We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Gainford, Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I spotted the advert for this hotel in a magazine when we were thinking about spending a couple of days, with an overnight stay, on the North Yorks coast. We booked and discovered we had stumbled on a perfect country house hotel. The coast in January can be bleak, but there are no crowds, and having Wrea Head Hall to retreat to at the end of the day was wonderful, even though we had chosen a sunny day!

The hotel has recently changed hands and the owners are undertaking a programme of refurbishment, attempting to recreate the atmosphere of the house when it was built in 1881 as a private residence. The public rooms have been completed and the result is stunning. Wood panelling, comfortable leather chairs and sofas, and restrained but creative decoration enhanced the welcome offered by the staff.

Our room had been refurbished and was in reflected the country house ambiance, bath in the room, separate en suite shower room, oak gothic tester bed and views of the extensive grounds.

They have also found a chef who clearly has flair and imagination because dinner and breakfast were first class.

This hotel deserves to be successful and we shall certainly return before too long.

Room Tip: There are online descriptions of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    312
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
202
1,237
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at Wrea Head 1- 3 January. Arrived in foul weather but immediately felt that we had been transported to Downton Abbey as Lord and Lady.

The downstairs rooms are lovely, chic and modern but in keeping with the house's age.

Our bedroom was very large, warm, quiet with great bed. You do need to bear in that this is an old building which the owners are refurbishing so perhaps some of the corridors are showing their age. However, I can't bring myself to be critical at all, the staff are professional and make you feel like royalty.

The food is excellent: great chef. We ate breakfasts, bar lunches and dinners, all very good.

The location is lovely, fab views and an easy walk into Scalby village which has 2 pubs.

10 minute drive to north bay Scarborough.

We will be back!!!!

Loved every minute.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Every year during the first weekend of the miserable month of January we escape to this wonderful bolt-hole on the wild and beautiful east coast of of Yorkshire. We've been doing this trip for the past 10 years and Wrea Head never disappoints. The inglenook is my favourite place to sit whilst watching the flames. The food is divine and Anne (hotel manager) never fails to give us a wonderful welcome. This time we had one of the re-furbished rooms which did not disappoint and is well worth paying the extra for. We chilled more around the hotel more this time and enjoyed the library too - what an excellent selection of books. We don't really want too many people to know about this place because it's our secret......but I've just had to share with you a few of you on the internet....enjoy if you go!!!

Room Tip: Room 16 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Myself and my partner stayed for one night at Wrea Head Hall and both fell in love with the place. The stone built house is set in very scenic grounds and inside is as beautiful as the outside. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and on arrival we was offered to upgrade our room for a very minimal charge. The room we was then shown to was stunning, the bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was of a very high standard with everywhere being very clean. Breakfast was included in the price and yet again didn't disappoint, there was a choice of breakfasts to cater for everyone but I stuck with English which was very nice using fresh quality ingredients. It's a shame we was only there for one night but will be definitely returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We didn't stay over but went to the New Years Eve Dinner and Dance. The service was excellent with everyone very welcoming and polite. The meal was exceptional, the risotto was sublime, the sorbet refreshing and the fillet steak excellent. The after dinner disco was great with a mixture of music from traditional to rock. Will definitely look to stay next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. On the first night we visited Bridlington so knew we would not be back in time for evening meal, Anne offered to leave a salad of our choice plus dessert for our return. We decided to cut short our Bridlington visit, I called Anne to ask if we could change our plans and have evening meal. This was no problem and are we glad we ate our meal there as the food and the service were faultless. Breakfast and again the service top class.
New Years celebrations, the 7 course meal was excellent, a good night in every way.
What a choice for New Year's Day brunch, even steak and chips on the menu!
An excellent stay, ok we had room 4 and it does need some work would love to stay in it when it has been refurbished.
Before our next visit need to do some revision as the New Years night quiz was far too difficult even google didn't know some of the answers!!
Well done to all the staff we had a great time.
Ps stayed at another hotel last NYE which is the nr 1 in Yorkshire and both the food and the night was better at Wrea Head.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Wrea Head for 3 nights over the New Year. Initially we were concerned that some areas of the hotel are still undergoing refurbishment. The main public areas are excellent, as are some of the bedrooms.The website makes it clear which rooms still require upgrading. If you can afford it I'd opt for the refurbished rooms.Some of the corridors are also quite dated.
However don't let this put you off as there are so many great things about the hotel. The staff, food and atmosphere are all fantastic. The owners are very friendly and Anne the manager is amazing, nothing is too much trouble for her.
We had room 14 and our friends had room 16, both have been expensively refurbished and have very comfortable beds. Although the rooms were surface clean I felt they needed a good spring clean as we found crisps and dust in the sides of armchairs.
We enjoyed the adult rather than family atmosphere as now our children are grown up it suited us better. A very relaxing, quiet location with the plentiful food being some of the best we've eaten.
Obviously prices over the New Year period are more expensive, probably too expensive until the hotel reaches it's full potential but I am sure value at other times is good.

Room Tip: Go for the refurbished rooms if you can afford it, the website describes individual rooms very accur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John420Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing