We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly English Country Experience Supurb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Aust
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A truly English Country Experience Supurb!”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

As an Australian couple touring the UK for the past four weeks we have spent the last four days at Wrea Head Country Hotel enjoying a truly special experience. We have enjoyed having plenty of room in our comfortable room with a sitting area and wonderful views of the beautiful English gardens and countryside outside our windows. We had room 8. The building is beautifully decorated in both period and modern that tastefully complements the surroundings. The staff led by the very friendly and professional Manager Anne are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The evening meals are divine, a work of art delicious. Anne assisted us each night with a wonderful wine to complement our meal. There is an attention to detail that provides you with a very special experience. If you are in the Yorkshire area this is the place to stay. Thank you to Anne and all of her staff for a truly Supurb experience in the final days of our UK holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firsttime09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    313
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
204
1,254
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We saw the advert for this hotel in Yorkshire Life magazine and were pleased we did. This is a beautiful old property with bags of character. My husband and I took our 18 month old daughter and my mother to stay overnight. My mum had a single / small double room which was very pleasant indeed. We had a large double with particularly beautiful views out of the dual aspect windows. Although a travel cot wasn't provided for our little one that was no problem as we were travelling with one and knew we needed it in advance. We were sensibly placed in the hotel so that it was very quiet for the baby (not that any part of the hotel seemed likely to be noisy) and so that other guests were less likely to be disturbed in the event she decided to be grumpy, which thankfully she didn't.
On arrival the welcome was warm and pleasant and we were assured that we could ask if we needed anything. We had a drink before dinner in the well stocked bar and then had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant. The food was good and the staff proved to be knowledgeable and efficient.
We had a very comfortable night. The room temperature was good and better than in many hotels where the temp is often too high even with climate control in the rooms. It was quiet and there was nothing to disturb us until we decided it was time to get up.
Breakfast was slightly more informal but the continental and full english options were both very good and it really tickled me when our little one was called madam when presented with her morning milk! big smiles all around.
All in all we would stay there again happily should we revisit the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolindenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We again returned to Wrea Hall for a short two day break last week and we can only say it was a pleasure to return. The new owners have added there touchs in several areas and can I just say that if they continue, the place will be like it used to be if not better, we spoke to an elderly couple who had returned after a four year break and were really impressed with what had been done and only had good things to say. The weather was deplorable but that did not deture us from enjoying the place, the food and service again was spot on, and we had a few drinks with Jerry one of the owners on both nights he was both a good host and good company. I can not fault the place and will return again soon. If you deside to give it a go Im quite sure you will be impressed ask for a superior room if not just for the space hope the place goes from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjefferson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Got a bargain last minute deal (7th June) and I am so glad to have discovered this hotel which is set in lovely green grounds well away from other buildings and traffic. We loved it so much we refused to accept the inferior hotel room I had booked elsewhere (same 3* grade but nowhere near as good a hotel as here) and booked a 2nd night at Wrea Head instead - I was prepared to pay much more for my 2nd night (8th June) which gives you an indication of how pleased I was with the hotel. Wrea Head itself is full of character, with great sized rooms downstairs containing lots of lovely features - it has a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, whilst feeling very stately and grand due to the panelling, stained glass, beautiful fireplaces and furnishings. We found all staff (young and older !) to be very friendly and approachable. They enjoyed friendly banter with my chatty husband and didn't intrude when we were quietly relaxing. WiFi access was available and quick enough for me downstairs and in my 1st floor bedroom. Our first night here was spent on the 3rd floor and there was no WiFi there, but the room was cute, well furnished and had a modern bathroom and great views. The 1st floor bedroom was bigger and had lovely furnishings and views, but the bathroom although large with separate bath and shower, needed some TLC. As there is to be some updating due to new ownership I am sure that this is in the pipeline and can only make an already fabulous hotel, truly stunning - we will be returning ! PS - breakfasts were great too. I was impressed with the freshly prepared fruit salad each morning and the poached eggs were cooked perfectly. All usual brakfast foods available - kelloggs cereals, nuts, yoghurts, coissants etc.I had no issue with the breakfast juice and I am fussy !

Room Tip: I was more than happy with my cute 3rd floor room which was cheaper as it was more modern, so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

stayed for one night (7th june)...lovely location,warm welcome,great food,nice room and very polite members of staff. if ever visiting scarborough book a night here and you will be delighted with the views and hospitality.
thanks to all staff who made are brief stay enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilfox4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theydon Bois, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a genuine review. We have just spent three nights at Wrea Head and were very impressed. We stayed at the hotel about four years and it was just about adequate. The hotel was part of the English Rose Group who seem to be selling all their hotels. Hackness Grange, just up the road, is up for sale now and Wrea Head was sold eight weeks ago. In that time the new owners have made great improvements.

The bedroom we had was a big room at the top of the hotel with two double beds, newly decorated with a smart new bathroom. Down side - No lift so long winding climb up hill.

The hotel manageress was quite the best we have come across and this reflected in the rest of the staff.

The bar and restaurant have great views across parkland and had just been redecorated. The carpet in the bar was replaced while we were there.

We found the restaurant menu imaginative and well presented.

We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having just spent 10 days touring in England we feel quite well placed to judge Wrea Head Hall as the least professionally run of the four hotels used, but also the one with the greatest potential. If you are reading this review in a year's time then it will have sharpened up its act to stay in business. The setting is good and the superior room we stayed in had the right kind of shabby chic country-house feel, was a good size, well kept and spotlessly clean. Where the hotel falls down is on the finishing touches. Contrary to the other enthusiastic reviews our welcome was lackadaisical and the departure even more so. There is no attempt to provide information about the hotel facilities, none of the touches such as a pencil and notepad, shower cap or additional toiletries found in all the cheaper establishments we used. WiFi didn't work in the room because of the distance from the transmitter but it was so slow in the lounge areas we used our 3G connection instead. The younger staff were helpful and very pleasant but the older members of staff seemed to have a less attentive, distracted approach. The food is a curious mixture of excellently done central parts to the dish (the meat is excellent but no info on its source) but then gives the feeling that someone has dictated this is Yorkshire and there should be lots more on the plate which is heaped with a mixture of steamed side vegetables. Because the main elements of the dishes are so good, it's hard to believe the rest is the chef's idea. Breakfast was similar in that the main bits were good but the local cash-and-carry seemed to have provided undrinkable juice (orange?) and the most insipid tea drunk in years. The room teabags were better. Black pudding is supposed to be something of a northern speciality but a thin half slice about 1.5 inches long and less than an inch broad at its greatest was a joke! We'll remember the Great Yorkshire Black Pudding Shortage for some time to come. As suggested, we believe that another six months could produce a superior stay because the potential is there both in the building itself, the setting and the main kitchen; breakfast is another matter. Constructively, we would say try it for a night for now but hold off on booking any longer stay until you are sure it suits you. Hopefully the reviews in six months or so will encourage us back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £10 for a superior room with space and a rural view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADirector, Owner at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your comments we also believe it has huge potential and that’s why we purchased it a few month ago. We like to have both the good and the constructive so we can make the improvement’s needed to have the Hotel meet everyone’s expectations.

We have started a program of refurbishment that also includes the room packs and toiletries et so you are correct in your statement that they are either not available or in limited supply but this is all in hand and we would have been more than happy to answer any questions or provide any item required at reception should you have needed it. As for the Wi Fi this was installed three weeks ago and although it was tested in all rooms we have had a number of comments over the two furthest rooms as I explained to you personally so we had already requested them to come back to boost the signal. As we are a long distance from the exchange our bandwidth is rather limited but we have no control over this element until BT upgrade the exchange something they tell us they have plans to do.

As of today the new bathroom toiletries have arrived and the old brand is being replaced with additional products. On the food I agree that the orange juice could be improved and chef has been tasked with finding a new supplier. With the black pudding most of our guests do not eat a full slice so the half slice was introduced some years ago to reduce wastage and avoid the great black pudding mountain. We are more than happy to add more if a guest requests it and as we are in the design stage with the new breakfast menu we will take this on board and inform people they can select a larger portion if they would like it. As for the tea it’s the same in the room as the dining room so I am a little confused over this one but again it’s on our list of products for review.

One of the key assets of this hotel are the staff and as you can see over the many comments on Trip Advisor they are all very engaging with the customers, as it was a Bank Holiday and we were fully booked they may have had a little less time to spend talking to guests versus managing the flow of people in and out of the hotel and dining rooms but if you had equally engaged with them I am sure you would have found them very friendly and helpful. I hope you re visit us in a years’ time to see what changes have been made to the Hotel and check that we now meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
457 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing