We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service.”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We were welcomed with a smile. The rooms felt lovely and warm after a cold day. The bar service was servered by a young lad who was cheerful and pleasent. The evening meal was excellent, very tasty and well presented. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

ok im going to start off with up until 6 months ago this hotel was part of a chain of hotels, it was purchased around 6 months ago by the current owners Gerry and Mark, who i had great pleasure in chatting to and asking of theire plans for the hotel when i found out they had recently purchased it, from what they say and photos shown to us the hotel was / is in need of some refurbishment, they are working their way around the entire building (with minimul disruption to the residents) theire plan will take up to 3 yrs,(this included the planned Gym and Indoor pool. so far they have done a lot behind the scenes and in front of house, the bar the restaurant and many other places, and they are passionate about the hotel, the plans they have sound excellent , but it will take time and has to be done while trying to run the hotel and keep everyone happy, and im sure if any of you stay there and there is any little thing that you dislike maybe a quick chat with Gerry and he will be able to explain as to why it is like this.

ok as for the hotel, it is set away from the main town and about 1/2 mile off of the road and in lush gardens, it is quiet , very quite and peaceful, no cars , no noise, no loud tourists, the grounds are well looked after and i can only immagine they look wonderful in spring and summer, ample parking for all. a fair size patio set just outside the bar, impressive wooden panel wall as you enter through the main door to check in, check in for us was smooth and withourt a hitch, we were (uknown to us at the time) checked in by Gerry who was more than happy to carry our bags and show us to our rooms, our rooms were rooms 17 and 18, ok a bit small but they were the last ones left when we booked, that said its not the sort of hotel were you go to spend all day in your room,the rooms were clean and tidy, well decorated everything worked, bath and shower worked , water temp in shower can change a bit so be aware,bathrooms a bit small but these rooms were origanly the servants rooms, yes there is some refurbishment planned as we soon learnt that this will start in January 2013,for this wing, this building is over 120 yrs and by all account negelcted a bit in the last 15 yrs, the history of the house is very interesting indeed, the lounge areas of the hotel are well furnished, clean, bright and warm, the bar has been re-decorated and brought upto date with the new colours and make you feel very welcome, the conservatory is a nice place to chill while waiting to eat,the dining room is just that a dinning room, the resturant has been totaly redecorated and has a nice ambiance about it, service was lets say a 9 out of 10 ,the breakfast were excellen,t ample and hot, we stayed both night at the hotel to eat and enjoyed the indulgence menue, on the first night the food could not be faulted, unfortunatly on the second night it seemed the kitchen was under a lot of pressure and my lamb was overcooked, dissapointed a bit buit not enough to ruin a great weekend spent at this hotel, i will say the food is great value for the money, so hats off to the staff and Owners of The Wrea Head Hotel, looking forward to a return visit some time next summer.

Room Tip: if you have problems climbing stairs then i suggest you contact the hotel direct and make sure your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgermaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

the young men who were the waiters at dinner and breakfast ,looked a lllittle bit out off their depth, the seemed to spring into life when ann came on the scene,but she wasnt there at breakfast,andit showed,they seem to need constant supervision,other than that it was o.k

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougie183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We loved the look of the website, it sounded exactly like the type of place for us. Unfortunately, there wasn't a photo of our bedroom but the description sounded great and we called the hotel for further details. This was our first mistake as the bedroom and bathroom were very dated, not as clean as they should be and not at all what we expected. What a disappointment but there is a lesson - never book anywhere without seeing a photograph!

Breakfast was one of the worst we have ever had, very poor quality. We noticed that for additional items there were charges so we checked this with the waitress and she confirmed we would have to pay extra. Never heard of that before but noticed other guests with money on the tables. We didn't like that at all.

Some attempt has been made to improve the public areas but really, somehow, they just don't seem to work and have no 'wow' factor. Actually, when we checked in we weren't shown the public areas, nor given details of the breakfast time or location - strange! There also wasn't any information in the room on this sort of thing, odd again.

Not for us!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADirector, Owner at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay but I do find some of your comments very confusing. For instance you say you were not informed about the public spaces, well you are not able to get to the bedrooms without passing through the public spaces and we are not the size of hotel you that you could possibly miss them.
Also you say people were paying for food at breakfast well first we don’t charge for any additional items and second we don’t have a till everything is charged to the room if you are a resident?
Each room of the hotel is very different and without knowing what room you stayed in I cannot reply to your comments other than to say everyone has different expectations and as you can see on this web site the majority of people like the rooms they have booked.
As for the quality of breakfast again majority of the comments on this site contradict your statement but without knowing what it was that you were disappointed with it’s hard to comments and I take it you had not tried everything on the menu!
Room compendiums are available in rooms but its sound like you may have stayed some time ago when we were changing them over.
As for the Wow factor again I point you in the direction of others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our fourth visit to this hotel & we have always had a fantastic stay.
Wrea Head now has a new owner who is investing in the hotel to make it even better.
The staff are always very helpful & friendly & the food is to be recommended.
We stayed in a superior room which looked like it had just been tastfully refurbished, the views across the fields to the cricket ground are wonderful.
What we really like is it's location, it is set in spacious grounds, very quite but close to Scarbourgh & the main routes up & down the coast.
We have booked again to stay with friends in Oct 12, which we are really looking forward to going back.
Steve & Elaine, Lincoln.

Room Tip: Spend a little more & upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveoLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Beautiful Manor house currently in the process of refurbishment by new owners, First time we have stayed here, Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, Breakfast was ok, the evening dinners were superb cooked by a chef who obviously knows his trade, the puddings were equally scrumptious, The BAR was of a contemporary design which was unusual in a period property, was a complementary contrast to the period architecture creating a conducive ambience prior to dining. The Bedroom was a disppointment as it was in drastic need of refurbishment, the ensuite was old fashoned with a linoleum floor complete with a hole, the saving grace was the very large and very comfortable bed, with lovely bedroom furnishings the views of the garden were a welcoming sight early morning. This Hotel is one to watch as there is much potential for the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors unsutable for those with challenging mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

loved this hotel,stayed in many over the years,this is up there with the best.The experience was one of pure relaxation. The house is beautiful with a lovely view over the gorgeous gardens. The evening meal was fantastic,and the breakfast was just as good.The ambience of the hotel was superb,loved sitting near the roaring fire. It only takes approx ten minutes via car to get to Scarborough. The staff are absolutely delightful,they are so lovely and personable,they make you feel so at home,so Anne the manager,and Jack the assistant manager, we will be back to see you,and the gorgeous hotel,,luuuuurved it,,,!!! xcx The quirky couple. X

Room Tip: Room 5, beautiful view over garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,593 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing