We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent change”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent change”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

my husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past
and were gradually disappointed more each time we went this was mainly due to the standard of food.
Well what a change this time now under new ownership this hotel is really getting ready to go places.
The food was excellent and the wine list is very reasonably priced the staff in all areas
were very helpful ,friendly and were very happy to tell all about the plans of the new owners
the hotel grounds are a delight to wander in or just enjoy from the terrace as we did in the sun with a pot of tea.
All In all we had a perfect stay this time my mother came with us and she had room 5 it was a very nice room with good views
we had room 15 which has been refurbished with a real WOW factor bathroom
we will be very pleased to return to the Wrea head it has such a relaxing effect which all the staff
work hard to maintain and the food was excellent
well done!!!



t

Room Tip: ask for refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    315
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
208
1,275
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Celebrated my 50th Birthday with a group of friends last weekend at Wrea Head Hall. My husband and I used to visit this hotel quite regularly, but had not been for several years. We always enjoyed the hotel, most especially the restaurant and so I decided it would be a good idea to try it again for my birthday. Most of the bedrooms have recently undergone a refurbishment, and our party booked five rooms of various grades, all refurbished. I saw all the rooms (7, 8, 15, 16, & 19), and they were all lovely, individual and done to a high standard. We had room 8 which is a luxury grade, with a very comfortable four poster bed and a fabulous bathroom, I would highly recommend it.
We dined in the restaurant both evenings, both off the standard and the more expensive indulgence menu. The food was of a very high standard and the service very attentive without being over the top. Breakfast is also served in this restaurant, and again was fabulous, with all the hot food being cooked to order.
We were made to feel very welcome and a good time was had by all and we will certainly visit again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: If your budget allows choose a deluxe or luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A family weekend for a late celebration of my birthday,thanks to my son who chose rhos hotel,and what a choice.
It is without doubt one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at,the setting is lovely,the staff super,the food scrumptious.
Well done Wrea Head Hall.
Pitty you cannot control the weather.

Room Tip: Room 14 is very comfortable and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donchemney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Two weeks ago we celebrated my husband's 70th birthday with a 3 night stay inviting 2 couples to join us for 2 nights. We had stayed at the Wrea Head last year and were delighted with all aspects of the service and quality provided, again we were not disappointed . The welcome and attention received from Anne and the rest of the staff was impeccable. Anne made sure our stay was perfect. We had the newly refurbished luxury room 8 which was amazing especially the bathroom which is huge, thank you Jack for recommending it when I booked in January. We had both the standard and indulgence menus, which had changed and were superb, we thought better than last year. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg at breakfast was delicious. Thank you Anne and staff for a very relaxed and enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz492014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Wrea Head a couple of weekends ago and had an absolutely wonderful stay there. The standard room we were in was lovely, with a beautiful view across the lawn and very comfortable. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. We were made to feel very welcome and I would highly recommend Wrea Head for a relaxing and luxurious weekend away - brilliant value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have recently returned from a four-night break at this lovely hotel. We selected the hotel because of its excellent reviews and were not disappointed. We loved the situation. The grounds are really beautiful and very peaceful, and the Victorian house is being very sensitively restored. Most of the bedrooms are completed, and we stayed in room 12, which was recently, and very tastefully decorated, with a good ensuite bathroom, with full bath and shower over the bath. The room was really quiet. The public rooms in the hotel are comfortable and include a really interesting library with easy chairs, and a modern, very attractive bar. The dining room has lovely views over the garden. We were most impressed by the cuisine. We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast option, and had the standard evening meal each night, which was beautifully presented and of a very high standard. The service in the hotel was very good, and all the staff most helpful and friendly. As it isn't a large hotel, you can get to know them well, and they all recognize you very quickly. Thank you, Gerrry, Ann, Jack and all the other staff! We have been telling our friends about your lovely hotel, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We booked room 1 for an overnight stay on the DB&B package. As others have said the hotel is a hidden gem. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, it was truly excellent. My cooked breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've ever eaten.

The drinks we ordered with our dinner were good value for a hotel.

Room 1 is a lovely room albeit one of the most expensive. Facilities in the room were excellent, great views.

This room was let down by a rock hard bed and foisty pillows. Unfortunately we did not try out the bed until 11pm at which point we did not want to start asking for different pillows.

We mentioned the hardness of the bed to reception in the morning, she said she was genuinely surprised we thought the bed was hard. Really? Because there is one review from last month where the occupant in room 1 has made exactly the same comments as we have and other comments on here about the hardness of the bed. When I say hard it was even too uncomfortable to sit up and read - i.e. extremely hard. And no excuse for quite clearly very old pillows on the bed.

That was our only gripe though and in fairness we did not raise it until the morning we could no doubt have been given different pillows had we asked earlier.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannythewonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,503 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing