is Yorkshire and there should be lots more on the plate which is heaped with a mixture of steamed side vegetables. Because the main elements of the dishes are so good, it's hard to believe the rest is the chef's idea. Breakfast was similar in that the main bits were good but the local cash-and-carry seemed to have provided undrinkable juice (orange?) and the most insipid tea drunk in years. The room teabags were better. Black pudding is supposed to be something of a northern speciality but a thin half slice about 1.5 inches long and less than an inch broad at its greatest was a joke! We'll remember the Great Yorkshire Black Pudding Shortage for some time to come. As suggested, we believe that another six months could produce a superior stay because the potential is there both in the building itself, the setting and the main kitchen; breakfast is another matter. Constructively, we would say try it for a night for now but hold off on booking any longer stay until you are sure it suits you. Hopefully the reviews in six months or so will encourage us back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £10 for a superior room with space and a rural view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADirector, Owner at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your comments we also believe it has huge potential and that’s why we purchased it a few month ago. We like to have both the good and the constructive so we can make the improvement’s needed to have the Hotel meet everyone’s expectations.

We have started a program of refurbishment that also includes the room packs and toiletries et so you are correct in your statement that they are either not available or in limited supply but this is all in hand and we would have been more than happy to answer any questions or provide any item required at reception should you have needed it. As for the Wi Fi this was installed three weeks ago and although it was tested in all rooms we have had a number of comments over the two furthest rooms as I explained to you personally so we had already requested them to come back to boost the signal. As we are a long distance from the exchange our bandwidth is rather limited but we have no control over this element until BT upgrade the exchange something they tell us they have plans to do.

As of today the new bathroom toiletries have arrived and the old brand is being replaced with additional products. On the food I agree that the orange juice could be improved and chef has been tasked with finding a new supplier. With the black pudding most of our guests do not eat a full slice so the half slice was introduced some years ago to reduce wastage and avoid the great black pudding mountain. We are more than happy to add more if a guest requests it and as we are in the design stage with the new breakfast menu we will take this on board and inform people they can select a larger portion if they would like it. As for the tea it’s the same in the room as the dining room so I am a little confused over this one but again it’s on our list of products for review.

One of the key assets of this hotel are the staff and as you can see over the many comments on Trip Advisor they are all very engaging with the customers, as it was a Bank Holiday and we were fully booked they may have had a little less time to spend talking to guests versus managing the flow of people in and out of the hotel and dining rooms but if you had equally engaged with them I am sure you would have found them very friendly and helpful. I hope you re visit us in a years’ time to see what changes have been made to the Hotel and check that we now meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    321
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
210
1,291
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is our third stay, as always food and service excellent! High standards been maintained! Good sized room, clean! Excellent location! Look forward to our stay.

Room Tip: Room 10 nice standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Was really looking forward to our stay here after looking at the stunning pics on trip advisor.however, our room was nothing like any of the pictures on the site, being much smaller and in need of a good clean. We were disappointed as my husband paid more than we usually pay, to stay in a 'superior' room. We have definitely stayed in bigger, cleaner nicer rooms for less. You may be lucky and get one of the rooms featured but beware they're not all like that. Other small complaint, at breakfast we both requested soft poached eggs, both were hard.Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyp711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADirector, Owner at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment but in a property such as Wrea Head Hall where every room is individual in shape, size and outlook we have tried to grouped them into Standard, Superior and Deluxe. During the extremely busy bank holiday weekend the deluxe rooms had been booked well in advance and I think it’s these rooms that you refer to in your comments. All the superior rooms one of which you booked via the internet are of a similar size but each is very different in style and all are located on the 1st floor of the building. Rooms are allocated in number order by the internet booking systems. During quieter periods we would have been happy to show you other rooms but due to it being a bank holiday we were fully booked.
As for the room being dirty you had noticed a small mark on one of the display cushions that was removed straight away for dry cleaning and a dusty blind that was also cleaned immediately. We try to maintain the highest standards of cleaning but sometimes we can miss small marks and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
As for the poached eggs we would have been happy to have changed these if you have raised this to the waiter on duty in the dining room.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel and hope you will return to see the changes and would suggest you call us directly to discuss the rooms available as we are happy to explain the size, style and outlook something that cannot always be done over the internet.
We hope you enjoyed your anniversary and the complementary bottle of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have visited this hotel at least 4 times .IT has always been an impressive location,comfortable accommodation served by competent and friendly staff.The new owner has retained the best staff ,manager ANNE in particular and has increased the chef,s budget,enabling him to produce an excellent and varied menu.
The new owner has made a excellent start and we look forward to checking his progress later this year or early next year.Finally an excellent base from which to explore North Yorkshire

KEITH AND ANNE

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Visited Wrea Head for the third time this May. A wonderful place to come to and unwind. Beautiful building, friendly and attentive staff, excellent food, fantastic views and very relaxing.
Having met one of the new owners feel it is in very good hands. Too many places with character and history are spoilt but feel that the new owners' philosophy will keep what is so special about Wrea Head and enhance it. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Heard about Wrea Head from a friend who stayed there a few years ago - but apprehensive about changes in ownership.Stunning approach to the hotel with wonderful well maintained gardens. Wonderful warm welcome from Anne who soon had us checked into and shown to our room. Very comfortable room which I am sure the new owners will improve. Sadly we arrived too late for dinner but the menu looked impressive. Drinks in the bar / conservatory were most welcome - new carpets arriving that night we heard!! Breakfast was effciently served and provided a good choice - wished the tables weren't so regimented in rows butgave another good view over the gardens. Sorry to leave but plan to return to view the developments planned by the new owners.

Room Tip: Ask Anne when you book - which room she suggests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A well run hotel- very relaxing atmosphere- helpful staff-excellent food-lovely gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,531 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing